We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westhill Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
crawley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this hotel on a dropping off from another trip. It looked so nice. There were a lot of good things, but there were a few disappointing things. The food was excellent no complaints there unfortunately we found the reception staff although helpful a little lacking in personality. there was a wedding reception on our last night ,there was no information and the music really was so loud in our room. We don't mind people enjoying themselves, but as paying guests we felt we could have been forwarned. They knew we complained as I gave room number and did ask what time the music would be going on 'till [was told 11 but it was still going at 11.20]. the next morning nobody said anything to us ie sorry you were disturbed absolutely nothing. Felt a bit let down by that. Rooms are adequate and clean. There is not a lot going on unless you just want to drink. Also if you have no car you are isolated a bit.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding reception and you don't like loud music do not have room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrawleyNandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    95
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
145
133
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just shared 4 great days at this Hotel. The owner being a motor enthusiast himself ensured that our every need was met, even advising on a good local mechanic when a breakdown was encountered by two of our party. Rooms were clean and tidy food was good and plentiful. If you are thinking of a classic car trip to Jersey then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room, it will cost about £5.. extra but well worth it for the views over the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RElli0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. It is very much appreciated by all the staff especially after an extremely busy year. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again in the future. Happy motoring!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is rated as 2 best in st helier on trip advisor and that is the reason I booked it ,however when we arrived we were shocked how old fashioned it was ,the decor and furniture was so dated and tired we felt we had stepped back into the 80s. The restaurant manager was very domineering and patronising and we were told where to sit like little children The food was repeated exactly the same for our second week although it was well cooked it was boring in presentation and recipes . I would not recommend this hotel for anyone under 60 ,I had a look at other hotels in st Helier and they were far superior and elegant it has totally put me off ever using trip advisor again .y

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Krystyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
You say you were shocked how old fashioned the decor way. I'm just as surprised you didn't mention this to me during one of our many chats. The staff and I were certainly under the impression you both were enjoying yourselves and having a nice holiday. I must agree that the room you occupied is as you put it "dated and felt like stepping back into the 80's". Unfortunately, times are rather 'tough' at the moment and we have to priorities what funds we have to spend within the whole hotel. However I am glad to announce that this winter one complete wing comprising of 17 bedrooms (which includes room occupied by you) is to under go a total refurbishment. I am sorry to hear you found the food to be boring even though we offer a variety of choices for each course. The entire team has worked extremely hard this season and it shows the fact that the hotel has managed to achieved 2nd best hotel in St Helier on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEATHERHEAQD
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our club had wanted to come to jersey for many months eventually 10 classic/vintage cars arrived last weekend. We had the best weekend ever, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff they were brilliant. The food was excellant even when catering for the very busy Saturday evening when we had 40 people for dinner.... No problem for Jon and his team. We made use of the hot tub and the swimming pool in the lovely gardens where it was very pleasant to sit or have a walk before going off on pre arranged treasure hunts etc. There were suggestions that maybe the club should return here at sometime, I would definitely be up for that!
Thanks and well done to all at Westhill

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAVID N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. I'm glad to hear you all had a great time on Jersey. We all enjoyed having you stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The service at the Westhill is outstanding and nothing is too much trouble. It is a family run hotel and it shows by the friendly, efficient and polite staff, all of who make sure your stay is the best. The hotel is a few years old but more rooms are being renovated this winter and the accommodation is very comfortable. We rarely stay more than once in a location, but we would happily stay here again and look forward to a future return visit.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift so if stairs are a problem you may wish to book a ground floor room. The hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wobblyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for all your kind comments. We close for the winter on Sunday 5 October and refurbishment work to start straight way. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Returned home a week ago,spent a wonderful week at the Westhill.
We were made most welcome from arrival onwards,everyone so friendly,nothing too much trouble.
Room was basic but spotless as was the whole Hotel.
Booked on a B&B basis,good choice of Breakfast,cooked breakfast excellent.Our waiter Fabio gave us excellent service.
Spent many hours in the lovely gardens,just chilling out especially as we had the bonus of sunny weather.
Marek & Harry kept us supplied with drinks.
Will definitely return again.


Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Looby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for writing your review. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 days week and found the hotel didn't match the excellent reviews on here which we based our stay on the hotel really did seem to be aimed at older people. The facilities were not great the rooms were dated and smelt of damp (although the cleaning done daily was good), the TV was tiny with limited channels, WiFi only worked in the reception and bar area, and the walls were paper thin -we were kept awake by a man in the next room snoring or his wife coughing and children above running around and jumping on the floor. As people walk down the corridor talking, it was very loud.

Walking to St Helier actually takes half an hour so we found a hire car a must which was fine as the hotel actually offers lots of parking though which is good. They do offer a minibus service to take you down to St Helier but there is only 3 a day and the last one is at 4pm. The onsite bar and entertainment we found again seemed to cater again for older guests and as such we literally had 1 drink in the onsite bar all week. We can't comment on dinners as we decided not to eat at the hotel in the evenings as we found the breakfast to be OK but nothing special.

The gardens are really nice and the staff generally provided good service all round, one of the ladies on reception was really helpful, but to be honest we would not book here again we would spend more and choose somewhere with modern facilities and an easy stroll to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOSFIER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear the hotel did not meet your expectations. As you correctly state we do cater for the older generation but generally have a nice mixture of ages throughtout the season. It is a shame you did not bring to my attention your disapointment with the bedroom while you where here, we would of been happy to of changed you to another room. As part of our ongoing refurbishment programme this winter we are tackling these rooms with a complete make over. This is to include furnishings, walls, ceiling, lighting and installing new 26" televisions. I will pass on your kind comments to the reception team.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Property: Westhill Country Hotel
Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St Helier JE2 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing