We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Stafford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stafford Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

we arrived here first time in jersey found hotel already booked late rooms 350 5 nights b b room and hotel very dated but belive me spotless all around welcoming staff lovely and very hard working the bed is massive and best sleep ever and god what a breakfast amazing value everything in there cooked b fast tasty Michaela house keeper lovely girl as are all the staff friendly would def use again

Room Tip: our room second floor at back quiet fine lovely sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    111
    72
    23
    8
See reviews for
52
137
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Went to The Stafford on a short package break. The staff were friendly, the public rooms are spacious and better than some I've seen in more expensive hotels. The room we had was pretty basic (311) though clean enough. The "en suite" had lavatory and bath with shower in a separate room, but the wash basin was in the bedroom, which was a bit inconvenient. Bed was comfortable, blankets and sheets, not duvets. Breakfast was very good.
There is a cafe called the Wagon Wheel opposite which is a cause of quite a bit of street noise late at night through into the early hours.
There are Italian and Indian restaurants in the same street (Little Italy is excellent), and it is only a 5 minute walk into the centre of St Helier.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a proper en-suite. There may be off-street rooms which are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I spent four nights here recently and would like to thank Rebecca, one of the hotel receptionists, for her welcoming smile and assistance throughout our stay. For a 2** hotel we could not have wished for better. Washbasin was in the room not in the bathroom and the sound quality on the dated TV was terrible but otherwise no complaints at all. Must congratulate the hotel on having enough coathangers in the ample wardrobe - a rarity even in top class hotels! As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel is dated but it is still good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room at the front of the hotel on the third floor had a sea glimpse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed for five nights. Whilst hotel was a little dated, it was centrally located, clean, welcoming and the staff were friendly and helpful. Price included continental breakfast but pleased to say, a good cooked breakfast was also available at no extra cost. Spacious lounge and bar areas. Would definitely use again and recommend on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just stayed 4 nights the hotel is clean and welcoming if a little dated but it suited our purpose and the staff were very helpful Yhe staff in the resteraunt were a bit quick clearing our plates at breakfast .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHLEAGUNDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just spent a few days at the Stafford Hotel.
First impressions of room were that it was dated and tired looking.
However it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot.

I would go back on a B&B basis, as the two restaurants belonging to the sister hotel are great and there are others within a few yards.(The breakfast buffet was very good)

The staff were all friendly and helpful, which made our stay enjoyable.
All in all very good value.

Margaret J

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The rooms at the Stafford Hotel are rather ragged (e.g. avocado bathrooms) and the facilities somewhat basic. Don’t expect luxury towels, widescreen LCD TVs, king-sized beds or room service.

That said, the location is very good and a short walk to the centre of St Helier. The members of staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a decent spread too and some standard tea and coffee-making facilities were in the room.

One downside was the high number of students that were there on our first night. They were loud and messy but, once they'd left, the place was quite peaceful.

If you want somewhere in a good location and on a budget then you can’t go too wrong.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.5 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#22 of 32 in St Helier
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#9 of 32 in St Helier
914 reviews
1.6 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sarum Hotel
Sarum Hotel
#28 of 32 in St Helier
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford Hotel

Property: Stafford Hotel
Address: Kensington Place, St Helier JE2 3PA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stafford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Hotel St Helier
Stafford Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing