We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
MattKeats1988
Manchester, United Kingdom

You get what you pay for - but improvement needed

Review of Stafford Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Sept 2021
Firstly it is worth noting the staff here are really helpful and friendly. If you are respectful to them - and I witnessed some customers were not - then they go out of their way to assist.

Some of the reviews on here moaning about the room sizes and facilities are not fair. This is a two star hotel and you get what you pay for. If you want 5 star, get your wallet out and pay for it, or stop complaining. The breakfast is fine with great choice for 2 star, even if the dining room is like a 1970s old people's home.

That said, there were some very simple and inexpensive things that could be done to make the place look less tired and shabby. On arrival the steps of the entrance were dusty - these would take two minutes max to sweep. The lobby is tatty and just removing some of the rubbish ornaments and rugs would improve it instantly. Just a coat of more lively coloured paint in most rooms would revive the place, as would taking down all the old cheap pictures on the wall.

It would be nice to have some local guides or history books on the shelf of the lounge rather than generic tacky Reader's Digest collectors editions and bad chick lit. This would add local character and be useful for what is basically a stop off eat and sleep place for those wanting to enjoy the island inexpensively.

I think this is a reasonable hotel and I felt safe and content staying here, even if it was not the most comfortable. The owners could help emphasise this as a place of pleasant simplicity by making those very easy and inexpensive changes.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £225
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £172
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £149
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Radissonhotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £196
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £188
  • Booking.com
0.7 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £138
  • Booking.com
1.0 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £202
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £256
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £133
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Stafford Hotel
Free parking
Pool
PremierInn.com
£63
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 miles from Stafford Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in St. Helier
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
102
155
103
41
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
155
103
41
24
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

Got Room 311. Such the worst room ever. The room is really small, old and not nice at all. TV got only one channel?? The worst part is the bathroom, such a tiny box and no sink in the bathroom?? The shower head didn’t stay in place and gave mess everywhere!!! Staff wasn’t helpful. Went to ask for room change and just been told there was unavailable. Well it wasn’t that cheap as we stayed in Primer Inn with same price and we got such a lovely room there. Unfortunately, they were full so we had to leave and found somewhere else. Sadly nowhere is available but this suck place.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sreydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2021

First the good point i) good breakfast..
We stayed here because their web site boast a resteurant and bar. untrue both were closed. when we ask staff, it is because this place is closing down- yet they are still taking bookings.
So my thoughts are misrepresentation on their.
web site, taking money under false pretences??
We stayed in room 310 - bed uncomfortable
bathroom. very small ,the mixer shower, you could either scald yourself or cold .shower.
For eating we were told we could dine in their sister hotel the revere- but were fully booked.
If we knew all this prior we would not have booked

Room tip: Do not book this hotel as they are closing down, no bar or restaurant, certainly refuse room 301.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank svenglide2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

Stayed here at short notice for two nights. Central location but staff are indifferent. Room was overly hot, no fan available and very noisy, not least of all from staff. Room was adequate but the splash back on the sink was filthy, never been cleaned. If you want cheap and are too drunk to care when you get back, this is the place to go, otherwise avoid! Breakfast was ok, staff on duty were attentive.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 206lize
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

On arrival poo in toilet bowl lookd like been there a while, extractor fan not working no window phew !
Asked to move was told lady owner does not like to do that even though empty rooms ? room was awful .dirty staind an smelly carpets .kettle by tea an coffee facilities no socket ? Had to plug in on window sill .
Ignore reviews that say worth money bit tired etc .it is awful.

Room tip: Apollo hotel nice good price central and has a pool
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Explore821854
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

We were a little concerned upon reading reviews when we booked to stay here. Yes, the hotel is dated, worn and in need of a bit of modernisation. We found out whilst staying here that the hotel and its sister hotel down the road have been threatened with a compulsory purchase order which maybe why they are not able to spend on upgrading the rooms.
However we found the hotel clean, very friendly and helpful staff and the breakfast is amazing! The location is spot on, 5 minutes to the beach and town centre, which more than outweighs the tired decor!
If you want to holiday in jersey and don't want to spend a fortune on somewhere to basically lay your head at night, I would recommend this quaint cosy little old fashioned hotel.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank karencL843VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews