We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel in general”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stafford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stafford Hotel
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hotel in general”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

this was second year at Stafford,was nice to some old friendly faces in dining room and new faces at reception,as last year cant fault your rooms or breakfast,Monday night bingo and quiz a good laugh,on down side Thursday night entertainment with tony heart was worse than last year seriously think you need to look at new talent to fill that spot,throwing good money away on someone who thinks he can sing never saw the lounge empty so fast. Mrs C logie Dingwall

Room Tip: if you can get one at back away from front of hotel and road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolineduff41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review and pleased to hear this was a return visit after an enjoyable holiday in 2013.
I note your thoughts about Tony our hotel entertainer on Thursday evenings. Please be assuerd that we review our entertainment programme carefully and it is unusual to receive such negative comments, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy his singing and music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    102
    64
    23
    8
See reviews for
48
126
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
east midlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just returned from a nine night stay at the stafford. On arrival staff were very welcoming and remained so. The rooms were spacious and clean. Our bathroom was huge but the hotel does need to install a blind on the bathroom window. As everyone else has mentioned a lovely breakfast with friendly and efficient staff on hand. Towels changed regularly plenty of tea and coffee available in room. Wii Fi only for recreational use as not reliable.....which is fine just be prepared we were caught out with this as we wanted to look up restaurants etc...but again staff helped us. Great location with car park on same road and we always found a space. Some good restaurants on the same street. We had room at the back and it was very quiet. If we came back to jersey I wouldn't hesitate staying at the stafford again

Room Tip: Room 201 has huge bathroom and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastMidlandsMillie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Stafford for your 9 day holiday in Jersey. Delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel standards and the service provided by our dedicated team. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you return to Jersey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is very clean and with all the amenities that is needed for a relaxing holiday on the beautiful island of Jersey. The Breakfast is first class, whether you choose Full English or Continental. You can book the Grand Tour from reception, so you can enjoy all the sites of the island for only £20. Therefore, if you are planning on visiting Jersey in the future, keep this hotel in mind.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THEGROOVYGROUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review and that you had an enjoybale holiday in Jersey at the Stafford Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

In Jersey for the weekend for a Nerina Pallot concert at the Opera House the choice of hotels wasn't the problem but finding a reasonably priced and located one for a solo traveller in peak July time was.

The Stafford solved that with a single room at £50 per night and a location two streets from the Opera House. It was mere minutes walk to either the shopping parades one way or the sea front the other and less than ten minutes to Liberation Station where those not with a car can explore the island on various tours.

A pleasant welcome greets you, with a locked storage room available for your bags if you are too early to check in. The room was serviceable and clean with a large bathroom, and was more than enough for my needs. The TV was small but that didn't bother me. A kettle was provided with plenty of tea and coffee.

Two restaurants are affiliated with the hotel and I had a very good meal at Dorian's bistro.

All in all the hotel was great value in a perfect location for me and I'd hapilly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iwficon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Delighted to read your favourable comments about the Satfford's location, standards and service. All contributing to an enjoybale stay and you would recommend to others, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked package through Expedia paid in full just received credit card statement hotel billed again£316.01 for room be careful if you leave credit card details for bar bill awaiting refund very unhappy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I regret to hear that you were over billed for your accommdation. Please accept I sincere apologies for this most unfortunate incident which occured thorugh our front office team. I am pleased that we have quickly resolved this matter and steps have been taken to ensure that similar incidents do not occur in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a lovely hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly. We only booked for bed & breakfast (which was really good with lots of choice) so can't comment on other meals, the room was very comfortable. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilagh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Stafford Hotel for you recent trip to Jersey. Delighted to read your favourable comments and you will return next year. As a returning customer we offer very favourable room rates, please email or telephone direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just what we required, spent the holiday out & about walking.
Just brill to come back to shower before going for evening meal & a good nights sleep spot on.
Would recommend for a quiet Hotel. We only did Bed/Breakfast so can't commet on the evening meal.

Room Tip: All rooms similar, a very friendly Hotel & even better no children .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Group General Manager at Stafford Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Stafford Hotel for your recent holiday to Jersey, I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay and would recommend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.5 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#23 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalatta Guest House
Thalatta Guest House
#29 of 32 in St Helier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sarum Hotel
Sarum Hotel
#28 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mornington Hotel
Mornington Hotel
#19 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford Hotel

Property: Stafford Hotel
Address: Kensington Place, St Helier JE2 3PA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stafford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Hotel St Helier
Stafford Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing