We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Lovely Break”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from a really lovely break at this hotel. The only things stopping me giving it a 5* rating was the location. It is in an estate and a fair walk to the town, even further to the Harbour. It falls short on outside spaces to sit and has no gardens, but after that, the hotel and staff are fantastic. We were made very welcome and were given a more than adequate room. However my son who is Autistic, refused to stay in that room and that's when the staff really came into their own. They sat us down with free tea whilst they located four more rooms to show us. They made absolutely sure that my son was going to be able to settle and then checked on us to see if we were ok. The bar staff/dining staff and reception staff were the best I've ever encountered. You only had to ask them once for something and they remembered each time they saw you. In the restaurant they realised my son "liked his food" and although the portions were more than adequate, they did bring extra for him. The food was the best I have ever had in a hotel and the service was second to none. When my son had eaten in the restaurant, he needed a quieter area for his "time out". We asked for them to bring our tea/coffee to us and they walked around the hotel until they found us - wherever we were. It was little things like that, that helped us to relax and we never felt a burden. The rooms were heated and you could turn it off if you needed to. Everything was spotless. WiFi not consistent but that didn't matter to us really. I will definitely be back, as it is in a marvelous location for touring. Pool/steam room were very clean. All in all, we both had a really good time. Well done everyone and thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side can get a little noisy but only during rush hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brilliantj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you loved your stay at the Monterey Hotel. This is valued feedback and is appreciated.

The Monterey is located in St Helier and for clarity it is not on an estate as described but is within an urban area close to the new public Millennium Town Park - which provides wonderful large scale gardens and child play facilities only moments away from the hotel – the park is shown on our hotel website image gallery. This public park is on the pedestrian route into St. Helier’s main quality shopping areas and provides a great short stroll for guests staying with us.

In terms of your comments on the hotel’s location, it really does depend on where you wish to be located but the Monterey is popular and long established and is well positioned for St. Helier for first time or returning visitors to the Island.

Our WiFi is a free provision. The system in place at the Monterey is modern and does have full internal electronic reporting of usage related issues etc... This allows us to improve the service when this is shown to be required. WiFi coverage is provided from many access points within the hotel building.

Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

I chose this hotel for a short 4 nights break in Jersey based on reviews on this site and I was extremely pleased with the hotel. The staff were all extremely efficient and very friendly - every single person we encountered had a friendly word and was happy to talk about the island. We had a superior room on the 4th floor which we found to be a good size and very a quiet located at the rear of the hotel overlooking the outdoor pool and small school. The bedroom was impeccably clean and the added touches of white bathrobes was welcome along with a generous tea, coffee and hot chocolate tray. The buffet breakfast was very well organised - other hotels take note! - never a queue and food replenished regularly. The quality of the juices, fruit, bacon and sausages was excellent. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot vouch for the food there however we did eat in the bar and although a fairly limited menu we were never disappointed in the quality. The hotel offers a car park and although a reasonable size it does get very busy and there were some functions on at the hotel which did make parking a bit tricky on two night although was soon overcome once the functions had ended. We would definitely stay at this hotel again without any hesitation at all - very comfortable, very friendly, well priced, good location and very well run - what more could you want.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool are likely to be quieter as they are not road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just had a very good 5 days at the Monterey, staff friendly and couldn't do enough for you, accommodation good, made good use of the pool would definitely come back. WiFi is a bit hit and miss in the rooms but hey a small price to pay. A great value stay!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Johngrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Friendly staff, nice food and good location. As a business traveller the advertised free wi-fi was a huge selling point but it turned out to be only available in the hotel lounge. I was planning to do some work in my room but could not get online at all.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank sblair197969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on our location, catering and staff. These are appreciated by our team.

Thank you for feedback on our wi-fi. We are sorry for any inconvenience with this service during your stay. We have a professional system in place throughout the hotel, maintained by a respected IT provider. It is a free wi-fi service for guests and problems are thankfully rare.

We hope to welcome you back to the Monterey Hotel again at some future point and your comments are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Thanks to the management staff at the Monterey for helping to make our weeks holiday so enjoyable. From time of arrival to departure the service and attention to detail were impeccable. Our superior room was very comfortable, the food was first class in quality and presentation, we also enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the very pleasant bar area.
We are already planning our next visit and would recommend the Monterey experience to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trophywirral W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a really nice meal here, followed by a good dance and knees-up.'Saw the New Year in with good company and stayed overnight in a specially nice room.
The breakfast was good too...all in all a great time was had by all, but I must really praise the staff. They were attentive, cheerful and helpful, a complete pleasure, thank you Monterey for a good New Year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade, it's worth it...................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the Monterey hotel on New Year's Eve and was very impressed. The staff couldn't do enough to help.they where always making sure my girlfriend and I where happy and didn't treat us any different.the food was amazing and I loved getting every one up doing the conga line.the room was really big and spotless not a spot of dust to be seen.lovely shower and bath to.i had the best nights sleep was very comfortable .i would defiantly dine there again would like to say a big thank you x

Room Tip: Choose the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kirsty825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#8 of 30 in St Helier
865 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 30 in St Helier
1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St Helier
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#8 Family Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £80 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing