We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very enjoyable holiday”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another very enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Metropole and we had as good a visit as on previous occasions. Our room was absolutely fine (although no view) but we were happy with it's location and it was spotlessly clean. Beds were a little firm but we slept fine. Enjoyed our meals - we were half board - and our waiter, Mungai, was lovely and very courteous. Jacuzzi was out of order for part of our stay which was a shame but still enjoyed a swim. The hotel is very convenient for all the things we wanted to see and do and we would definitely visit a fourth time. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holibobs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    69
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
81
80
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

just came back after staying a week at the metropole 8th to 15th june 2013, the hotel was clean and the food was excellent, never eat so much good menu choice everyday. the only downside was the age group, we are both just turned 60 it was a birthday and anniversary treat, but words of my husband, he said he felt that he was in a retirement home
jersey st heliers is a very nice place to stay and the beaches was lovely lots of places to visit, and things to do, but you do need to hire a car, to get round .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 63, which I think was over a boiler and was very hot to sleep in and definatley co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel is modern and very clean. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. It was nice to have waiter service for breakfast and dinner and the food was good quality and always hot. The only down side was a lack of evening entertainment. My husband and I would definately stay here again especially as the flight time is only about an hour.

Room Tip: Ground floor rear twin, lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Helpful?
4 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel in Jersey and were very satisfied with all aspects of our stay. The Metropole is located just out of the centre of St Helier and is therefore well placed for all the town's amenities - 15 minutes from the bus station, ten minutes from the main shopping centre and five minutes from the beautiful Howard Davis Park. The hotel itself is a bit quirky and labrynthine so it can be difficult to find your way around at first but the accommodation is first class. Rooms are large, spacious and well equipped with en-suite facilities, flat-screen TV, hospitality tray and daily room service. The resturaunt is waiter service with a wide choice of tasty meals - three courses at breakfast, four courses at dinner. The waiters are a bunch of east-eurpopeans, straight out of central casting but very polite and obliging. Indeed, all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Metropole has plenty of lounge space, two bars, entertainment room and all the facilities one might need. There is a small garden and both indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Evening entertinment is on offer but we didn't see it as, after a long day exploring the island, we were content to crash out in our room.
Overall, the hotel is very well furnished and maintained and very attractively presented.
The Jersey travel people give the Metropole three stars but I found it to be much better than many of the four star hotels I have used in Greece, Spain and Italy. I would not hesitate to reccomend the Metropole to anyone seeking a good hotel in Jersey.

Room Tip: The second floor is convenient for everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rafaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently. Could not find anything to complain about. Rooms were large and comfortable, staff were friendly and the food was excellent, even the weather was good! There was entertainment most nights, and when there was none at the Metropole we could use their sister hotel, The Mayfair, although it was a good ten minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed here 13-17 May 2013 on my first visit to Jersey and found it to be a superb hotel. The standard of cleanliness was first class, as were the staff, both waiting and 'front of house'. Couldn't fault it in any way and shall certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

stayed a week from 16th may to 23rd room 127 brilliant brilliant this my 3rd visit second at this hotel each time than the last 5mins left of hotel the pier and beach 5mins right to the shops also the howard davis park 5mins from hotel and it was beautiful .we booked through urquart tours with tickets they enclosed boarding passes also our seat numbers and a 7 seater taxi was waiting for us at jersey airport brilliant journey from start to finish

Room Tip: ground floor great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank electa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 32 in St Helier
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#18 of 32 in St Helier
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Roseville Street, St Helier JE1 4HE
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel St Helier
Metropole Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing