We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stafford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stafford Hotel
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here for a week's holiday at the end of July. Although a little dated, the hotel has all the basics you need for a comfortable stay. The staff can't do enough for you and will also advise you on places to visit. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast is amazing!!!! Very good location for beach, town and liberation bus station. We had a room at the back which was quieter than a front room would have been but as the hotel is right next to the island's main hospital, you could hear sirens and barrier noises from about 6am as you need to open the windows due to very warm bedrooms!

Room Tip: Top floor is very hot so try to get one lower down
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    102
    64
    23
    7
See reviews for
48
126
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for a week's holiday and can't understand why it only has a two star rating. Seems unfair as it's much better than that. It's in a great location, very convenient for shops, restaurants, beachfront etc. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, and agree with other reports, it was perfectly cooked and a great choice, with something for everyone. The room was very spacious, as was the bathroom and everywhere spotlessly clean. We had an extra bed and plenty space for clothes. There was a kettle with tea coffee etc, and a teapot. Downside was the room overlooked the roof of the restaurant and had no view. It was very hot, but it was an unusually hot week so this was not really the hotel's fault. We went out and bought a cheap fan which made it more comfortable. We did ask at reception for one but other guests had beaten us to it as they didn't have enough for everyone. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. I think it would not take too much to upgrade this hotel, perhaps just by improving the showers, providing toiletries, and fans for the rooms in hot weather would make such a difference. Yes, it's old, but it was in good repair and everything worked as it should. There was entertainment some nights (quiz, bingo, singer etc) but we didn't go down, and it wound up about 11pm so the noise from below didn't bother us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

A 2 star hotel which should be higher and would be if it was on the sea front. Staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious for a couple, actually had an extra bed in it. We decided to upgrade upon arrival to half board from bed and breakfast, an extraa £12 a head per night, but money well spent. a 3 course meal every night a different menu (we stayed 7 nights), food was excellent, by the end of the week we were only managing 2 courses,there was so much.
Only one "down" comment. there was entertainment on one night, a singer, who could be heard in the bedroom and went on until late. (Actually he sounded better in the bedroom than downstairs)
A value for money hotel, I would stay there again if in Jersey

Room Tip: A back room as we had, eliminates noise at night from the busy street outside. No sea view though
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrebleM0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just got back from staying at the Stafford hotel, we were there for a week, the hotel and bedrooms are very clean and all staff very polite and the hotel is centrally located for the town and a very short walk from the beach and all bus routes, we would not stay there again though due to the very loud creaking squeaking floorboards in the bedrooms, although the beds are comfortable and plenty of space in the room itself. Having someone in the room above constantly walking around at all hours of the night does not make for a good nights sleep, neither does being able to hear their converations through the ceiling, unless you are a very heavy sleeper. The hotel definately needs updating, wall paper coming way and stained carpets and a tired looking bathroom suite although shower ran good. Having tea and coffee making facilites in room was good and the breakfasts were fantastic, great choice of hot and cold food. Being able to use the pool in the Revere hotel next door was a nice way to spend a couple of hours in the afternoon. The Stafford hotel could be so much better if some money was spent on it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hotel is located centrally and close to the Liberation Station and the beach. There are some good restaurants in the same street. However the hotel isn't a place where you'd want to spend some time in. If you just want to use it as a sleep over its fine. The shower was horrible, hardly any water came through, though the bath was ok. Breakfast was good. We dint have any other meal at the hotel. I wouldn't go back, probably more so, as I wouldn't go back to Jersey either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Just spent a week at The Stafford. Excellent buffet breakfast with a large choice of good quality foods. Room was exceptionally clean and was spacious. Dining room very cramped with too many tables shoe-horned into the available space, which reduced the restaurant experience. Evening meal food choices rather limited for the main course eg one meat choice, but the standard of food was more than reasonable. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Would recommend as a very good value hotel. Good central location as close to shops, beach and bus station. Some anti-social street noise experienced on Saturday night, which perhaps the local authorities should address in the interests of promoting tourism.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaby29Warrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

what a great weekend we have just had at the Stafford hotel.yes it is dated,but the food and service you get is wonderful.thank you all and yes we would go back.it is not far the beach,cafe,and resturants.the hotel is great for all age groups.carry on the good work.

Room Tip: go for the back of the hotel,but you will not get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen123678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#22 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#29 of 31 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.9 mi away
Runnymede Court Hotel
Runnymede Court Hotel
#20 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#19 of 31 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford Hotel

Property: Stafford Hotel
Address: Kensington Place, St Helier JE2 3PA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stafford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Hotel St Helier
Stafford Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing