We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“scottish couple” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“scottish couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

stayed a week from 16th may to 23rd room 127 brilliant brilliant this my 3rd visit second at this hotel each time than the last 5mins left of hotel the pier and beach 5mins right to the shops also the howard davis park 5mins from hotel and it was beautiful .we booked through urquart tours with tickets they enclosed boarding passes also our seat numbers and a 7 seater taxi was waiting for us at jersey airport brilliant journey from start to finish

Room Tip: ground floor great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank electa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    69
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
81
79
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at the Metrpole again, probably our 5th or 6th occasion, because it is a freindly smallish hotel right in the centre of St Helier. The parking is good and transport access is good also.

The staff are very helpful. The restaurant staff are manily long serving Portuguese and nothing seems too much for them. The food is not over the top but is a very good standard.

The beach and shops are not far away although due to local taxes shopping is not as cheap as it was some years ago.

Our favourite trip is to see Corbierre in all its glory, especially at high tide or sunset.

Room Tip: Some rooms do have larger, queen size beds. Some overlook garden at back. We were at the front but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just had a week at the Metropole 30th April to 7th May,stayed in room 127.this was our second visit.cannot recommend this hotel high enough.Very clean,good food,staff excellent.good location within walking distance to all the shops,and bus station.a must is a trip to the jersey war tunnels.a coach trip with driver Mark,great fun.we look forward to our return in September.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 127 our friends were in 124 ground flower over looking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G6ROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Wonderful weekend spent with great friends and new ones made as well. All travel arrangements made by hotel, trip to Jersey war tunnels arranged. War-themed entertainment/dancing great. Couldn't fault the whole weekend. Decor, room, restaurant, facilities etc were superb. Breakfasts and evening meals (even the war themed menu) were plentiful and tasty. Staff in great abundance and couldn't do enough for us. Great to be able to wear our '40s clothes in such elegant surroundings. All in all great value for money and will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: The rooms we saw were all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Visited last week with seven friends, cannot recommend the Metropole high enough! Very clean, good breakfast and absolutely fantastic staff. Everyone of them so pleasant and helpful, great location within walking distance of shops, and bus station. Lovely Italian restaurant nearby. We didn't have a meal in the restaurant so cannot comment, however breakfast was very good and our waiter Mumbai most attentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glamerousgran08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penkridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

It is a hotel sutiable for young and old. the service is excellent and the food was better than excellent. the hotel has great gym facilities. Also it has all night entertainment that was awsesome but it was a bit to loud

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I have recently returned from a week in Jersey. We stayed at the Metropole in central St Helier.. It is a very large, slightly rambling place, but all beautifully maintained. Our room was excellent, everything you would want for a weeks stay. Comfy beds,great ensuirte and plenty of storage units. The staff were chearful and helpful at all times. We liked thevery large dini g room, although a little more space between the tabtes would have been good. The 4 course meals had a good choice for all courses and plentiful supply of coffee afterwards. The breakfast bar was fine with a cooked breakfast available also. The waiting staff were attentive and prompt, even going to the extreme of offering 2nd sweets if you asked! As the hotel is on a quiet one way street, I do not think anyone would have a problem with noise. It was possible to walk into central StHelier in about 5 or 6 minutes The hotel was all I would have asked for a relaxing holiday

Room Tip: As the hotel is on a quiet one way street, I do not think there would be a problem with noise in rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.0 mi away
Runnymede Court Hotel
Runnymede Court Hotel
#19 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#29 of 31 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#24 of 31 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#23 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Roseville Street, St Helier JE1 4HE
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel St Helier
Metropole Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing