We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinkydino”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2008

the staff were very friendly, hotel had lots of amenities, steam room pool, sauna etc.

not far from town- 10 minutes walk. parking was available which is always useful. The only downside was the noise, the walls are quite thin and you could hear cars going past outside the room til quite late

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank dinkydino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2008

Stayed at the Monterey hotel in November last year for a long weekend and have to say that the hotel was faultless. The attitude and friendly approach of the staff really made you feel welcome from first arrival at the hotel.

The hotel is very well maintained from the smart reception area to the lovely indoor pool complex. Our bedroom was well furnished with a modern feel but not clinical or over contemporary.

Did not have an evening meal but the buffet breakfast was great. Short walk (about 10 - 15 mins) into St Helier.

Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ecka37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

This hotel was on as being nice and cosy and all rooms were reported to be in top order , well our stay at this hotel was in a room labeled superior . The bedding was so out of date it looked as if it was 1930 era we asked to be moved which was done the next day only to find the next room as bad if not worse
Most rooms suffered the noise of kitchen fans working at full blast and on for hours am and pm , we decided to make a go of it but still told the Manager that things were not right and question the rating of the room . we stated that the hotel was over rated at 3 stars and should be 2 star or less
Fobbed off by the Manager , we wrote to the area manager and fobbed off again , we felt it only right to bring this to peoples attention so they dont suffer as we did .
Must say that staff in general were really nice and agreed with us on our stay . on entering the hotel lobby it looked very nice just a shame about the rest of it .

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daltonjumanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, General Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2008

We have discussed these comments and do feel that they are somewhat unfair in respect of the hotel.

The clients arrived with us in August 2007 and the hotel was completely full. I was made aware of their dissatisfaction on arrival and organised a room move, at the first opportunity, after the first night. I was then informed that everything was to their satisfaction. Thus, we did believe that we had given their concerns our prompt attention.

All hotel linen is supplied and laundered by the principal commercial laundry on the Island, used by most leading hotels. Appreciation of the style of the soft furnishings is subjective but the fabric style mentioned is shown on our official hotel web site and fabric is not old. It should be noted that the hotel bedrooms are moving over to white duvets at present.

The hotel was inspected around this time by Visit Britain hotel inspectors and all areas very comfortably met the requirements for three stars. Superior bedrooms are generally larger and better appointed than others within the hotel. None of our 73 bedrooms suffer mechanical noise through the night and very few can be subject to any noise from kitchen fans during the day. Quiet bedrooms may be requested.

Finally, I am grateful for the positive comment in respect of my housekeeping staff. I would also take this opportunity to relay that significant refurbishment has taken place at the hotel over the past winter and we believe that this will again improve the hotel for this year.

Patricia Farrell
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

The family rooms at this hotel are excellent, ours was very large and had lots of storage/hanging space. The bathroom was clean and modern. We had a room on the top floor and had a lovely view of the town especially lit up at night. The Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and the buffet breakfast sets you up for the day ahead, lots of choice and fresh ingrediants.
We used the indoor pool which was good, the outdoor pool was a bit too cold to use. The only slight downside which is out of the hotel's control is the traffic noise at the front and side of the hotel which can be very noisy (lots of speeding motorbikes and loud engines on zooped up cars going past during the day and evening) though this seemed to quieten down around 11pm. We thoroughly enjoyed all this hotel had to offer and thought it was very good value fo money.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DiseyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

Recently refurbished with good bright bedrooms.Staff friendly and helpful.Evening meal of reasonable standard but modest choice.Breakfast good selection .Excellent service in restaurant.Outdoor pool and indoor gym although we didn't use these facilities.Hotel clean throughout.We had a very enjoyable stay and felt the hotel was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jones_Family48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thompson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St Helier
857 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#15 of 31 in St Helier
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#8 Family Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £81 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing