We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Jersey”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First trip to Jersey”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent 5 days half board in this hotel. We had superior room which was fab. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned and towels changed every day. The breakfast and dinner were lovely with a lovely choice !! Well presented and good choice. The indoor pool was a nice size for me, steam room lovely and had whirlpool all to myself !!! The deal with condor ferries was really good got one night free when booked 5 nights and therefore good value for money!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have massive space with huge double bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    257
    78
    10
    11
See reviews for
164
371
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
dovercourt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

8 of us enjoyed a 3 night stay could not find fault with the hotel very clean, excellent breakfast, staff very friendly, service very good, will go back again, 10 minute walk to town centre good base to explore jersey

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houseoflords1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollard Royal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming, efficient and informative. Although we were only staying as B&B we still ate at the hotel restaurant two of the four days we were there, also using the sister hotel just down the road, the food was excellent value. There were two couples and we had rooms overlooking the pool which were comfortable and quiet. All facilities were readily available. The hotel location was a short walk into the town centre and then onwards to the waterfront. Finally as one of the couples were celebrating birthday and wedding anniversary during their stay, prior instructions for flowers/champagne in the room was awaiting us on our arrival and were exactly as ordered, our thanks was given to all staff on our departure.
Thanks once again everyone at The Monterey for such a memorable and happy stay and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are more quiet than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just returned from a very pleasant stay at this lovely quiet hotel. The facilities are first class with an indoor and outdoor pool. The staff very helpful and friendly in both reception and restaurant and Bar. Our room on the top floor overlooking the pool was comfortable, clean and quiet.
I certainly looked forward to Breakfast which were hearty and set me off for the day and we also had Dinner on a couple of evenings and the food was excellent.
We would certainly return and stay again and also recommend friends.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the swimming pool are sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good hotel, with goo facilities. The indoor pool steam room and jacuzzi were well maintained and clean. Good breakfast. Really nice and helpful staff.
Only detail is that it is far from tourist sites and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraBarbalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. We chose to stay on the half board basis as this offered very good value for money. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a very cheery receptionist who very quickly and efficiently booked us in and explained the hotel facilities and took our dinner booking. Our room was on the ground floor opening on to the outdoor pool area. We were fortunate to have a couple of very pleasant warm afternoons and it was great to sit outside by the pool in what was a great sun-trap. The room itself was extremely comfortable. A king size bed and a small seating area. Very clean room. Initially had a few problems with wifi but there are two available and once I swapped over to the alternative signal had no problems at all.

The bar staff were very good and always helpful. Sorin and his team in the restaurant were nothing but first class. They were all very efficient and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. There was a very good choice of food including veggie options. Cheese and biscuits were even included. The wine prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was better than we have had in 4 and 5 star establishments. There was a very good selection of cereals fruit and a full english buffet available every morning. There was the option of haddock and kippers cooked to order as well.

The indoor pool steam room and jacuzzi were well maintained and clean. The there is also a small gym area.

All in all a very well run hotel and a most enjoyable stay. As for the location of the hotel it is about 10 minute walk to the main town a very pleasant walk though the millennium park.

A big thank you to all the staff and management that made our stay most enjoyable and is on our list to return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmariakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This great hotel is really recommended,within close proximity of St Hillier, however a 10 minute walk in. The hotel is a 3 star AA hotel and really does live up to 3 star expectations. All the staff are very obliging,pleasant and nothing is too much trouble, perfect in every way.The general manager is a truly charming and a very approachable young lady, her name is Diana Turea , she can be seen nearly every day helping out and overseeing the service.
The hotel has a lovely restaurant called Gordini's which is open from 6:30 pm, however if you require food before that time a comprehensive bar menu is available from 12 noon 'til 9 pm, you can eat within the bar area or there are tables set out and the service is brought to you.The breakfast is superb with a wide range, if not available just ask. The restaurant sets out a different Table d'ote menu every day, and having eaten there for 3 out of our 4 night stay the food was superb.
Our room was very clean and all the facilities you can expect from 3 star, equally the maids were excellent and always smiling and polite.
Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the outdoor pool, with French doors opening out
to the pool, ideal in the warmer weather.
The hotel has also got an inside heated pool, great.
However like all rational reviews there has to be 1 or 2 con's.
The first being our curtains which were of the flowery light weight variety which let in a huge amount of light, OK if you wanted an early morning wake up call. However speaking to a fellow guest on our check out day staying on the same level their room had thick lined curtains, too late for us to change.
The second con was the wifi which was a little hit and miss.
All in all great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyhon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Your review is a great encouragement for our team at the hotel who try very hard to ensure that guests enjoy their stay with us. We appreciate all constructive feedback and thank you for your valued comments.

We are only a short walk away from St. Helier and have excellent free on-site parking. The new St. Helier Town Park, with its beautiful gardens, water features and play areas, is only moments away providing an excellent route into the quality shopping areas. We are always happy at reception to direct guests if needed.

Much accommodation is now with thicker heavier type curtains and if this is a key consideration then please do feel free to request such accommodation which can be provided if this is your preference.

Our free WiFi service has seen a further upgrade since your stay to ensure optimum compatibility of guest and hotel equipment.

Thank you for your kind words generally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,853 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing