We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have stayed at the Monterey on various occasions since 2005 and it has always been a relaxing break. There have been several changes to the hotel over this time and the improvements are all great.
The staff are friendly and very helpful and nothing is to much trouble for them. The hotel is clean, comfortable and has great pool area, both inside and out. The bar and restaurant serve excellent food and the breakfast menu has a great selection to choose from, a great start to the day.
If you want good value, great service, close, but not to close, to the town centre, then the Monterey is for you.
Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your comments and custom.

We have invested significantly into the hotel in recent months including all new engineered oak doors with card lock security and upgrades to a large number of bathrooms and to many soft furnishings.

Our restaurant was fully refurbished last year and offers an all day menu for your convenience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the Monterey Hotel. We do seek to provide great hospitality and service and we are pleased we succeeded in meeting your needs once again at the Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    252
    78
    10
    11
See reviews for
159
367
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was quite a nice hotel, if not a little bit dated which seems the norm for Jersey. The staff were all eastern European bar one and they were very courteous and extremely efficient which made the hotel a pleasure to stay in. The bar was good with some local brewery ales and the restaurant was pleasant. The breakfast had a very good choice of hot and cold buffet. We ate here in the evenings as the weather was rather inclement, and one night there was a major gas incident in the town keeping us in. The food was good for a hotel of this size and at £16.50 for two courses was not overpriced as was the same with the wine. it was our first trip to jersey and probably our last, we found it dated and in need of bringing it up to standard with other places in Europe. The prices overall were quite steep. However we did like the hotel and staff and would recommend it. Negative comments about over 60's is not necessary as the average age of the clientele varied considerably and there was definitely no BINGO. Ask for a room at the rear as our first room which we changed was very large and overlooked the road at the front which was very noisy

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catullo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Excellent stay good room, nothing to much trouble for the staff who were all very helpful.Breakfast was excellent, was on bed & breakfast only but tried the main menu a couple of nights.Excellent carvery ,choice limited at times but the bar menu always had something to eat from snacks to steaks

Room Tip: superior rooom plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel approximately 10years ago and the food, service and facilities were excellent at that time. We decided to give it another visit for a week this July 2012 and were not disappointed. We received the same excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The rooms were spotlessly cleaned and very spacious. When we return to Jersey again we would definitely stay at The Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

my wife and i spent 5 nights in july 2012 at this lovely hotel the food was very good. we were half board and enjoyed every meal in the evening and breakfast was full english and buffet nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very friendly and professional.the hotel had 2 pools and a fitness room.the bar has been updated and food could be bought there.about 15 min walk into town 20 mins to seafront.a large co-op around the corner was handy.however we found jersey very quiet it seems they are struggling to get people to go there we would suggest 5 days is enough to see all unless your lucky to get sunny weather when you can spend time on the lovely beaches.

Room Tip: rooms over the pool are quieter those on ground floor open up to pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevectuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Recently stayed at Monterey for 7 nights.We enjoyed a very spacious room-410-on the top floor with all the facilities and amenities one would expect.The en-suite is somewhat restrictive space wise with the toilet being immediately behind the door and the paper dispenser being on the wall behind you(certainly not ergonomically designed,but understandable given the lack of space)The housekeeping staff were very pleasant and efficient.
Breakfast was satisfactory.Pastries/croissants should have been available but invariably the basket was empty(present 1 day out of 7).Whilst evening meals were also satisfactory the lack of beef/lamb on the menu was surprising.Usually the 3 main courses were a fish dish,a vegetarian option and a chicken/duck dish with salad choices if desired.As red meat lovers we struggled somewhat!The staff were always helpful and attentive.
The entertainment-performed 2 nights per week-is simply unacceptable for a hotel in a holiday resort.Best avoided.
So all in all a mixed bag.This was our fourth holiday visit to Jersey,all in different hotels.We have never had a poor experience but are yet to be wowed!!

Room Tip: Room 410 is very spacious and occupies a lovely corner site on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ewencrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Friendly and helpful staff but so many patrons over 60 I thought I was on a Saga Holiday .
The weather was very bad (rain most days) but was unable to stay in hotel due to the
temperature which was set at a high to please most of the guests as they would of
complained if they had turned it down. Rooms had recently been updated but the
bathrooms need major work done to bring them into the 21st century hallways
and public areas were dark and uninviting as was the decor apart from the restaurant
and bar area which recently was updated there is no air conditioning in bedrooms
and soundproofing between floors was bad. I would recommend that you book a top floor room.
Good car parking facilities and easy walk into city centre, if you are under 60 or healthy.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnCBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your review.

We do welcome all guests to the Monterey hotel and our cohort of guests will vary each day / week.

We were unaware of your feelings in respect of the hotel being warm and would comment that, contrary to your comments, no heating was indeed switched on during your stay at the hotel. We would have been happy to have increased ventilation for you at the hotel had we known of your concerns. We are sorry that you did not enjoy sunny weather at the time of your stay.

Our building are always brighter when viewed in sunny weather and our standard of decor at the hotel is high with much recent work having been undertaken. You have kindly noted that many areas have been recently updated and this is part of a rolling program of decoration works and refurbishment to our family owned hotel.

Thank you for your custom and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#10 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing