We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If that's tired then Stone Henge just needs a lick of paint!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stafford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stafford Hotel
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If that's tired then Stone Henge just needs a lick of paint!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were invited to attend a silver wedding party - on the August bank holiday - so we knew prices would be crazy. By packaging flights and hotel together with Channel Islands Direct, we hoped for a less painful bill. Ok maybe we didn't look too closely at the hotel details, but really the Stafford has been neglected for far too long. The lift wasn't working to take us to our 3rd floor room on the font of the hotel, so after a breathy climb up three flights we were bitterly disappointed by our bedroom. The (helpful) receptionist had told us it was one of the best in the house, but what we saw was a 70's throwback. it felt old and dirty and we were compelled to move to another hotel (The Somerrville - now there's a great hotel) and lose the money on the Stafford. We had a drink in the bar and the barman laconically chewed gum the whole time. We couldn't wait to get away.

Room Tip: Don't sleep on the front, the road is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    102
    64
    23
    7
See reviews for
48
126
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Stafford is a bit worn but is clean and well run with a very friendly staff. It is kid friendly and bicycle friendly with a storage room just inside the entrance. Full English breakfast is a treat and servers are very attentive and friendly. Its strength is its location- right on the edge of the urban area, one long block to the beach and bike paths, yet an easy walk to shopping and restaurants.
We do Jersey as pedestrians from St Malo. The children walk their bikes onto the ferry and we rent adult bikes near the hotel. Bus system is convenient.

Room Tip: Properly sized bikes with familiar brakes and gears for children can be scarce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

While in Jersey recently I stayed at the Stafford hotel. It is a 2 Star budget hotel. I found it very clean and tidy. the staff were very friendly and very helpful. the dining room was spacious and well set out. The food was excellent. It is about a ten minute walk from the town centre and about five minute walk from the sea front. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St Helier on the island of Jersey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigjohn2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week this September. The hotel is ideally situated for the beach main shopping area and the bus station. All the staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful and attentive.The breakfast was excellent and the three evening dinners that we had were very good. Our room '401' on the ground floor was clean and of good size and comfortable.The room however was due for redecorating,and the floor boards creaked as did those in the room above, but still we had a good nights sleep, probably because the guests above didn't move about during the night, if they had I feel that it may have been a different story. Overhearing other guests conversations it appears that many return year after year.

Room Tip: No rooms have a sea or panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

It was only due to Rebecca that the last 3 nights of our week's stay at the Stafford turned from an ordeal to a pleasure. I had not requested a room at the back and the noise from the street was dreadful. Our room, on the 3rd floor, did not have a proper bathroom as the sink was in the room and the quality of the shower was dreadful. I asked on check in for a room at the back, but was told they were full. I then waited until the weekend had finished (with loads of people departing) and requested a move again (same receptionist), only to be told once again, rather abruptly, that they were full. When the shift changed I took a chance and asked again. Rebecca, saved the day! She said to give her 20 mins and she would find an alternative room, phoned us in our room and came up with not one, but 2 possibilities for us to have a look at. The first one, was a huge improvement and I had 3 sound nights sleep.
Yes, the hotel rooms could definitely do with a refurbishment but, for the price we paid, I am not complaining. They are comfortable.
The staff, generally, are very pleasant and the breakfast is certainly very good.

Room Tip: Without a double - the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidaymadSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a 2 star hotel and the décor reflects this, the hotel is clean and the bedding and towels were changed regualary as we only spend a little time in the room its not a problem. Remember its 2 star but its value for money.We stayed half board and the meals were excellent more like 4 star not 2 star with a different 3 coarse menu every night and a huge English and continental breakfast. the staff are very attentive and helpful nothings to much trouble for them and can be quite jokey I can only give them my full praise and top marks they are excellent. The bar prices are the same as the local pubs and it is only about two yards from the sea front we enjoyed our stay and it was good value for the money would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gray65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights midweek at the beginning of september and it was worth the money on a superbreak deal. Hopped on number 15 bus at the airport ( bus waits just outside arrivals door you cant miss it) and got off 30 mins later at st helier hsbc bank just around corner from hotel cost £1.70. Reception staff were really friendly and since the weather was hot and I had read the other reviews about the warm rooms I asked for a fan. It was not much of a fan but it did keep us cool - just. Room was clean but the light coloured carpet was a little smudged Thought I was going to have to change rooms due to noise from outside and in but it quietened down & was peaceful through the night. Breakfast was self serve and had everything you needed - eggs fried and scrambled, sausage,bacon,tomatoes mushrooms toast as well as the usual fruit, cereal & yoghurts. What more could you ask for. There are about 5 restaurants in the same street as well as one cafe & another at the end of the street. Also a few good pubs within 5 mins walk. The cafe at the end of the street did good value meals which was useful because the restaurants are all a bit pricey. As was the entrance fees to most of the attractions. We paid about £12 for the war tunnels (not good value) and about £9 each for the two castles. Elizabeth castle has a loud demo guy that fires the canon (eventually) and he was good fun. Getting around by the bus was easy ( look up liberty bus for timetables etc) but we hired a car (europa at the ferry terminal) for £50 for one day to get around the island. The only bad things I can say about the hotel are that the rooms are too warm in the summer & need air conditioned & they could do with a fridge in the room. The use of the revere hotel swimming pool next door came in handy. The location is also handy for getting to see all that st helier has to offer and the good things about this hotel far outweigh the bad. Would I stay here again - only when the weather is a bit on the cooler side.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#22 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#29 of 31 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.9 mi away
Runnymede Court Hotel
Runnymede Court Hotel
#20 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#19 of 31 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford Hotel

Property: Stafford Hotel
Address: Kensington Place, St Helier JE2 3PA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stafford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Hotel St Helier
Stafford Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing