We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
NPI338
Chester, United Kingdom

Excellent hotel for the money

Review of Stafford Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Aug 2019via mobile
So the towels have holes, the bathroom is straight out of the 1970s, there are repairs needed and there is no aircon. But, the Stafford is close to the centre of St. Helier, the windows open to give a through draft with the door propped open, there is a Morrison local just down the road, breakfast is good and above all else it is well priced by Jersey standards.
We had an excellent fortnight in Jersey and felt well rested at the end. We'll done, the Stafford team.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Radissonhotels.com
£180
  • Tripadvisor
    £180
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£131
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £131
0.3 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£199
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£179
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.5 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £154
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £138
  • Expedia.com
    £146
1.0 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £192
  • Lol.travel
    £179
  • Vio.com
0.8 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £158
  • Expedia.com
    £167
0.4 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £130
  • Expedia.com
    £142
0.8 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in St. Helier
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
102
155
103
41
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
155
103
41
24
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile


Ok so Good points first then!

Staff nice apart from one.
Button the parrot is lovely and very funny.
Breakfast good, wide variety.
Very clean sheets and bedding and towels!!
Location very good! Near to beach, 3 min walk, near to shops, 5 min walk, Morrison’s local (brilliant) cash point 3 min walk.
———————-
Bad points

It smells, cigarettes and musty old smell
Rooms extremely dated, worn and in desperate need of a makeover! Worn carpets, mold on window frames, old bathroom suites.
Beds are solid and we woke up with bad backs.

We would of moved hotels but as we had paid up front we wouldn’t of got a refund and it was busy so unable to find alternative.

We really like the location of the hotel too so we put up with it.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tinapK4375KU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

This hotel is stuck in the 1960s. Never has the saying you only get what you pay for been so true. The shower was a dribble, the tv only had access to 2 channels, the noise at the front of the hotel at night was loud. The walls are paper thin hence why I was kept awake by someone snoring. The sheets smelt stale, and the mattress felt like it too had been on the bed since the 1960s. I would class the premier inn or travel lodge as a budget hotel, this was way worse. The clientele reflects the quality of this hotel on a positive note it is in a great location and staff were accommodating. This place wants updating or demolishing.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank zoey772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

Just arrived for a long weekend. The hotel looks and feels tired. It’s just not good overall. The bed is max 1.20m wide, not acceptable for a double room... the tv is over 20 years old and the mix of colours used for tiles, wall etc indicate that there was no other intention than cost avoidance the driver for the decisions... I better stop writing ... I really don’t know how the second star has been achieved ...
the Lift is not for the feint hearted either.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank nemolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2019

This trip was intended to be part of a special birthday celebration and was an Easy Jet package deal.
Having read some mixed reviewws, we were hoping the more positive ones were correct.
After negotiating the car parking situation ( more later ) we found room 401, stangely but conveniently on the ground floor.
To say this room was tired or dated would understate the matter entirely. There can have been no investment for at least 40 years. From the Avocado suite with contrasting white plastic seat to the pedal-less plastic pedal bin and small tube t/v it was firmly stuck in the late 60's and only outdone for charm by the view of bins and buckets from our 'best' window. The other only showed the wall 4' away.
The floorboards creaked loudly, but not as loudly as the ones directly overhead, which ensured we were woken by every nocturnal movement and early rise (never later than 6.30 am ) of the people in the room above.
One corner of the bathroom did not look as if it had been cleaned for years, though in the main the rest of the room was clean enough and serviced daily.
The shower was unuseable due to the clogged shower head, but my compaint led to some improvement.
The entire hotel was full or I would have at least tried for a room change.
Tea and coffee tray was adequate and topped up most days. The breakfast was very good, but the plates were inadeqately small, in what I suppose was a cost saving exercise.
Car parking is in a mult -story which can be accessed from the road outside the hotel if coming from the sea direction, but not directly if parked by the hotel, due to the one way system.
Payment for this is in 1 or 2 hour units between 08.00 and 17.00, free on Sundays.
Tickets are from garages/supermarkets ( one of which is between the coast road and the hotel) in 1 or two hour units, singley or in books of 10. Parlking from 4pm till 10am next day therefore requires two tickets, timing denoted by a scratchcard system. This also applies to other parking around the town and island, though there is also a lot of free parking out of town.
Overall our room ( can't speak for others ) barely rated one star, only the breakfast and staff meritted more.
Location deserves consideration, but not perhaps for anything special unless it is nostalgia based.

Room tip: Avoid ground floor rooms
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2019

Booked a room then got a call saying the website price was incorrect so I was going to be charged an extra 25 a night, after I’d made the booking.

The hotel is extremely grim and dated. The room was very old fashioned.

Unable to close window as the handle had fallen off and was missing.

Shower didn’t work, stayed in constant extreme hot from the basic mixer taps.

Curtains wouldn’t close cos the legs were missing to attach it to close fully.

Beds very uncomfortable. Pillows very flat, almost non existent.

Constant smell in the hotel of tobacco from somewhere. Also, smokers hang around in doorway, their smoke blows directly into the hotel.

Pealing sink fitting, with insects inside it!! Around the wash basin!.

Plus. To get 2 stars - Solid breakfast with lots of choice. And the location is good.

Cost to comfort ratio is zero.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Deano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews