We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a last minute booking. The hotel appearance was better than expected. We arrived early and the very pleasant and polite man at reception booked us in early without problems. The room was pretty standard: double bed with single camp bed for my daughter - sheets and blankets, hard mattress but the hotel can't please everybody. Tea and coffee facilities replenished daily. Good shower. Large wardrobe with hangers. Walls were well soundproofed but not floors/ceiling - I was kept awake almost all night due to the noise the people above were making just walking around. The hotel boasts free wifi throughout however we could only get wifi in the reception area. We spoke to reception on several occasions about this but were told it was due to a 'storm' they had had recently. Another member of staff tried to reboot the system but it was never resolved. Staff were very polite and friendly for the majority of our stay and we commented several times on how refreshing it was to come across such professional and accommodating staff - unfortunately this was marred slightly on our 2nd morning when the restaurant was busy. One of the residents mentioned to whom I can only presume was the manageress of the restaurant "It's busy this morning". To which she replied in a very off-hand manner "Everyone has come to breakfast at the same time. We are humans, we cannot do miracles". This seemed somewhat aggressive and uncalled for and there was a definite atmousphere throughout breakfast. A shame when the great staff are probably the biggest asset of this hotel. Despite me highlighting the 'cons' we experienced during our stay, it needs to be put in perspective: this hotel is good value for money, close to the centre of St Helier, clean, tidy, has good amenities and generally filled with courteous and professional staff. I would probably stay here again if we could find a better soundproofed room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    257
    78
    11
    11
See reviews for
165
373
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for the June Bank Holiday weekend with wife and 2 kids (10 & 15). Took a taxi from airport (£17) and check in was fast but we were given 2 rooms on different floors even though we had asked for adjoining rooms when booking. Receptionist said she would check with the manager and see what we could do. We went to our rooms and 30 minutes later the receptionist had arranged 2 rooms next to each other on the third floor. Rooms were good and we had a complementary bottle of wine in the room when we arrived.
Overall hotel is good but decor a little "tired". Leisure facitlties were excellent with a heated indoor pool and also had an outdoor pool. Small Gym also availaible
Breakfast was excellent and even though the restaurant was very busy the staff handled it very well even though we had to chase up the tea and toast on 2 mornings.
The walk into town took about 15 minutes which was ok with us.
Would we come back? Yes we would.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autoplas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Came to stay here because of the Festival of Motoring and I would like to say that this hotel is 3 star rated but is of 5 star quality. The staff were so friendly, helpful and well mannered, quite unique from some people in this day and age. Diana, the General Manager, must take a lot of credit for keeping her staff happy so that this can be filtered through to their guests. We ate in the hotel most of the time and the food was faultless and very enjoyable. The Monteray is a great place to stay and very central for everything. The facilities such as the swimming pools and jacuzzi are also very good and kept in tip top condition. The only thing I have to say is that it would have been nice to have water glasses in the room rather than plastic cups!

Room Tip: If you need a big bed ask for zip linked beds, they are so comfortable and give lots of space. I bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Spent week here food great. Nice room. Staff are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Came here to stay with my mum between 18th and 21st May. Twin room was very clean and spacious with huge wardrobe. The best thing about the hotel is the very helpful and friendly staff, nothing was ever too much and everyone said hello (even the cleaners). Great cooked breakfast in the morning. Pool and jacuzzi were very nice- there was even a member of staff testing the cleanliness of the pool water when we were there. Would definitely recommend to anyone and would stay there again if i'm fortunate enough to return to the island in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Booked hotel five months ago in January, have just been notified the evening before travel that they are fully booked and can no longer honour the booking. Not impressed!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank clam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed over the very damp and grey bank holiday weekend for my birthday and deliberated long and hard over which hotel in St Helier to book and to my mind, we made the right decision. It's in a residential area on a fairly busy main road and it's about a 15 minute easy walk to the town centre and sea front. The hotel has a nice contemporary decor throughout the common areas, restaurant and bar area although I would say our bedroom could do with makeoever but perfectly adequate. The staff here are excellent, so professional and helpful and I was completely bowled over when the barman came over with a complimentary bottle of champagne and note from the management wishing me a Happy Birthday! Would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Would recommend you book a room a the back as I imagine there would be a lot of noise from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,863 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,888 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing