We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Returned home a week ago,spent a wonderful week at the Westhill.
We were made most welcome from arrival onwards,everyone so friendly,nothing too much trouble.
Room was basic but spotless as was the whole Hotel.
Booked on a B&B basis,good choice of Breakfast,cooked breakfast excellent.Our waiter Fabio gave us excellent service.
Spent many hours in the lovely gardens,just chilling out especially as we had the bonus of sunny weather.
Marek & Harry kept us supplied with drinks.
Will definitely return again.


Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Looby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for writing your review. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 days week and found the hotel didn't match the excellent reviews on here which we based our stay on the hotel really did seem to be aimed at older people. The facilities were not great the rooms were dated and smelt of damp (although the cleaning done daily was good), the TV was tiny with limited channels, WiFi only worked in the reception and bar area, and the walls were paper thin -we were kept awake by a man in the next room snoring or his wife coughing and children above running around and jumping on the floor. As people walk down the corridor talking, it was very loud.

Walking to St Helier actually takes half an hour so we found a hire car a must which was fine as the hotel actually offers lots of parking though which is good. They do offer a minibus service to take you down to St Helier but there is only 3 a day and the last one is at 4pm. The onsite bar and entertainment we found again seemed to cater again for older guests and as such we literally had 1 drink in the onsite bar all week. We can't comment on dinners as we decided not to eat at the hotel in the evenings as we found the breakfast to be OK but nothing special.

The gardens are really nice and the staff generally provided good service all round, one of the ladies on reception was really helpful, but to be honest we would not book here again we would spend more and choose somewhere with modern facilities and an easy stroll to town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KOSFIER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear the hotel did not meet your expectations. As you correctly state we do cater for the older generation but generally have a nice mixture of ages throughtout the season. It is a shame you did not bring to my attention your disapointment with the bedroom while you where here, we would of been happy to of changed you to another room. As part of our ongoing refurbishment programme this winter we are tackling these rooms with a complete make over. This is to include furnishings, walls, ceiling, lighting and installing new 26" televisions. I will pass on your kind comments to the reception team.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here recently with some friends for a short break in Jersey. The hotel is a fair distance out of the main town, not really within walking distance for a night out but we got taxis down and back and it only cost about £6 each way. Having said that the hotel offers evening meals and provides a variety of entertainment in the bar. The hotel is set in lovely grounds that are very well maintained which would be a lovely place to relax in, but unfortunately we didn't have time due to our short stay. We found most staff to be very welcoming and helpful especially on reception and in the dining room (we only had breakfast but there was a good selection on the buffet table, including porridge, with tea and coffee served to the table along with your choice of cooked breakfast - all very nice thank you): The exception was a female member of staff serving in the bar who was brusque in her manner whenever she served us and on one occasion kept turning the bar lights on and off when we were the only guests left and talked with a colleague in a foreign language as if she was complaining about us! She is the reason I have not given 5 stars on this review, along with the lack of toiletries provided in the rooms. There were 2 small bars of hand soap and 2 sachets of shampoo which my partner tried to use but couldn't manage to open. The toilet roll was also not very good quality (sorry but that is a bug bear of mine!). Other than that our room was a good size, decor and furniture a bit dated, but clean. I noted the only form of heating in the room appeared to be an electric bar on the wall so not sure how warm the rooms would be in the cooler months. Lovely view over the gardens and ample supply of tea/coffee with kettle. I would recommend doing a round the island tour which the hotel will book for you with pick up from reception. We thoroughly enjoyed the day and our driver (Jamie on Waverley Tours) talked all day about the island and kept us entertained. To sum up though, a very nice hotel with mostly friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you very much for writing your review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to learn about the manner inwhich you were dealt with by one of our members of our staff. The person involved has dealt with. This winter we do have a refurbishment plan in place which includes a new heating system for all bedrooms. I have also passed your kind comments on to the rest of the team! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We only stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, but during that time I didn't really see why so many people give this place such rave reviews.
Booking experience was great - very helpful, as was check in and all other interactions with the reception staff - they were all very friendly, helpful and efficient.
The room was clean and comfortable, but pretty old fashioned and smelt a bit damp.
The only meal we ate at the hotel was breakfast, which was adequate, certainly nothing to rave about. Apart from the head waiter, the waiting staff were sullen.
We went for a quick walk around the grounds which were extensive, pretty and well kept - lots to do for kids and a lovely pool.
Loads of parking which seems to be a bonus for a St Helier hotel, but the walk into St Helier is a lot longer than the 20 mins we were advised - this was walking at a very fast rate to The Royal Yacht Hotel.
To add insult to injury some friends of ours who came out to Jersey at the same time, got a (very) late booking at The Royal Yacht Hotel in central St Helier for an extra night to us, but for less money - it was a special deal though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nibbo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Westhill continues to be a wonderful hotel with loyal hardworking staff. People continue to return here as it is very well maintained,has loyal hard working staff and remains spotless with all rooms/areas being maintained to a high standard.

Mathew and team welcome people and ensure that they provide all necessary information to help have a fantastic stay. The car park at the Westhill is large which in itself is unusual for Jersey.
The gardens are as most other reviewers have said vast and beautiful.

The very fact that a high number of staff have worked at this lovely hotel for years, shows the dedication to Mathew and the team. Marek should be given a 'segway' for the moving of tables/chairs/maintaining areas/serving food outside/taking meals outside to pool area/returning much enjoyed empty plates/teas/coffee/serving ice cream/cleaning tables/sorting out swimming towels for laundry/taking cases to rooms and then finding time to say hello to various people!! We were exhausted just watching him!!!

Jersey was again warm and welcoming this year .Big Vern's provided a few lovely well priced evening meals and friendly staff. We have only had breakfast at the Westhill, but again our breakfast was worthy of a much higher rating than the Westhill has.

You hear people say quite often on Trip Advisor , when making a Review that whatever hotel in the world that they went to that their holiday was not as it should have been due to 'staff'...and then give examples of this...The Westhill has much appreciated staff in a lovely, clean,fresh hotel with nothing being too much of a bother.

A hotel like this is so welcoming and friendly to the people who come through the doors, is worth every penny .The really lovely genuine Reviews of the Westhill are all true and a real credit to the people who run the hotel.

We were out all day every day most day's,but what a great feeling to return to the room/bar/pool in the evening to relax or enjoy the great entertainment each evening.

Room Tip: We had top floor garden view room, and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsAdalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your very kind comments on to the rest of the team! We are all saving up hard for Marek's segway next season. Hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Jonathan Smale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Having stayed at this hotel over many years we know how it has continued to improve and provide excellent service under the expert care of the management. It is a pleasure to stay and relax in pleasant surroundings with excellent food and service. You cannot ask for more - the staff are courteous and always attentive. It is no wonder this hotel is rated one of the best on the island - long may it remain so.

Thank you for so many hours of pleasure.

Mr & Mrs Raus

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/garden view - the hotel will always be willing to accommodate if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Raus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Mr & Mrs Raus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed yet another holiday in Jersey at the Westhill and everything was up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Jonathan R Smale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was my second visit to this most wonderful hotel, and my husband joined us for this trip. He knows how fussy I am and wanted to stay at the only hotel that I have ever stayed in twice! He agreed with me in that the service is equivalent to any 4 star hotel, and that all the staff are friendly and so, so helpful.Okay so the rooms are not the most modern, but are very clean and comfortable, and have everything you need. I cannot fault The Westhill, and yes will stay there again, and again and again. Truly wonderful place, with the most wonderful staff. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillypops474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

We are all delighted that your second stay with us was up to expectations and thank you for taking the trouble to write your review. We hope to see you all again next year!

Jonathan Smale
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St Helier
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 30 in St Helier
789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St Helier
2,094 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St Helier
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St Helier JE2 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £76 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing