We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monterey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$231
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa(St Helier)
US$352
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarum Hotel(St Helier)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
US$195
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ommaroo Hotel(St Helier)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Mornington Hotel(St Helier)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$227
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Millbrook House(St Helier)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveller rating
407
287
87
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
287
87
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolsuperior roommillennium parksteam roomtown centrerecommend this hotelsmall gymlovely hotelplenty of choicehalf boardstar hoteleach eveningrestaurant staffthe hotel is cleancleaned dailyenjoyable stayfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 803 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Had a wonderful time in this hotel. The food was good, the staff were so friendly and helpful, especially Phil Cunningham, one of the management team, who had a good local knowledge and was extremely helpful. My husband, daughter and I would definitely return if we didn't like trying new places each holiday! In response to previous reviewers comments, yes there are older people in the hotel, but I was pleased about that as they were friendly and quiet and respectful to others. The rooms are in need or a refurb as they look rather old fashioned, but they are still neat and tidy and everywhere is spotlessly clean. There seems to be good wheelchair access to everywhere too. Breakfast is good and evening meals are nice too. Not a massive selection, but enough for most people. The pool is clean and often fairly empty. There Was some traffic noise in our front corner bedroom, but it was fine during the night, just started in the morning rush hour. Definitely the best 3 star hotel you could go to. Thank you !

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room further back from the road. The management did say they would move us if we wanted to, after the first night, but we stayed where we were for the duration.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thejetsetters2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Had a great week at the Monterey. Excellent staff who were very efficient and helpful. The breakfasts were very good. Although we were bed & breakfast we ate at the hotel on 3 occasions, again excellent. The hotel was spotless and would highly recommend to anyone wishing a holiday in Jersey. Denise W.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have stayed at the Monterey on various occasions since 2005 and it has always been a relaxing break. There have been several changes to the hotel over this time and the improvements are all great.
The staff are friendly and very helpful and nothing is to much trouble for them. The hotel is clean, comfortable and has great pool area, both inside and out. The bar and restaurant serve excellent food and the breakfast menu has a great selection to choose from, a great start to the day.
If you want good value, great service, close, but not to close, to the town centre, then the Monterey is for you.
Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RozJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for your comments and custom.

We have invested significantly into the hotel in recent months including all new engineered oak doors with card lock security and upgrades to a large number of bathrooms and to many soft furnishings.

Our restaurant was fully refurbished last year and offers an all day menu for your convenience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the Monterey Hotel. We do seek to provide great hospitality and service and we are pleased we succeeded in meeting your needs once again at the Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was quite a nice hotel, if not a little bit dated which seems the norm for Jersey. The staff were all eastern European bar one and they were very courteous and extremely efficient which made the hotel a pleasure to stay in. The bar was good with some local brewery ales and the restaurant was pleasant. The breakfast had a very good choice of hot and cold buffet. We ate here in the evenings as the weather was rather inclement, and one night there was a major gas incident in the town keeping us in. The food was good for a hotel of this size and at £16.50 for two courses was not overpriced as was the same with the wine. it was our first trip to jersey and probably our last, we found it dated and in need of bringing it up to standard with other places in Europe. The prices overall were quite steep. However we did like the hotel and staff and would recommend it. Negative comments about over 60's is not necessary as the average age of the clientele varied considerably and there was definitely no BINGO. Ask for a room at the rear as our first room which we changed was very large and overlooked the road at the front which was very noisy

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catullo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Excellent stay good room, nothing to much trouble for the staff who were all very helpful.Breakfast was excellent, was on bed & breakfast only but tried the main menu a couple of nights.Excellent carvery ,choice limited at times but the bar menu always had something to eat from snacks to steaks

Room Tip: superior rooom plenty of space
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews