We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful throughout, offering assistance without needing to be asked. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The pool and changing rooms were kept very nicely. The menu (as some others note) had repetitions but also changes each day, and was always an excellent standard with generous portions. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night break at The Monterey. We could not fault it in any way.
The cleanliness of the rooms, the pool area etc was perfect.
All of the staff were friendly without being familiar and always extremely smartly turned out.

The food was very good value for what we paid, but the menu was rather repetitive. Each night one or two choices from each section were changed but the remaining items were the same every night. In fact so much that it got to be a joke between the 2 of us , what would be on I that night. That said every meal was perfect, if we used al the veg we were always offered more.
I would class the food as good plain cooking with a little extra flair.

Jersey itself is a pretty little island and if the weather is kind would be great for a weeks holiday. A short break such as we had was enough if the weather was not good enough for sitting on the beach.

WE will be returning

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then request one at the rear of the hotel, but that said we had a ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetravelling90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary long weekend and it was our first visit to Jersey. The hotel was very easy to reach from the airport. We jumped into a local taxi and a little more than 15 mins later we were in the hotel reception. The welcome was very warm and sincere and we we resigned in and off to the room very quickly. It was very clean and efficient. Our room was on the top (4th) floor, it was nicely laid out, very clean and very comfortable. Our stay at this hotel was a really good one, every member of staff went out of their way to be available and helpful. The bar is well stocked and not too expensive, the bar staff cheerful and welcoming. We ate one evening at the hotel during our stay and the food was superb. The menu provided a good selection and the service very friendly. Breakfast was buffet style, great quality with optional items available on request from the kitchen e.g. Poached eggs, smoked mackerel etc. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. The only reservation we had was that it's slightly away from the centre of St Helier, the bus station and the harbour. That said, everything is so accessible, it's a 10 minute walk to the bus depot and one of the buses stops outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June for my retirement present.
What can we say, 'EXCELLENT'
From the moment of our arrival, the staff were both welcoming and friendly.
Throughout our stay they couldn't do enough for us, from the reception, restaurant, bar & housekeeping staff, all faultless.

The room was both well prepared/presented and of a decent size, overlooking the outside pool area..
The bed was so large, (could sleep four) my wife thought I had left her during the sleep filled night.

On returning from our excursions out to take in the Jersey delights, it had been immaculately cleaned and restocked with all the necessary items that had been used by ourselves.

As my wife is disabled, it was often after lunch before we left our room.
This made no difference, as the room would still be attended to regardless of what time we left.

The food in the restaurant was beautifully presented, and a pleasure to eat.
The room service likewise.
The menu was more than adequate and served promptly by very attentive, friendly staff.
We had booked room & breakfast, however we never used the breakfast facility as we never rose from our comfortable bed in time.

We didn't use any of the many facilities available, as there was so much we wanted to see around the island.

However if we could criticise anything, it would have to be the outside pool.

Having had and maintained our own pool, the cleaning appeared to be very haphazard.
The pool area has many plants and foliage around it, these were being blown into the pool and skimmers that provide the circulation/filtering. There was green algae on the pool liner at the deep-end and in the creases of shallow end steps. The skimmers themselves had both foliage/debris and a couple of plastic glasses inside the skimmer baskets throughout our stay, never being cleaned out during this period.
This is the only area I would suggest needs addressing, as it lets down what would be perfect accommodation in Jersey.

Would we stay again?

A definite 'YES', already looking forward to next year.

Hope this is of some help to potential clients.

Happy Holiday Jules & Gregg Havler

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are a sun trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights in May this year and would highly recommend to anyone. Staff were very friendly, food was delicious and the hotel is conveniently situated with bus stops just outside the hotel although the walk into St Helier isn't too far. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from 5days at the Monterey on bed and breakfast. Room 305 was at back of the hotel overlooking the pool as requested and had a king size bed also requested. Breakfast was very good every day and despite previous reviews we found the tea/coffee and toast service quick and efficient. Although the same menu was available every day there was a chance to order kippers, smoked haddock, porridge, boiled and poached eggs.
We had dinner in the hotel on 2 nights and chose to eat from the Bar Menu which was extensive and reasonably priced. The restaurant menu was £17 for 2courses and £21 for 3.
Car parking was in front of and adjacent to the hotel and was free. Bus stop opposite or a 10minute brisk walk to town. £4 for taxi from centre of town (by the cows) to hotel. Citicabs.
The staff at this hotel are second to none right from the Chambermaids to Restaurant Managers and all in between, nothing too much trouble. Would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: have a room at the back they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Thank you to all the nice, helpful and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble, made our visit more enjoyable.

Food was of good standard, drinks in hotel were good price without being overpriced.

Definitely would stay again, cannot wait to return to Jersey, a lovely Island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaSS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St Helier
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#14 of 31 in St Helier
554 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St Helier
1,719 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £79 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing