We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on a great island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great hotel on a great island”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I can't speak too highly of this place. The staff are the most friendly and helpful I have ever met, the grounds are beautiful, the food is excellent, the rooms are fine and overall you are made to feel very welcome and special. The place has a large free car park, free wifi in public areas. a nice bar lounge, decent free entertainment on a couple of nights, two outdoor swimming pools and an outdoor hot tub. There is a free courtesy bus down to St Helier town, otherwise a bus (19) stops very near. The gardens are beautifully maintained and as well as the pools and tub there is a table tennis table, kids play area and loads of space. We went half board and you only pay £10 a night for a 3 course dinner if booked in advance - bargain. We went in April but later in the year we understand there is entertainment most nights. There is also an indoor games room with a pool table (£1 a game). The only minor quibble I had (and it's very minor) is that whereas the swimming pools are heated in the summer they weren't when we stayed. However, we benefited from the hotel not being too busy so we had very attentive service. I can't recommend this place too highly

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    96
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
146
133
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

a great hotel if you like large gardens, good pool, peaceful location, great bar with low key entertainment, and the wonderful owners pets large dogs which all three of us did !.
Perhaps the room could have been larger and the food slightly more international. We liked it because it felt very relaxing.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank robertelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My family and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the westhill hotel. The hotel is very comfortable and has a lovely friendly atmosphere..Everywhere is spotlessly clean. The staff are some of the nicest I have come across and nothing was too much trouble for them.As for the food it was delicious, although we only booked B&B we ate in the hotel almost every night because as well as the food being so nice the prices were reasonable too. Add to that beautiful gardens, swimming pool ,hot tub. childrens pool and play area, hotel bus into town if needed. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janet040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We decided to stay here after reading so many good reviews. I can confirm they weren't wrong! Everything was just as we expected hense my 5 star rating for all the review areas.

All the staff we met were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. This started when I booked and Lauren was so helpful in accomodating my family and mother in rooms close together. We booked half board and due to our time of arrival, moving the first nights dinner to the day we checked out was no problem. Staff seem empowered to make decisions without having to refer to managers, or quote policy, which is so refreshing.

I personally think it's popularity is because it fills the gap between the Premier Inn style budget hotel and the large corporates such as Novotel and Hilton, rated as 4 star hotels. The facilities at Westhill are no less and this is officially a 2 star! This is the type of hotel my parents took me to more years ago than I care to remember. Why? Because I could see my kids making new friends, playing in the extensive gardens, family evening entertainment, good food...the list goes on.

We met so many who were on their 3rd or 4th return visit, and we will join them next year. The formula is simple and that is why it's the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilkoCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Have just got back from the Westhill Hotel. It is friendly and grounds are great with a swiming pool . More suitable for families.
Food excellent. Evening meal fab and I would recommend you go half-board.
The hotel has a bus which takes you into town as well as the local number 19 bus. You can walk into town - it takes about 20 minutes but walking back can be a problem unless you are mega fit. Taxi cost £7 from the capital
Jersey was a nice place to go on holiday but the weather spoilt it as we only had 3 out of 7 nice days in the midlle of August.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Stayed in July 2010 with partner and our teenage son, this revisit follows excellent holiday in 2009. Had a great time and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank oftentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Our first visit to the Channel Islands and we had a great time. Hotel is a lovely mix of friendliness and exceptional service, probably the best I have come across. If you eat in the restaurant you will find a good standard of food with plenty of choice and very reasonable charge for drinks. The grounds are good, quite extensive with a good pool and my kids loved playing pool by the pool too! Free internet access in the bar as well was very welcome. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanceMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.9 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Property: Westhill Country Hotel
Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St Helier JE2 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing