We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return to the Monterey and Jersey!”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return to the Monterey and Jersey!”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Myself, husband & sister have just returned from a week's stay at the Monterey - which we chose purely from the Trip Advisor reviews - and what a great choice it turned out to be! Highly professional staff - every single one of them - spotlessly clean hotel, food wonderful and beautifully presented. Went to indoor pool every morning - once again spotlessly clean facilities. Just a 20 minute stroll to centre of St Helier, buses stop right outside hotel, or use the Tantivy blue coaches for super tours of the island - great drivers - Jim, Pat and Tony. Jim took us to the Battle of the Flowers Museum which was delightful as was the Shell Garden (scrumptious cream teas!!) We went on the bus to Burrells - a marvellous conservancy park with lots for children. Don't miss the Eric Young Orchid Foundation greenhouse and garden - unforgettable beauty. The War Tunnels are not to be missed either - memorable and poignant. We can't wait to go back - hopefully flying again from Blackpool which is just so easy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you felt minded to choose the Monterey Hotel on the basis of our tripadvisor reviews and that you enjoyed Jersey as a destination.

We are always delighted to receive such feedback and do thank you for your kind words in respect of your own visit to the Monterey Hotel.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back to the hotel at some future date. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    252
    78
    10
    11
See reviews for
159
368
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was our first visit to Jersey and unfortunately we were a little disappointed with our choice of hotel. What we saw on the internet and brochure and what we actually got were not all as it would seem. To give credit where it is due, the staff were very attentive and on first walking into the reception area there is no reason at that point to feel disappointment. It wasn't until we stepped into our room, which was classed as a superior double, that it felt like we had stepped into a time warp and were transported back to the early 80's....the decor was extremely dated. The bar and restaurant area have been refurbished recently, but we feel if all the rooms are of the same decor then they too are well overdue a face-lift.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeMay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. Your observations are useful in helping us to re-state on tripadvisor that the Monterey Hotel accommodation is indeed quite traditional in style. Images of our bedrooms on our website do convey clearly the style of the accommodation and our restaurant images do clearly reflect the gentle yet more contemporary approach to design which is in place within our new restaurant and bar areas.

You may be interested to note that our superior bedrooms were constructed in the 1990's and have seen renovation since their construction.

Thank you for your comment that our staff are attentive. This is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have stayed at this hotel for the last ten years. We had a lovely holiday as always. Very friendly staff and nothing too much trouble.
Food at all times was excellent and good value for the money. We had bedroom 107 on the ground floor round by the pool this was a lovely outlook.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hartleykg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your comments.

It is always wonderful when guests return to the hotel and your confidence in the Monterey Hotel is very much appreciated. We are delighted to have been of service to you over the past ten years and look forward to a return visit should you choose to visit us again in the future.

Grateful thanks from all at the Monterey Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

1st Class in every way. Breakfast: Excellent choice quality / service. None of the staff could do enough for you, we really felt treated like royalty.
Every inch of the hotel is clean. The staff even when under pressure at busy times showed at all times calm "happy" professionalism. The facilities, although some small, are very varied, with both indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi steam room area, mini gym area, relaxation rooms etc... Thank you to all staff at the Monterey, will definitely recommend to others and revisit!

Room Tip: Do request a room that opens out directly onto the poolside, what a lovely touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riveris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments on our service standards are much appreciated.

We are pleased to hold a Bronze Investor in People Award and this has been of great benefit in helping to build our professional approach to service at the hotel.

Our team are delighted to receive your feedback. As an AA 3 Star hotel, we are pleased with your confidence in our hotel and service.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlothian scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

just back from a week in the monterey could not find a fault ,the room was kept spotless the food was of a very high standard as good as or better than any four star hotel I've been in.The real gem was without doubt the staff ,I have never met staff that were as caring,friendly and professional as were at the Monterey all were of five star quality they made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elpresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We aim to make guests comfortable at the Monterey Hotel and to respond to your needs in a professional and friendly manner.

We are pleased that we met your needs. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Good hotel, 15 minutes walk from centre.
Local bus service stops outside (easy to use once you understand that there are two different timetables).
Comfortable room and excellent food.
Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
Altogether a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Spent 3 days in Jersey staying at the Monterey in St Helier in a Superior Room. The room was large and spacious although the bathroom was small in comparison! Both breakfast and evening meals were very good in quality and choice of food. The staff at the Monterey offered exceptional service and were always helpful and polite. I wouldrecommend this hotel to others and would return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhythmStix784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for your kind comments in respect of our hotel and service standards. These are much appreciated by our team. The Monterey holds a Bronze Investor in People Award and this helps to ensure that a good and consistent standard is maintained for our guests.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Monterey at some future point.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#10 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing