We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westhill Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Inn Boutique(St Helier)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa(St Helier)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Hotel(St Helier)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Revere Hotel(St Helier)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Hotel(St Helier)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
286
109
30
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
109
30
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy bushot tubred squirrelsour waiterwest hilltable tennisminibus servicegarden furnitureevening entertainmentno liftrestaurant managernothing is too much troublelovely weekgreat holidayfamily holidayfirst classhalf board
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We booked a last minute 4 night break to Jersey for my husband, me and our two children aged 4 & 6. Having booked cheap flights we were struggling to find a decent hotel that could accomodate us in one room and then came across the Westhill who had a family room available. Based on the reviews the hotel had had we decided to go for it.

I'll start with the positives - the staff are very friendly and helpful and the minibus service that uns into town is a great little service. The hotel grounds are beautiful and exceptionally well kept and the pool area is very attractive and clean.

Despite the above good points we were disappointed with our stay for the following reasons:

1. The restaurant is totally uninspiring. The food is ok, but just ok and the children's menu needs updating as it is just nuggets, fish fingers, pizza, burger, hotdog, etc, all with chips. On half board you are given a set table which you sit at for breakfast and dinner for your whole stay and you therefore are served by the same staff member every am and pm. For us this made the whole dining experience repetitive and dull, not helped by the fact that they seemed on a mission to get your meal over with as fast as possible rather than letting you relax and rest between courses.

2. Our room. Having seen the hotel pictures online we had high hopes for our family room which had a double and full size bunk beds for our kids. In reality our room (number 12) did have a double bed and bunk beds but that left NO floor space in the room. The bunk beds went across the windows so the room always felt gloomy and dark. On the plus side the room was cleaned very well every day and i was able to old my little boy's hand at night without either of us leaving our own bed!

3. The pool. The web site for the hotel said the two pools were heated but they were absolutely freezing! Our children did go in twice in our four nights there but for very short spells as they started to shake and go purple from the cold! Granted we did not have great weather for our stay but had the pool been heated to any sensible degree our swimming crazy children cold have enjoyed the pool regardless.

Overall we felt that the hotel was very dated and needs some attention. The staff however were
Lovely and deserve a great deal of credit and the restaurant manager stands out as one of the best. I don't like critisizing things but i wanted to be honest about what we thought about his hotel as our expectations had been good based on the reviews we read before we went.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad to hear you found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel prides itself in great service and courtesy.

You mention the restaurant is totally uninspiring. We have gone to great lengths and expense to create what most guests find relaxed, informal and pleasant surrounding. I’m sorry to hear this did not work for you. Our table d’Hote menu comprises of a selection of 3 starters, 5 main courses and 5 desserts which changes each and every day. Children’s menu as you rightly mention have a choice of fish fingers, pizza, burger, hotdogs etc. There is also the choice of fresh vegetables and potatoes which are served daily. There’s nothing to stop children ordering from the main menu. All you had to do was ask. I also appreciate some guests prefer to sit longer and take breaks between courses. Did it not occur to you to mention to your server or the Restaurant manager that you would like a break before the next course.

Taking into account you were a late booking. Yes some rooms are bigger then others. If you had mentioned to reception that you were not happy with your room we could of offered you an alternative.

Out door swimming pools are heated from May to September. Our 20 meter pool is set at 25 degrees and hot tub spa 37 degrees at the beginning of each day.

I have passed your nice comments onto the staff and especially Nelo our Restaurant Manager. It’s just as shame that your dissatisfaction towards the hotel was not brought to our attention at the time of your stay. These issues would have been dealt & recertified immediately.

Should you decide to return to Jersey please contact me personally and I’ll see to it that you and your family’s next visit will be a good one.

Jonathan Smale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Thank you to everyone at the Westhill for making our stay so enjoyable. The hotel is a delight - beautiful gardens, fantastic pool area, excellent and varied food and staff who cannot do enough for you.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank Barr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The rooms are no frills basic, no hairdryer, two measly sachets of shower gel - which is a nuisance when you consider that some people like us must come with hand luggage so cannot bring their own.
The garden is just lovely as is the pool area, they won a jersey tourism best garden in the hotel category last year and I can see why.
The dining room is very depressing, they don't open the windows at breakfast time so it is stuffy and they rely on ceiling fans. The breakfast we thought was poor, skinny bits of bacon and horrid sausages.
They do run a courtesy bus and the staff seem to be very friendly and helpful.
You may wonder why I am complaining about the basic facilities but for £120 a night I would have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CSPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my two youngest children for three days. Would normally never consider a two star hotel, so was a little nervous. The staff at this hotel exceeded my expectations, allowing us to borrow buckets, spades, lilos and a paddle board for our beach trip. Assisted us with numerous queries and allowed us a courtesy room to change when we were due to depart. Breakfast was adequate as were the evening meals, I am a very fussy eater but there was always something on the menu I could select, no it isnt a la carte, but perfectly acceptable. Staff in the restaurant are super efficient, friendly and polite, it is a nice idea to have the same table throughout your stay as well. The grounds are wonderful, beautifully kept and are vast, great for evening walks. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were great for the children as were the table tennis, table football and pool table. Our room was basic but very clean, had everything in there that we needed, except perhaps air conditioning (It was very hot!). This is a truly fabulous hotel that has the most amazing staff and management, (five star hotels could learn a lesson or two here) we cannot thank you enough for making our stay such a wonderful one. Thanks also to Lena for the use of "Panda"!
A hotel we will most definately return too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gillypops474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

First time at the hotel. Accomodation is very much in line with star rating, however it is the family feel of the place which makes all of the difference. Nothing was too much trouble, including running people into town at odd times (we had to catch a boat in the early morning). Nice to have an English breakfast cooked from scratch. Something sadly missing from most hotels these days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews