We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in a gem of guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalatta Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thalatta Guest House
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a gem of guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August and have to say that this guest house offers a thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable stay on the beautiful island of Jersey.

Following a recent refurbishment it is a very pleasant place to stay. The staff were very welcoming and happy to help with any questions. It is also very good value for money given the location and size of the rooms.

Location wise it is very handy for both the beaches and the town center a pleasant 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bianca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights
Friendly greeting on arrival, the rooms had recently been redecorated and smelled lovely and fresh
New carpets and spacious rooms , beds were clean and comfy, breakfast was a five star service thank you very much
Will be staying here again
Jersey war tunnels is worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ste_n_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just returned from a lovely few days with a family of four. The Thalatta Guest House is just in the process of being refurbished and the room we had was lovely and clean with a new carpet and bedding. We started each day with a full English breakfast cooked beautifully. The two proprietors were very friendly and helpful and very kind to our two children who already want to go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Senris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We have returned to this guest house time after time due to it's homely feel, and excellent hospitality. Very close to central St Helier and ideal for nights out on the town,please note, it is only a place to put your head down, if your after anymore i would avoid, but overall highly rated for our personal needs.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bean221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We went over to Jersey for a weekend and booked to stay at Thalatta because of the competitive prices they offer. Although it was rundown somewhat, it had a homely feel and the owners were more than accommodating. I would recommend for a weekend on the J-town, but probably not for families after a 'chilaxing' week.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Timothy18_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

this cannot be described as a guest house, the room was horribe, the carpet was filthy, the shower was disgusting and the toilet seat was pitted, the room itself can only be described as shabby and in dire need of a complete redecoration the whole place had a musty stale smell to it, we had booked and paid in advance for 1 night so had to stay, the breakfast was the best bit. We managed to find a lovely guest house on the seafront for less money than this place was charging!! AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at Thalatta Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
As owner and lessor of Thalatta Guest House, I have been extremely disappointed with it's track record since I handed over the keys 8 years ago. Trip Advisor's reviews are, to be honest, a fair reflection of the poor state in which it has been run.

I have decided, therefore, that I will be taking the Guest House back under my management from April 2012, at which point the property will have undertaken a full renovation, and re-open for business with the aim of once again providing guests with treasured memories in this beautiful island.

I hope to be able to welcome back old faces and new, and that these negative reviews become a thing of the past!

Sincerely,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helier hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We booked this through the official Jersey website so assumed it would be fine. We arrived and were concerned to see the outside of the building looked extremely shabby.As we went in we were hit by a smell of staleness and damp.We stood in reception for about five minutes (next to four bags of rubbish) but no one appeared.We then noticed our name on a piece of paper telling us our room number. We went up to the room and it was appalling .Threadbare stained carpet and half a lid on the toilet-I didnt even want to look behind the shower curtain.At that point a lady appeared and we said we wanted our money back which they agreed to and we went elsewhere

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PamBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.2 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#21 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 31 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Runnymede Court Hotel
Runnymede Court Hotel
#20 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marina Metro Hotel
Marina Metro Hotel
#28 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#22 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalatta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalatta Guest House

Property: Thalatta Guest House
Address: 29-31 Cleveland Road, St Helier JE2 4PB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalatta Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thalatta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalatta Guest House Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing