We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good hotel, with goo facilities. The indoor pool steam room and jacuzzi were well maintained and clean. Good breakfast. Really nice and helpful staff.
Only detail is that it is far from tourist sites and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraBarbalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    252
    78
    10
    11
See reviews for
159
368
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. We chose to stay on the half board basis as this offered very good value for money. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a very cheery receptionist who very quickly and efficiently booked us in and explained the hotel facilities and took our dinner booking. Our room was on the ground floor opening on to the outdoor pool area. We were fortunate to have a couple of very pleasant warm afternoons and it was great to sit outside by the pool in what was a great sun-trap. The room itself was extremely comfortable. A king size bed and a small seating area. Very clean room. Initially had a few problems with wifi but there are two available and once I swapped over to the alternative signal had no problems at all.

The bar staff were very good and always helpful. Sorin and his team in the restaurant were nothing but first class. They were all very efficient and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. There was a very good choice of food including veggie options. Cheese and biscuits were even included. The wine prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was better than we have had in 4 and 5 star establishments. There was a very good selection of cereals fruit and a full english buffet available every morning. There was the option of haddock and kippers cooked to order as well.

The indoor pool steam room and jacuzzi were well maintained and clean. The there is also a small gym area.

All in all a very well run hotel and a most enjoyable stay. As for the location of the hotel it is about 10 minute walk to the main town a very pleasant walk though the millennium park.

A big thank you to all the staff and management that made our stay most enjoyable and is on our list to return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmariakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This great hotel is really recommended,within close proximity of St Hillier, however a 10 minute walk in. The hotel is a 3 star AA hotel and really does live up to 3 star expectations. All the staff are very obliging,pleasant and nothing is too much trouble, perfect in every way.The general manager is a truly charming and a very approachable young lady, her name is Diana Turea , she can be seen nearly every day helping out and overseeing the service.
The hotel has a lovely restaurant called Gordini's which is open from 6:30 pm, however if you require food before that time a comprehensive bar menu is available from 12 noon 'til 9 pm, you can eat within the bar area or there are tables set out and the service is brought to you.The breakfast is superb with a wide range, if not available just ask. The restaurant sets out a different Table d'ote menu every day, and having eaten there for 3 out of our 4 night stay the food was superb.
Our room was very clean and all the facilities you can expect from 3 star, equally the maids were excellent and always smiling and polite.
Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the outdoor pool, with French doors opening out
to the pool, ideal in the warmer weather.
The hotel has also got an inside heated pool, great.
However like all rational reviews there has to be 1 or 2 con's.
The first being our curtains which were of the flowery light weight variety which let in a huge amount of light, OK if you wanted an early morning wake up call. However speaking to a fellow guest on our check out day staying on the same level their room had thick lined curtains, too late for us to change.
The second con was the wifi which was a little hit and miss.
All in all great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyhon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Your review is a great encouragement for our team at the hotel who try very hard to ensure that guests enjoy their stay with us. We appreciate all constructive feedback and thank you for your valued comments.

We are only a short walk away from St. Helier and have excellent free on-site parking. The new St. Helier Town Park, with its beautiful gardens, water features and play areas, is only moments away providing an excellent route into the quality shopping areas. We are always happy at reception to direct guests if needed.

Much accommodation is now with thicker heavier type curtains and if this is a key consideration then please do feel free to request such accommodation which can be provided if this is your preference.

Our free WiFi service has seen a further upgrade since your stay to ensure optimum compatibility of guest and hotel equipment.

Thank you for your kind words generally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The receptionist was welcoming though determined to get through her prepared "spiel", rather than listening to what was needed. The hotel is clean and comfortable enough though rooms at the front get a lot of traffic noise and the general state of decoration is rather dated and tired. It took a while to work out the shower worked!
The main problem was a waitress who lacked basic language and other skills for the job. When I asked if a certain dish came with vegetables, she thought I was ordering a different, vegetarian option. In the end, I gave up and risked it. Every time she took an order, another colleague had to go back and check what had been ordered. When she brought the cutlery, it was put on the table the wrong way round and when I placed it correctly, I fully expected her to change it round again - I was reminded of Manuel! My pudding was then delivered to a surprised man on the next table! All very Fawlty Towers. Staff need to be trained on the job, of course, but should be equipped with certain basic language and other skills before being let loose on the public!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from a really lovely break at this hotel. The only things stopping me giving it a 5* rating was the location. It is in an estate and a fair walk to the town, even further to the Harbour. It falls short on outside spaces to sit and has no gardens, but after that, the hotel and staff are fantastic. We were made very welcome and were given a more than adequate room. However my son who is Autistic, refused to stay in that room and that's when the staff really came into their own. They sat us down with free tea whilst they located four more rooms to show us. They made absolutely sure that my son was going to be able to settle and then checked on us to see if we were ok. The bar staff/dining staff and reception staff were the best I've ever encountered. You only had to ask them once for something and they remembered each time they saw you. In the restaurant they realised my son "liked his food" and although the portions were more than adequate, they did bring extra for him. The food was the best I have ever had in a hotel and the service was second to none. When my son had eaten in the restaurant, he needed a quieter area for his "time out". We asked for them to bring our tea/coffee to us and they walked around the hotel until they found us - wherever we were. It was little things like that, that helped us to relax and we never felt a burden. The rooms were heated and you could turn it off if you needed to. Everything was spotless. WiFi not consistent but that didn't matter to us really. I will definitely be back, as it is in a marvelous location for touring. Pool/steam room were very clean. All in all, we both had a really good time. Well done everyone and thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side can get a little noisy but only during rush hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brilliantj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you loved your stay at the Monterey Hotel. This is valued feedback and is appreciated.

The Monterey is located in St Helier and for clarity it is not on an estate as described but is within an urban area close to the new public Millennium Town Park - which provides wonderful large scale gardens and child play facilities only moments away from the hotel – the park is shown on our hotel website image gallery. This public park is on the pedestrian route into St. Helier’s main quality shopping areas and provides a great short stroll for guests staying with us.

In terms of your comments on the hotel’s location, it really does depend on where you wish to be located but the Monterey is popular and long established and is well positioned for St. Helier for first time or returning visitors to the Island.

Our WiFi is a free provision. The system in place at the Monterey is modern and does have full internal electronic reporting of usage related issues etc... This allows us to improve the service when this is shown to be required. WiFi coverage is provided from many access points within the hotel building.

Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I chose this hotel for a short 4 nights break in Jersey based on reviews on this site and I was extremely pleased with the hotel. The staff were all extremely efficient and very friendly - every single person we encountered had a friendly word and was happy to talk about the island. We had a superior room on the 4th floor which we found to be a good size and very a quiet located at the rear of the hotel overlooking the outdoor pool and small school. The bedroom was impeccably clean and the added touches of white bathrobes was welcome along with a generous tea, coffee and hot chocolate tray. The buffet breakfast was very well organised - other hotels take note! - never a queue and food replenished regularly. The quality of the juices, fruit, bacon and sausages was excellent. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot vouch for the food there however we did eat in the bar and although a fairly limited menu we were never disappointed in the quality. The hotel offers a car park and although a reasonable size it does get very busy and there were some functions on at the hotel which did make parking a bit tricky on two night although was soon overcome once the functions had ended. We would definitely stay at this hotel again without any hesitation at all - very comfortable, very friendly, well priced, good location and very well run - what more could you want.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool are likely to be quieter as they are not road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just had a very good 5 days at the Monterey, staff friendly and couldn't do enough for you, accommodation good, made good use of the pool would definitely come back. WiFi is a bit hit and miss in the rooms but hey a small price to pay. A great value stay!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Johngrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#10 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing