We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de France(St Helier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampshire Hotel(St Helier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Hotel(St Helier)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Apollo Hotel(St Helier)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Banjo(St Helier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almorah Hotel(St Helier)
View Hotel
The Savoy Jersey(St Helier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveller rating
407
287
87
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
287
87
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolsuperior roommillennium parksteam roomtown centrerecommend this hotelsmall gymlovely hotelplenty of choicehalf boardstar hoteleach eveningrestaurant staffthe hotel is cleancleaned dailyenjoyable stayfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
658 - 663 of 803 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2009

my friend and I stayed here and asked for a twin room. We were given a room with interconnecting doors to a double room. It was obviously a room used for a family group. It had rather tired furtniture to say the least, although clean.We could hear each other talking through the doors quite clearly. To be fair they did move us on request, but if the hotel had been busier this may have been more difficult. But why put us in such a downgrade room anyway? The first room was quite obviously much more 'used' than the second, the furniture ( wardobes especially) were scratched and rubbed, and the sizes of the rooms did not match. In the first room, the shower was next to a full-wall window, with a white blind, but even so a little unsettling given that we were right on the main road!
wouldnt remember this as the place I would choose first next time.If I did, I would ask for a description of the room first!
Also we needed to eat quite early on our first night . We rang down to see if we could get a hot room service, just a chicken roll or soup and roll. No , only cold could be served. So off we went out early to eat before our show. As we left the room, a hot tray of food was being delivered next door!

breakfast was fine, reasonable choice and good coffee. However, very silly toaster was annoying and I can see how long the queues might be in high season! a little shabby, and a certain lack of the personal touch, empty wall panels where a picture of , say, Jersey would add interest! Staff seemed fine. Pool area nice, although steam room out of order. Hotel is a good walk into town ,and I do know that the De France runs a complimentray shuttle to town twice a day, could you maybe join forces with this offer for your guests?

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busybeeNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Owner at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

We are a family owned hotel and have a continuous programme of maintenance and repair. The AA has recently (October 2009) undertaken its first inspection of the hotel. The property was comfortably awarded a 3 Star grading with good levels of service and hotel product being reported. Catering and facilities are well regarded by the AA.

Interconnecting rooms – Only three sets of these particular family type units exist within our seventy-three bedroom hotel and the interconnecting doors within these ‘room sets’ are in the process of being deleted. This will remove the noise issue mentioned. In respect of our remaining family accommodation, more recently built large family bedrooms now exist elsewhere in the hotel. We welcome families at the hotel. Family accommodation can, as in this case, receive increased wear. We will monitor this closely but would report that this visit was taken at the end of our busy main season.

Bathroom – Three bathrooms of this nature exist. All are fully protected with full light block blinds. Non-road facing bedrooms can also be requested. Main bedroom furniture is manufactured by a main brand supplier and is in new condition.

Restaurant and Bar – We have recently provided an additional comfortable lounge for evening use which is normally available to guests with large flat screen TV etc.

Pool area – The indoor pool is popular. The steam room is in operation but as with all such facilities they do require maintenance from time to time.

Location – We are well located for the town of St Helier and also have a large car park for a St Helier Hotel. More central hotels often do not offer this facility. The bus operates into St Helier from outside the hotel entrance if required.

Finally, as a local family business we take guest comments seriously. We are a very popular established hotel with good reviews on the various on-line sites and we look forward to welcoming both new and return guests in the future.

Seamus Morvan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Situated on the junction of two busy roads, parking is limited and traffic noise persists all night. The hotel seems to accept deliveries from noisy diesel lorries at half past three in the morning. The rooms are not air conditioned and windows are not double glazed so a quiet, comfortable night's sleep in the heat of an August night is out of the question. Our room was small, shabby and unprepossessing. Things could only get better.

And so to breakfast, where the serving staff are sullen and unresponsive. The menu selection is good but hot food had been kept on hold far too long. Is it so difficult to fry an egg or a piece of bacon? Despite the numerous staff swarming about the dining room, guests must queue to make their own toast, pour their own coffee, brew their own tea and serve themselves with juice, continental breakfasts and cereal. Only the full English breakfast is dispensed by an unsmiling, bored waiter who regards customers as an unwelcome intrusion into an otherwise happy existence. If you forgot to toast your bread first, your cooked breakfast will be cold by the time you remedy this omission.

Ouside the rooms, the hotel facilities are good - they have two elevators, a small gym, indoor and outdoor pool, jacuzzi etc. but let down by poorly trained and unmotivated staff. Despite the mission statement of "friendly and professional service for over 50 years", we were glad when our holiday ended.

4  Thank talentedwaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, General Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

As the on site manager of the hotel, I feel that it is important that I respond to the comments of Talentedwaster in respect of our staff. Readers may wish to note:

The reviewer states that outside of the rooms, the hotel facilities were good. This conflicts with general review score given.

Bedroom furniture is not tired within our standard bedrooms as described. The hotel has had a fit-out with high quality modern furniture units in recent times. In addition, almost half of the hotel bedrooms are classified as being superior bedrooms as distinct from the standard bedroom occupied. Superior bedrooms can be requested.

Some of our window glazing is currently under review but is subject to planning authority constraints. Much of the hotel is fully double glazed and is non road facing. These non road facing bedrooms can be requested if such noise causes any concern.

Our Staff - The Monterey Hotel was successfully re-assessed for its Investor in People National Standard (IIP) in October 2009 for investment in our team of staff. We are proud to also announce to guests that we gained the enhanced Bronze IIP standard, demonstrating significant investment within our team at the hotel. We value our staff and, together with other Morvan Hotels, we are the only hotel company in Jersey to have gained this enhanced award. We can report that a very low percentage of businesses nationally have achieved this enhanced status.

We have very high customer satisfaction levels at the hotel and these are monitored on guest satisfaction surveys – I am always on hand to resolve any issues of concern.
I am not aware of having been informed of any of the points raised by this reviewer and cannot identify when they stayed with us and as such it is difficult to be certain if the review is genuine.

However, should guests have comments in respect of the hotel then we are always happy to address these issues at the time to successfully resolve any concerns as we have a large choice of bedrooms.
No deliveries occur at night as there is no need for this to occur.

Breakfast is a Full English Buffet Breakfast and we offer many fairtrade goods. Many guests like to serve their own tea, coffee and toast but on request this will always be delivered to your table.
Our Head Chef has been with the hotel for many years and is accomplished in his role. We operate to the full HACCP standard with regard to food safety, following the Scottish ‘Cooksafe’ model. The holding of food is not incorrect as stated in the review.

We have a large car park for a St Helier Hotel with parking for around 40 cars to accommodate our 73 bedrooms. This is a very healthy ratio of parking provision for any hotel property.

Finally, we are pleased to be able convey these comments to you. We are a busy and successful hotel and will continue to pay particular attention to our hospitality in the future. I look forward to welcoming returning and new guests in the future.


Patricia Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Monterey Hotel. We requested, and were given, quiet rooms. The food was very good, although we did decide to eat out on several evenings. The breakfasts were amazing! We also had packed lunches on two days and felt they were good value. The rooms and the public areas were spotlessly clean, even the tiles in the bathrooms (something that can let a hotel down).
What really set this hotel apart was the personal touch. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we had cheerful 'good morning/afternoon/evening' from them all. After the second morning, the lady in charge of the restaurant remembered our room numbers. The receptionist remembered our prefences for our packed lunches. The evening barman asked who'd won our game of ten-pin bowling. We felt that this level of attention to detail was pretty impressive in a busy hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We have just returned from The Monterey, where I took my wife for our surprise Silver Wedding. I proposed to her in Jersey and thought it would be ideal to go back. I asked for a Superior Room. On arrival we were shown to the most perfect room, we opened the patio door and were two steps away from the Sun lounger, and a few more to the pool. The room was spotless. Next to the pool was the indoor pool, jaccuzi, and steam room, excellent. After a perfect nights sleep we had the most fantastic breakfast. We opted to eat in the restaurant the first night WOW the meal was £16.95 and was superb. We ate here every night!! The location was superb, we hired a car as we knew our way round the island.. A special mention to Bridgit the receptionist a sweet Irish girl who could get you ANYTHING!! Well done everybody.. you were superb, we'll be back!! If you have children there is not much for them at night, but that was not a problem for us. Excellent five days Thank you all. Alan and Amanda Rotherham S Yorks

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Spent a weekend break here. The hotel was OK but a good 10-15 minutes away from the centre. Our room was on the ground floor and was large and well equipped although the furnishings did seem a bit 'tired' Also, surprised , that there was no mini bar. Enjoyed using the swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room which were open all day and perfect for relaxing after a long day sightseeing.
The best bit was the breakfast which was plentiful and with loads of choices.
The staff too were really nice and were very attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews