We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“super hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just back from Westhills Country Hotel after another great holiday,hotel super as usual .This is our 4th time here and never fails to come up to standard.Food good ,plenty of it too much for me and the staff in the restaurant especially Carlos great .All staff and managers ,nothing too much bother and very willing to help in any way they could.Very frendly.Lovely big room and lovely pool and gardens.
Some of the guests felt that it was a bit outside St Helier but a courtesy bus is provided.
Hope to back again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of hotel and side are cooler when it is very hot.Rooms overlooking pool and garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    95
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
146
133
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S.E. England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our family party covered three generations and, as requested, we were given adjoining rooms. This was our third visit to the hotel and we were reminded just how good a hotel it is: it may be a two star hotel according to the Jersey ratings, but it's the equal of four star hotels abroad. The friendly staff all 'go the extra mile' to help and offer useful advice on holiday activities based on their local knowledge. The award-winning garden is beautiful and extensive, planted with wonderful flowers, palms and trees. The children enjoyed the koi carp pond, the tame chickens, the budgies and the quails (on request we had quails' eggs for a starter one evening). They loved the two dogs, Monty and Daisy, who are more like soppy doormats and love to be patted. We spent a happy time in the pool and the jacuzzi. The food was good and the dining room service helpful. Although we hired a car, we used the hotel shuttle several times to go to and from St. Helier. Perhaps our only quibble is that the menu repeats itself after a week, but there are choices on the menu anyway. This holiday was really good value for money. All credit to the staff for their efforts: we look forward to going back. Judging from the comments in the guest book, we're not alone in loving this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

First time at hotel. Found everything to be first class. Pool area and grounds lovely for a relaxing time anytime of day. Room large and very clean and comfortable. Good food, and all staff more than helpful, especially Fabio, a real star and his comedian pal Carlos in the restaurant.
Hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank spartanfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just returned from a short break at this hotel having chosen it based on its high popularity ratings.
Definately made the right choice for me. From the warm welcome when l arrived to the efficiency and friendliness of the staff l was very impressed. Good food, lovely comfortable room overlooking the stunning gardens and a happy atmosphere throughout. Would certainly stay here again, thank you .

Room Tip: Got to be a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank margy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

First time to Jersey, came to this 3 star hotel with family and grandparents. The hotel is quite an old building, but nevertheless it is well maintained and well furnished (just creaky floorboards, but not a problem!). The grounds are lovely, and there is also a pool/jacuzzi which was great.

They run a shuttle bus everyday between the hotel and St. Hillier Liberation Station (9.30am, 1pm, 4pm) which is very useful - if there are too many people to fit on the bus in either direction then it will do the run again (otherwise just runs once), but there is also a normal bus which takes you relatively close to the hotel if required.

The hotel puts on entertainment most nights (bar Friday) which was all pretty good. Didn't see much of the owners but they were friendly enough. And our waiter, Carlos, was fantastic - quick, courteous, friendly and very funny. The manager nelo was also great. Food was also good with a wide variety.

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

first time at this hotel will hopefully be back could not find any fault with it .....food was great....staff were really good....had a nice single room which is hard to get in most hotels...felt relaxed and homely....the service at meal times was excellent Carlos was efficient and courteous a delight to be served by .....drivers on tours were very good would recommend a half day at the war tunnels. hope very much to be back. as still a lot to see.....forgot to say the gardens at this hotel are lovely too so very relaxing.

Room Tip: overlooking the pools and garden is lovely, single rooms best I have had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank eebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

i am always amazed that it doesn't,t matter how many times We visit The Westjill Hotel the great management and staff still make it feel special. The beautiful gardens and peaceful atmosphere helps us relax during the day and the entertainment in the evening brings the guests together to watch some top class performers. The food is excellent and the rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. To be able to sit at dinner in the evening and watch red squirrels playing in the gardens is so lovely. This hotel well deserves all the praise given it by-so many of us happy and returning guests. Two star hotel which gives a four star holiday.

Room Tip: We like to choose a room that is shaded in the afternoon so that it is cooler at night, especially i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.9 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Property: Westhill Country Hotel
Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St Helier JE2 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing