We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice break”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Overall, a very good stay. The hotel is a bit old, but our connecting rooms (for a family of 6) were big and very clean. The staff was very friendly, quite international as everybody seemed to come from a different country. The breakfast and diner were very good. Our children enjoyed the huge garden with a pond, a playground, various animals... The jacuzzi was nice, but the pool was way too cold for us in May. There were not many families, most other customers were older, but we still felt very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    99
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
151
137
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

just returned from hols in jersey, the westhill was a good hotel, staff very friendlyand polite, the grounds are stunning,the food good, but the rooms need up dating,shower is in the bath so you have to climb in and out, not good if you have any disabilitys or getting on a bit, they were also hit and miss weather you got a hot shower. all in all a most enjoyable time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kippax,
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

When me and my wife got there we were given a room on the first floor a twin en suit which we asked for it was very small,and i mean tiny i wanted to complain but she said we only sleep here, with 1 case on the dressing table and one at the end of her bed to open the wardrobe you had to move the case,the room was [about] 11 feet x 11feet, with a ensuit about 5 feet x 7 feet i would call it a single room, but it was clean, and had good beds.
We went to the dinning hall for evening meal it was very good wonderful staff, breakfast, [brill]very good loads of choice,the entertainment at night very good the pool very clean lots of space and sun beds it said the pool was heated but to me it was not[ but not very cold just a little heated] it could be more heated, [jersey is very expensive]The one thing i think really let it down was the price of drinks very very expensive

Room Tip: ask for a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawkeyeKippax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Have just returned from 5th visit to Jersey and 4th stay at Westhill. The hotel continues to go from strengh to strength with the decor, food and entertainment. Matthew, Jonathan and Lena are first class hosts and nothing is to much trouble for them. This clearly has a great impact on their staff who are so friendly, helpful and willing to assist. Everyone from the moment we entered reception made our stay so enjoyable. Our waiter was very efficient, the food well cooked, hot and a varied choice, the girls at the bar always had a smile on their face and the standard of cleanlness was excellent. We asked for a downstairs room due to walking problems and couldn't have been any nearer. To do so we would have been sleeping in reception! Thank you so much Sofia.
The large car park is a bonus as parking is non exsistant at some hotels on the island.
The restuarant manager is also very on the ball, we had been seated by a window which caused some problems getting in and out of, as soon as another table became vacant he asked if we would like to move. We did and were able to keep the same waiter who was so efficient.
Why people feel the need to critise this hotel on minor things like firmness of beds,standard of food, service in restaurant amuses me. These are all personal preferences and as we all know it wouldn't do for us all to be the same.
Having stayed a another hotel on the island which was a 3 star I chose to return to Westhill because of the standards they have.
Over the past 8 years I have seen numerous changes to the hotel and can only applaud them on what has been achived so far. It is also good to see the same staff returning year after year.
This must be a good sign that the managment are a great team-not something you find too often these days.
Keep up the great work Westhill-you have a fantastic hotel and a great team of staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The rooms are in need of modernisation the beds aren’t great and the shower was temperamental (You will dance in and out as the temperature goes from hot to cold and on some occasions the water would just stop coming out!). But all that didn’t seem to matter as the hotel staff are friendly and the service is good although the breakfast buffet and dinner was average. Most of the guests staying here are retired so if you’re looking for a quiet stay then this is the place. We had a lovely view of the pool and gardens from our room and they are also well worth using and exploring. The hotel and pool were cleaned every morning and our rooms were also spotless, if only a little dated. Some people have mentioned about the hospital incinerator and sewage works and this was a concern for us but must admit they don’t matter. You can’t see or smell the sewage works and the incinerator chimney is not used but you can see it, which can come in handy when you’re trying to find your way back to the hotel. The entertainment provided is good but not to my taste. The docile dogs are lovely and an asset to the hotel. Good car park provided with plenty of room. Location is set about 20 mins walk from St Helier but is a very steep walk up a hill to get to the hotel. If your young and fit it’s not a problem if you want to have dinner and few drinks out in St Helier but if not a courtesy bus runs down to the town at set times. If you’re not planning on spending much time at the hotel and are on budget then I would recommend the West Hill. If your looking for action/dancing/drinking etc then this is not for you.

Room Tip: No lift so make sure you dont get top floor if you struggle with stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salvador76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just returned from a lovely 4 day break, no complaints about this hotel, yes it isn't the most modern hotel and the floorboards squeak, but everyone was having a great time, Entertainment was better than expected, especially the classical guitarist who put on an extremely professional show. Most guests had been before which is always a good sign. Keep up th good work and thanks again for taking care of us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We first stayed at the Westhill back in 2009 and were delighted to return to this lovely hotel again in 2012.
On arrival we were warmly greeted by the reception staff and shown to our family room on the first floor. The room was clean and spacious with a double bed and bunks with a garden view.

We stayed on a half board basis, and once again the food at this hotel was excellent, offering a good choice and variety of dishes. The waiting staff were friendly, attentive and professional.
Whilst we were staying, my husband celebrated his birthday. I had asked the hotel in advance if they could provide a bottle of wine and a cake in the evening for him, which they did. The cake was amazing!
Nothing ever seems to be too much trouble for the staff here - they really do go that extra mile to make your stay stress-free, relaxing and enjoyable.

I personally found the pool a bit chilly at first but I soon got used to it and I was able to warm up in the hot tub after a good swim!
The boys enjoyed spashing around in the pool and made good use of the play area and sand pit. There is plenty of space for children to run around safely and play a game of football without disturbing other guests.
The poolside bar offers free towels for pool use only and is also a good place to get a drink and order snacks. Staff regularly walk around the pool side asking if they can get you any drinks, snacks or extra towels.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained, offering secluded spots to sit quietly.

The hotel's courtesy bus into St Helier runs efficiently with friendly and knowledgable drivers. Once in the town centre you are able to catch clean and reliable public transport to any area of this beautiful island.

We were all sorry to leave and will definately return to this wonderful little gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Definately worth paying the extra supplement for a pool view or garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEJC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
724 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,853 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,589 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
713 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Property: Westhill Country Hotel
Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St Helier JE2 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing