We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super family time!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We first stayed at the Westhill in 2004 and have been back every year since. This year was different as we had the whole family with us, including our youngest grandchildren (2&1/2 & 18months) and our greeting and accommodation was just what we wanted to start our holiday. ALL staff were exceptional and our restaurant service from Nelo and our waiter Fabio super, nothing too much trouble regarding the children who had never been in this situation and a bit apprehensive but soon settled thanks to all the help from the staff. Excellent housekeepng from Fatima and her crew. Entertainment good and if you did not want to take part you could go to a different part of hotel and relax doing your own thing with no feelings of being a misery for not being part of entertainment. Up to you to take part or not! Had a car so did not use mini bus but would do so if needed as it is an excellent facility not many hotels provide free of charge! Now saving up to take family again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

A late-ish booking saw us arrive at Westhill Country Hotel. Having worked at a hotel in the 1990's I could see that not a lot had changed from my experiences when we checked in here.

The hotel just wasn't really for us...not that there was anything particularly wrong with what we saw or experienced, but was definately stuck in a time warp.

Starting with the room, it was dated and in need of a re-vamp, the shower and bath was in need of updating (shower was tempremental and went from cold to red hot back to cold again), the amenities were relatively sparse and the mattress was on the uncomfortable side (have to mention that we have a super king size bed at home, so anything less will always be a compromise). That said, it was spotless and cleaned to a very high standard every day.

We went for the half board option as we didn't want the hassle of having to find a suitable restaurant every night having not been to the island before. The food was nice, well presented and tasty. Previous reviews have commented on feeling rushed....The restaurant staff were definately super efficient (we counted 36 seconds between ordering our deserts and receiving them!) but it was great for us as our daughter has the abillity to sit still for about an hour at the best of times... Having the same table every evening wasn't an issue for us and it enabled us to get to know our waiter Fabio, who was very helpful and kind to our little girl. Nothing was too much trouble for the waiting staff or restaurant manager.

Once dinner had been finished, there were entertainment options available to the guests - nothing wrong with what was provided, but again these weren't really for us.

The grounds and swimming pool area were very good, it is just a shame that our trip co-incided with some pretty horrendous weather so we couldn't enjoy them to the full.

It is clear that this hotel benefits from regular and repeat custom as the staff were keen to greet guests who they had met from previous years. I can understand why some people would come back to this hotel year after year (we go to the same hotel in Tenerife most years), but whilst we will come back to Jersey, we will probably go to a more modern hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Camera_Smasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Have just returned from a fabulous 9 night break at the Westhill Country Hotel. It was our first visit to this Hotel and being only 2 stars were bit apprehensive. We were greeted by very friendly Reception Staff who helped taking our cases to the room. The room was bright, airy, very comfortable and kept very clean throughout our stay. The Restaurant was lovely and the food (3 course set menu) was excellent with great variety (I am quite a fussy eater - but had 3 courses each night of our stay), The breakfasts were also excellent with great choices as well as the full English. It was excellent having the same table for breakfast and dinner and our Waiter, Carlos, was a real gentleman who served us very efficiently and courteously. The Head Waiter, Nelo is also a real character and would also like to thank him for arranging a lovely Birthday Cake for the evening of my Birthday!!! The pool area and gardens are all beautifully clean and immaculately kept. This Hotel is run by a fabulous Family Management Team who are all very friendly and make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them or their team of fabulous staff who all very friendly and courteous. The dogs, Rosie, Daisy and Monty were gorgeous too as were the chickens, budgies, red squirrels and fish!!! We will definately be returning to the Westhill and will also recommend to family and friends :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllesmerePortPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We booked a last minute 4 night break to Jersey for my husband, me and our two children aged 4 & 6. Having booked cheap flights we were struggling to find a decent hotel that could accomodate us in one room and then came across the Westhill who had a family room available. Based on the reviews the hotel had had we decided to go for it.

I'll start with the positives - the staff are very friendly and helpful and the minibus service that uns into town is a great little service. The hotel grounds are beautiful and exceptionally well kept and the pool area is very attractive and clean.

Despite the above good points we were disappointed with our stay for the following reasons:

1. The restaurant is totally uninspiring. The food is ok, but just ok and the children's menu needs updating as it is just nuggets, fish fingers, pizza, burger, hotdog, etc, all with chips. On half board you are given a set table which you sit at for breakfast and dinner for your whole stay and you therefore are served by the same staff member every am and pm. For us this made the whole dining experience repetitive and dull, not helped by the fact that they seemed on a mission to get your meal over with as fast as possible rather than letting you relax and rest between courses.

2. Our room. Having seen the hotel pictures online we had high hopes for our family room which had a double and full size bunk beds for our kids. In reality our room (number 12) did have a double bed and bunk beds but that left NO floor space in the room. The bunk beds went across the windows so the room always felt gloomy and dark. On the plus side the room was cleaned very well every day and i was able to old my little boy's hand at night without either of us leaving our own bed!

3. The pool. The web site for the hotel said the two pools were heated but they were absolutely freezing! Our children did go in twice in our four nights there but for very short spells as they started to shake and go purple from the cold! Granted we did not have great weather for our stay but had the pool been heated to any sensible degree our swimming crazy children cold have enjoyed the pool regardless.

Overall we felt that the hotel was very dated and needs some attention. The staff however were
Lovely and deserve a great deal of credit and the restaurant manager stands out as one of the best. I don't like critisizing things but i wanted to be honest about what we thought about his hotel as our expectations had been good based on the reviews we read before we went.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad to hear you found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel prides itself in great service and courtesy.

You mention the restaurant is totally uninspiring. We have gone to great lengths and expense to create what most guests find relaxed, informal and pleasant surrounding. I’m sorry to hear this did not work for you. Our table d’Hote menu comprises of a selection of 3 starters, 5 main courses and 5 desserts which changes each and every day. Children’s menu as you rightly mention have a choice of fish fingers, pizza, burger, hotdogs etc. There is also the choice of fresh vegetables and potatoes which are served daily. There’s nothing to stop children ordering from the main menu. All you had to do was ask. I also appreciate some guests prefer to sit longer and take breaks between courses. Did it not occur to you to mention to your server or the Restaurant manager that you would like a break before the next course.

Taking into account you were a late booking. Yes some rooms are bigger then others. If you had mentioned to reception that you were not happy with your room we could of offered you an alternative.

Out door swimming pools are heated from May to September. Our 20 meter pool is set at 25 degrees and hot tub spa 37 degrees at the beginning of each day.

I have passed your nice comments onto the staff and especially Nelo our Restaurant Manager. It’s just as shame that your dissatisfaction towards the hotel was not brought to our attention at the time of your stay. These issues would have been dealt & recertified immediately.

Should you decide to return to Jersey please contact me personally and I’ll see to it that you and your family’s next visit will be a good one.

Jonathan Smale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Thank you to everyone at the Westhill for making our stay so enjoyable. The hotel is a delight - beautiful gardens, fantastic pool area, excellent and varied food and staff who cannot do enough for you.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank Barr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The rooms are no frills basic, no hairdryer, two measly sachets of shower gel - which is a nuisance when you consider that some people like us must come with hand luggage so cannot bring their own.
The garden is just lovely as is the pool area, they won a jersey tourism best garden in the hotel category last year and I can see why.
The dining room is very depressing, they don't open the windows at breakfast time so it is stuffy and they rely on ceiling fans. The breakfast we thought was poor, skinny bits of bacon and horrid sausages.
They do run a courtesy bus and the staff seem to be very friendly and helpful.
You may wonder why I am complaining about the basic facilities but for £120 a night I would have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CSPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my two youngest children for three days. Would normally never consider a two star hotel, so was a little nervous. The staff at this hotel exceeded my expectations, allowing us to borrow buckets, spades, lilos and a paddle board for our beach trip. Assisted us with numerous queries and allowed us a courtesy room to change when we were due to depart. Breakfast was adequate as were the evening meals, I am a very fussy eater but there was always something on the menu I could select, no it isnt a la carte, but perfectly acceptable. Staff in the restaurant are super efficient, friendly and polite, it is a nice idea to have the same table throughout your stay as well. The grounds are wonderful, beautifully kept and are vast, great for evening walks. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were great for the children as were the table tennis, table football and pool table. Our room was basic but very clean, had everything in there that we needed, except perhaps air conditioning (It was very hot!). This is a truly fabulous hotel that has the most amazing staff and management, (five star hotels could learn a lesson or two here) we cannot thank you enough for making our stay such a wonderful one. Thanks also to Lena for the use of "Panda"!
A hotel we will most definately return too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gillypops474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St Helier
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 30 in St Helier
789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St Helier
2,094 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St Helier JE2 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £75 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing