We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from a lovely holiday in st helier staying in the Monterey Hotel i do hope the manager of this hotel knows what wonderful staff they have they were courteous efficient and could not do enough i could find no fault with this hotel simply super the bedrooms were nice and fresh, the food was really good and this hotel i would recommend to anyone. St helier very nice too beautiful beaches on the island lots to do during the day but no nightlife which is a pity.

Great holiday all round though.

Room Tip: Def get a poolside room heavy traffic at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    247
    76
    9
    10
See reviews for
153
360
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

very friendly helpful staff didnt, see anyone that was grumpy.
great choice at breakfast, fresh food staff always checking everything ok
didnt have dinner but it was always busy and food coming out of kitchen looked good.
nice tidy clean room , good alround hotel. restaurant manager was exellent

Room Tip: ask for room not overlooking road got abit noisy in the morning, didnt help that is was warm so had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our stay at the Monterey hotel was definitely one of the best holiday experiences we have had. The hotel is very clean and fresh, the staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and to make your stay very memorable. The rooms are clean and spacious and the restaurant is airy, clean and very well laid out. The food is exceptional with a good choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in a poolside room which in our opinion are the best rooms and we will definitely be visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IngramDonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent a week here in June. Hotel's best asset is its staff. Everyone was extremely helpful. We had a nice room at the back of the building overlooking the swimming pool. It was very quiet but too hot despite the fact that we opened both windows at night and switched on the "plug-in" fan. Rooms at the front had a lot of traffic noise. The food was very good despite the fact that there was little change in the menu from day to day.
The buses stop just outside the hotel but sometimes can be full if going to a popular area. It is better to walk to the bus station - 20 minutes.
There is a supermarket a few minutes walk from the hotel but no fridge in the room to keep water, etc.
Despite its many good qualities, I think I would prefer to stay somewhere nearer to the bus station.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusybeeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A great little hotel with great food and great staff. First impressions are that the rooms are a little tired but on closer inspection they are spotlessly clean. The food is excellent and the staff all helpful and friendly. It is really about 30 minutes gentle stroll into town but it is a pleasant walk especially if you go via the millennium park. The bus stops right outside the door. It is worth going for a superior room at the back of the hotel for a bit more space and a bit quieter. I understand the rooms on the second floor are better than those on the third. A great base for exploring the beautiful island.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have recently traveled to Jersey staying at The Monterey Hotel. Not knowing the area as a whole I went on a search and took a leap of faith. This hotel is a 3 star but I can honestly say that I was very surprised at how clean and presentable it was. The rooms were a decent size with lovely bathroom/shower facilities. The breakfast was substantial and offered an array of food/cereal and fruits. The receptionist Lilly was very pleasant and helpful and she made you feel special. I would certainly recommend this to anyone visiting the island.

Room Tip: Do ask for a quiet room at the back as it is situated on a busy road., the staff were happy to accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Monterey hotel from June 21st for one week. On arrival our luggage was taken to our room from our car, check in very swift and efficient. It was our 40th anniversary and a bottle of sparkling wine was in our room. All of the staff were excellent throughout our stay. Room was clean although little dated, the shower was good and towels changed regularly, the only minor problem was the basin taps being very stiff and dripped unless they were turned off using a towel to grip them. The we ate out most evenings but the meals we had from the bar menu were excellent. The car parking was a little on small side but we always found a space. We walked into town centre from hotel most evenings it is a pleasant 15min stroll as the buses are not too frequent. Found the one way system in St Helier chaotic it seems to have been designed by a lunatic who has never held a driving licence. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing