We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We know Jersey well but this was our first time at this hotel. We will certainly go again as the food is excellent and service friendly and prompt. There are lovely gardens at the back, with a swimming pool and changing rooms as well as a hot tub and children's play area. I have some difficulty with stairs so requested a lower floor room as there is no lift. I found the stairs quite gentle and managed without much trouble. Altogether we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nigelGreatYarmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    95
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
146
133
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Lovely hotel, the grandkiddies enjoyed it and the food was good. The only thing we were disappointed with was our room. We were expecting the grandchildrens bunk beds to be in a different room as illustrated, but there was no segregation at all. Beds were comfy and rooms clean but rather dated and especially the ensuite. Having no lifts to the bedrooms proved difficult for us but we managed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We are just back from our second visit to the Westhill, and I’m more then pleased to report that it was just as good as the first time!

Everything from booking to departure meets or exceeds expectations. I won’t repeat all I said last year, other than to say all the staff are wonderful, friendly and look after you with a genuine warmth and willingness. You don’t find that anywhere else in my experience, even in hotels that claim a much higher star rating! Our only disappointments this year were the weather, which was unusually damp for August in Jersey and missing the bingo/games evening which happened a day early before our arrival on Sunday. I can genuinely say my 10 year old had been looking forward to that for months! Hey ho, that was soon forgotten as they made new friends, played in the pool and outdoor games in the garden . In fact despite the weather they were in the pool everyday either before or after going out for the day.

We don’t normally go to the same place twice, let alone the same hotel and even room! But we will seriously consider going again next summer, and if your reading this and thinking of going, then go you won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: Book room 116 for a family, this has dual aspect and a window in the bathroom, also handy for the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilkoCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Five of my family stayed here we were aged 12-72 and all loved the hotel,its a very special place, extremely good value for money and I didn't want to leave at the end of the week!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauljonlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The hotel is in a perfect spot, on the outskirts of st helier, but close enough to walk into town which we did a few times. The room was clean and comfortable, a good night's sleep, our son had bunk beds in our room. The hotel has wonderful facilities for a family, so the room is only used for sleep.....outdoor pools which we loved, sitting poolside on the sun beds soaking up the afternoon sun, outdoor table tennis, pool table and tablefootball ....brilliant. There is also a family games room inside, kids films shown every evening, boardgames to borrow and a lovely park where little ones can play.
We only had breakfast as we ate out each night, the hotel staff are all so friendly and helpful, and the food fresh and a wide choice of breakfast, the breakfast is served unto 9.30which was perfect after our busy day ay Elizabeth castle!
We loved the dogs who loved the attention from the guests, you can't resist cuddling these giant teddybears!
Good idea to use 'do not disturb 'signs as the hotel staff do not mind if you would prefer your room not to be tidyed each morning, and the noise level is no different to any other hotel we have stayed in.
Plenty of parking, we hired a car and knew there would be plenty of room on our return. go to zebra car hire, so helpful with plenty of choice, better than euro car at the ferry port who couldn't hire a car on the same day and couldn't say if they would have anything the next day either!!!! Zebra car hire is very near the jersey tourism building. The bus station were also very helpful.
We went to moonlit battle of flowers,the most amazing experience, fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

A great location away from busy St Helier. A very welcoming and friendly hotel were staff can't do enough for you. Myself and husband had a standard room overlooking the gardens and pool.Very picturesque. The room was spotless, slightly dated,but bed comfy and cleaned every day with fresh towels.Good Mira shower also. Couldn't fault it's cleanliness. Breakfast was good. Cooked breakfast was v.good along with a range of cereals,fruit etc.We didn't have evening meal as we ate before we came back to hotel after our days out. 3 lovely dogs roam (we don't have a dog) about but just blend in with the surroundings. Most people there had been before and some return year after year. It is nice to have a mixture of country and coast. I highly recommend this hotel. It is classed as a 2 star but has more to offer than more expensive hotels on the island. A courtesy bus runs into St Helier from the Hotel which is an added plus and very handy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowe_d8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is our third year now at The Westhill Matthew John and all the staff very friendly and helpful, nice rooms one for ourselves and one for teenage son,good menu with lots of choice.Would still highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank oftentravel186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
696 reviews
1.9 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,724 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Property: Westhill Country Hotel
Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St Helier JE2 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing