We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldy worldly hotel...”
Review of Stafford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stafford Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oldy worldly hotel...”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very nice hotel, lovely reception staff..We had a triple room, which was fine for one night...The hotel is not a modern hotel however the oldl worldly charm is actually a nice factor....Superb breakfast and in a good location...

Room Tip: Limited as we had a triple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank for your review and pleased to hear you enjoyed the service and standards at the Stafford Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    108
    66
    23
    8
See reviews for
50
131
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just got back from a week in Jersey and what a lovely and friendly hotel The Management and staff were absolutely lovely so friendly and welcoming nothing was to much trouble. Although some rooms could do with a little upgrade the hotel was very clean and tidy. Hotel location is with easy reach of all the amenities within St Helier's main shopping centre, beach and bus station. Breakfast was buffet style but plenty of choice. If you wished to eat there is the evening the menu was displayed at reception with a choice of meals to suit everyones tastes Food in the resort itself was expensive like everything sadly on the Island it is no longer a cheap place to visit on a budget. All beaches on the Island are beautiful and clean and the bus service is excellent for you to get around and reasonably priced and regular (which is brilliant for local transport ) Overall had a brilliant relaxing holiday and would definately recomment anyone to stay at this little chem of a hotel Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review, pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday at The Stafford Hotel and you will recommend to family and freinds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just got back yesterday the hotel is near everything restaurants, town centre, coast, all within walking distance.15 minute walk from harbour . The girls on Reception were fantastic could not do enough to help. also the staff in restaurant. The breakfast was great lots of choice hot or cold plenty of it.we had a room at the back 313 very peaceful and quiet . Rooms were cleaned daily clean towels everyday and beds made. we hired a car from avis at the hotel that was great to they brought car to us at hotel and collected it from harbour. It was great we drove all over jersey and found some beautiful beaches and places and it so easy to drive around you can not get lost as everything is sign posted but be careful as some roads are very narrow but every one drives slow and sensible there. But it worth getting a car to see some beautiful places. will definitely go back this year again. The only disappointing thing that i could say is that the hotel need to get new beds or mattress as they are very worn and dip in the middle so found w had a bit of a back ace in the morning . The hotel is a bit dated but very clean. If beds were changed or mattress and rooms done up a little you would in my opinion be a 4 star. You have everything else right to fantastic staff great breakfast . Great location just the beds. Your staff made our holiday a good one and would return many thanks to you all at the Stafford hotel

Room Tip: Choice one at the back as can get a bit noisy at the front at night as you have a lot of restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barehamdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your thoughts about your recent holiday to Jersey and your stay at the Satfford Hotel.
I was pleased to read that overall you found the hotel and team to be to your liking and you would return again in the future.
I note your comments about the bed and mattress in room 313 and our apologies that they were not to your liking. I can confirm that steps have been taken to replace the mattress and base.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Been there for 4 days started from 14-18 April 2014
just came back to uk
well honest opinion to help understand in short

* Good Nice Little Old Hotel Clean and Tidy( Basic Hotel 2**)
* Friendly Staff make your day
* Colorful breakfast( English)
* Best location, just 5 minutes walk to any thing( town center shopping if you want any, beach front, in fact you can see that from the main entrance)
* 5 minute walk to Elizabeth Castle , main town square of ST Hillier, cinemas( Cinemax, Maritime Musuem and much more)
* FREE Wifi

Now things you need to keep in mind
wifi does not work in back areas for the hotel staff will sort this issue for you in case if you have this issue, buy a SURE SIM FREE from the shop next to the petrol station within the same street and top up 5 quid to enjoy unlimited internet for next 5 days and use it as wifi tethering to share as wifi router for others if you have a android device, i does this to keep online or do useful things like Google maps etc)

* Rooms and clean and tidy but basic so dont moan about this
* can be bit noisy if you are on the front side and no sea viewing
* break fast ends normally around 9.30 but the people around ask you before the close it so avoid going late on the last minute, better to be on time
* can be bit hot if weather is warm but windows can be open to get fresh air..:)

nothing major which i find horrible,

OVER ALL APPRECIATED AND GOOD STAYING EXPERIENCE Though i was afraid of..!

will definitely recommend, best value for your money

Room Tip: stay in the middle rooms not front not back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aamir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and pleased to hear that overall you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Stafford Hotel, St Helier.
We hope to welcome you back soon if returning to Jersey for buisness or pleasure,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were invited to attend a silver wedding party - on the August bank holiday - so we knew prices would be crazy. By packaging flights and hotel together with Channel Islands Direct, we hoped for a less painful bill. Ok maybe we didn't look too closely at the hotel details, but really the Stafford has been neglected for far too long. The lift wasn't working to take us to our 3rd floor room on the font of the hotel, so after a breathy climb up three flights we were bitterly disappointed by our bedroom. The (helpful) receptionist had told us it was one of the best in the house, but what we saw was a 70's throwback. it felt old and dirty and we were compelled to move to another hotel (The Somerrville - now there's a great hotel) and lose the money on the Stafford. We had a drink in the bar and the barman laconically chewed gum the whole time. We couldn't wait to get away.

Room Tip: Don't sleep on the front, the road is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helier hotels

Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Stafford is a bit worn but is clean and well run with a very friendly staff. It is kid friendly and bicycle friendly with a storage room just inside the entrance. Full English breakfast is a treat and servers are very attentive and friendly. Its strength is its location- right on the edge of the urban area, one long block to the beach and bike paths, yet an easy walk to shopping and restaurants.
We do Jersey as pedestrians from St Malo. The children walk their bikes onto the ferry and we rent adult bikes near the hotel. Bus system is convenient.

Room Tip: Properly sized bikes with familiar brakes and gears for children can be scarce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

While in Jersey recently I stayed at the Stafford hotel. It is a 2 Star budget hotel. I found it very clean and tidy. the staff were very friendly and very helpful. the dining room was spacious and well set out. The food was excellent. It is about a ten minute walk from the town centre and about five minute walk from the sea front. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St Helier on the island of Jersey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigjohn2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.5 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#22 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#29 of 32 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sarum Hotel
Sarum Hotel
#27 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford Hotel

Property: Stafford Hotel
Address: Kensington Place, St Helier JE2 3PA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stafford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Hotel St Helier
Stafford Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing