We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service at a 3 star hotel”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What can I say that has not been covered in previous reviews?
We booked this hotel purely on the reviews from Tripadvisor and yet again TA did not let us down.
We arrived for 3 days to spend our 1st Anniversary in Jersey. Got upgraded to a superior room and given a bottle of champagne compliments of the Monterey Hotel when they heard we were on our anniversary. The staff here are amazing and Diane the Hotel Manager runs an amazing service at the Monterey, this hotel is great value for Money and we used the spa facilities, it was nice and quiet in the Spa most days having the pool to ourselves. Some folk commented earlier that the decor is a bit tired...This is a 3 star Hotel.

the great things
- The staff are so attentive and polite
- The Spa is lovely and free for guests as is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel
- Food is excellent and breakfast selection has nice buffet choice
- Value for Money is 10/10
- Housekeeping is lightning quick and the rooms are comfy with nice powerful shower and beds that dont hurt your back.

the mediocre things
Soundproofing in the rooms above is not very good, you can here people move around in the rooms above - not a deal breaker but just an observation for the hotel. Never heard anything in the rooms next door to us though.
Distance from the esplanade - Quite a walk down to the esplanade if you are not very mobile.


All in all a very enjoyable trip made all the better by the attentiveness of the staff at this hotel.

Well done the Monterey and thank you for a wonderful time in Jersey.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pool - its off the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

just returned from a 3 day break, could not agree more with the other comments regarding
friendly and helpful staff, reception, bar , and dining room very friendly and professional.
We stayed in a Superior room, large bathroom, plenty of cupboard space and always serviced
well, would choose a superior room again. Although only bed and breakfast, we dined in the restaurant twice, very good meals giving really good choice and value. Wine and Bar prices
reasonable.The buffet breakfast offered a wide choice which could not be faulted.
Would recommend "The Monterey Hotel" for good value.
happytripper52

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytripper52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just stayed at the hotel and have to say cannot moan about anything and believe me i like to moan,the facilitys were brilliant and the food was superb,came to the hotel with the mrs and enjoyed it so much we are gonna book again for the summer,have to also mention the staff at the monterry always service with a smile,but have to say the shining light was phil by far the best customer service we have recieved going out his way for us and was always on hand, thumbs up sir.............a great hotel,all round great atmoshere and really great staff and a superb phil.
Thanks so much see you in the summer..............

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Monterey. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have used this hotel 3 times now for training purposes. This time we stayed 3 nights. They could not do enough for us. Everybody is so friendly and helpful. The breakfast staff, Sorin, the bar girl, Rouchell or something similar, the reception, Mihaila and others and Phil and Diane the manager were all lovely!.
I enjoyed the swimmimg pool indoors and it is very convenient for us in all ways.

Room Tip: We were in 203 upstairs,also stayed downstairs before. Very comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

We are very grateful for your kind review of our Monterey Hotel. We are a long established family business and have again lavished a great deal of care on the hotel over the past months with many upgrades to the physical building and facilities. It is wonderful for us when guests enjoy the hotel as you have done.

Thank you so much also for the kind comments with regard to our team at the hotel. We do appreciate this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The staff are helpful and smiling and the room was clean and comfortable. There is plenty of breakfast and the evening meal in the restaurant has to be ordered by 6 p.m. We didn't eat in the evening but headed to the fish restaurants in St. Helier, about ten minutes away. The indoor and outdoor pools are spotless and it was out of season so we were able to use the hotel car park easily. The reception sells the parking cards which you have to use in Jersey. Yes we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel may be noisy as they are on a main road. We had one at the side...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardner9984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

We are delighted that you found the Monterey Hotel to be a lovely. Thank you for your comments and feedback.

Guests are welcome to request bedrooms overlooking the inward facing pool terrace if a particular location is required.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is the 3rd time I have stayed here on a short break. Each time I have found the hotel and rooms to be clean and well maintained. It has a good location, only a 10 minute stroll from the centre of St Hellier. A free car park is available to residents but may be limited in high season. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only addition I would like to see is the inclusion of a fridge in the rooms to keep drinks cold.
Bottom line is would I return here again ? Answer is yes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freddy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I travel to Jersey 1 or 2 times each year for business. This hotel always provides a superb level of service. The location is close to the town centre on the ring road. There has always been car parking available which is scarce on the island.
I have been here early in the season when it is very quiet and also at peak season when it can be hard to get booked, but on all occasions the hotel has provided a great service and the staff are great.
The rooms are clean, spacious and have all that you need. The food has been superb and this has been over several visits.
Would I recommend it, I will be booking it again in September if I can get in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youarejoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in St Helier
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £79 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing