We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms tired half board menu restrictive”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

If you are unable to eat from half board menu there is no alternative unless pay again for a bar meal!!!!!! Staff were unsympathetic to needs ie can't eat cheese all 3 courses had cheese do not like duck or steak as vegetarian and can't eat fish salad was either ham cheese or fish!! If already paid why pay again. Room was as others said tired and when in ensuite just a shower no bath had told there would be both, smoke from room next door comes through extractor fan so does not extract!!! And makes it unpleasant if leave door open bedroom smells of stale smoke. Only 1 electric socket so unable to charge phone and have light on or kettle on at same time etc ground floor opens on to swimmg pool great for summer but old drafts doors for winter.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

From the moment we arrived until we left our 10 day stay was 1st class. Diane and all the staff looked after us superbly - nothing was too much trouble. From our room to the restaurant food everything was impeccable. A big thank you to the management and all the staff for making our 40th Anniversary really special.

Room Tip: We chose a superior double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMcClenaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We are so delighted that from your bedroom to the restaurant food, you found that everything was impeccable - especially so given that this was such an important anniversary break for you.

We do find that, as a rule, slightly longer stays do help for guests to properly settle in to the hotel and your ten day break seems to prove this rule. Thank you for your comments.

It is delightful that your 40th Anniversary was really special. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this Hotel. It is a very welcoming Hotel with all the staff being really friendly and courteous. The food is great, rooms are spaceous, comfortable and clean with all amenities needed. They have refurbished the Restaurant and Bar, it looks lovely.
Location is faboulous, within 5 minutes walk to the Town and plenty of car parking if you have a hire car.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Thank you for your comments and feedback on our bedrooms and catering. This is very much appreciated.

Our location is popular. Future guests will benefit from the fantastic new £10 Million investment in a new public 'Town Park', situated between the hotel and the town itself. This free facility opened this past week. Do ask reception for its location as it is fabulous with its water features, child play areas, grass and benches for public enjoyment. A real bonus for hotel guests - Jersey's newest attraction.

We are so pleased that this is the second time that you have stayed at our hotel and that you feel that our staff have been friendly and courteous.

Thank you for these comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The minute we arrived at the Monterey Hotel and was greeted by the receptionist I knew I had chosen the right hotel for a family weekend celebrating my husband's 60th birthday. Our room was big, airy and comfortable and when we arrived back to our room after a day out on Dave's actual birthday,their was a bottle of champagne and two champagne flutes waiting for us, with the hotels compliments and wishing Dave a happy birthday, such a lovely gesture. All the staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Well done Monterey and thank you for such a lovely and memorable weekend, we certainly will be back and would recommend the Monterey Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We are delighted that you found our accommodation to be comfortable and that you chose our hotel for your special occasion.

We do like to mark special occasions and are delighted that you enjoyed the wine placed within your bedroom. Thank you for your feedback - we are pleased that you felt that you had made the correct choice in choosing our Monterey Hotel, Jersey.

Thank you for letting us have your views on our hotel. Your custom is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Before booking this hotel I was very sceptical of the previous reveiws. However, as soon as we walked through the reception on our arrival we were greeted with a friendly and professional receptionist, who quickly sorted a problem we had with our reservation. I should add that the problem was not with the hotel but the booking agent. We stayed at the hotel for four nights, the room was spotlessly clean, the meals in the restaurant were excellent and all the staff, without exception friendly and showed pride in their work. We could find not one thing that we were not 100% satisfied with. Can fully recommend the hotel for a very pleasant and relaxing holiday experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredBudeCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The staff at this hotel were without exception helpful, courteous, friendly and very willing to please. Nothing was too much trouble. My husband is disabled so they very kindly moved us to a room with a walk in shower and everything was so clean and efficient. Food excellent too. I can't rate the staff highly enough. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Very happy with our stay. Large room. Comfortable bed - a great nights sleep (unusual for me in hotels). Large bathroom with shower and bath. Clean. Breakfast plentiful and tasty. Service efficient and generally friendly. It's a good walk to the shops/bars - about 15 minutes, but all flat. Only small niggles that prevented me giving an 'excellent' rating - the shower wasn't great (a fast running tap rather than a shower) but plenty of hot water and it did the job, we came back to a cold room in the evening (no heating on as yet) which wasn't so welcoming but soon rectified with the addition of an electric heater. The lift was right next to our room and we could hear it when used. That said I would stay again if I return to St Helier, it's a nice hotel and great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St Helier
862 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#8 Family Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £84 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing