We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our home for a week”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our home for a week”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Went to Jersey for a week in September 2012 and stayed at the Monterey. Arrived at and left from the hotel by taxi as it is quite a way from the ferry terminal. Walking from the hotel to the city center is more than doable though. Our room on the ground floor was very nice. Clean, quiet, fresh, spacious, with a new tv, plenty of storage space, clean bathroom, plenty of shower gel. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMAVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    248
    77
    9
    11
See reviews for
153
364
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

just returned, although all the reviews we read were positive, we felt a little disappointed, the room walls were so flimsy we could hear everything others were doing, waking me a couple of times, till I got used to the noises. the room was clean & had all you would need, for a weekend, but the bathroom was very small & decor tired. the staff as everyone previously has stated were all friendly & helpful, the main complaint I had was the 10 a.m. checkout, very early for any hotel, I have worked in many hotels over the years, from seaside resorts to luxury London hotels, never would I expect guests to be out as breakfast is finishing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladysignaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a short break at the Monterey and we could not fault it.The hotel was clean and spacious,the staff we very helpful and always had a smile on their faces.We were presented with a complementary bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our silver wedding anniversary which was unexpected but gratefully received,thank you once again.The food was amazing,in fact,we had only booked bed and breakfast but were so impressed that we upgraded to full board.FANTASTIC.We would have no hesitation on recommending this lovely hotel and will definitely be going back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjporter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Great hotel, great staff,great meals and great service
Can recommend 100%,the staff where brilliant,breakfast just great ,rooms where big plenty of room ,great bathroom , a great place to stay ,had bar meals at night time can recommend
Would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: We had a room at the front no problem with traffic noise top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This Hotel was lovely, although it is a 10- 15 mt walk from the main town, so not a problem if you dont mind walking. The staff were really nice and friendly, the service brilliant in the restaurant and in fact everywhere. Our bedroom was great and infact they up graded us because we went out of the busy season and they were not too busy, so very pleased with that. We would return as it was clean with good food, what more could you want! Although on a main road, we did not find it noisy at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Monterey Hotel. Your comments are appreciated.

We do feel that we are well placed for access to St. Helier and offer the added advantage of a large car park which is rare for any hotel in central St Helier. In addition, we do have both indoor and outdoor swimming pools along with free wifi for guests.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North west England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay here,We were made very welcome, very pleasant, helpful professional staff, nice clean,warm room, food was excellent. We had read other reviews about traffic noise and although our room was not directly next to the road we found it very quiet, maybe it's noisier in peak season.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldilocks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Holiday date: 1 - 6th April 2013.

Hotel: Lovely location central to main shopping area, buses, taxis etc. Staff: Can't praise them enough, they are polite, friendly and helpful. Room: Comfortable & very clean, plenty of wardrobe & drawer space. Food: We had booked bed & breakfast only, this was either English or Continental & with both you had plenty of choice, served by excellent staff. We only ate once in the evening at the hotel but this was also good, and quick service.
You can tell this is a family run hotel because they have an eye for detail and nothing is too much trouble (day or night).
Although the weather this Easter was awful our break was still enjoyable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andytracy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,771 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
1,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
779 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing