We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

A fantastic stay at the Westhill Hotel for our wedding Anniversary - Hotel & staff superb!
We have been coming to this family run hotel for the past 19 years there has been constant updating and improvement both to the rooms and the public areas. The menu has also been updated resulting the best food to date.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    95
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
146
133
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

As we had never visited Jersey before a friend recommended the "Westhill country Hotel" what an "excellent" choice we made.
We have just celebrated a special wedding anniversary & couldn't of stayed anywhere more suitable, the beautiful well kept gardens was an ideal setting.
As we arrived we were warmly greeted & throughout our stay everyone was very friendly & made you feel very welcome. The food was excellent with a varied menu & our room was very comfortable,clean & spacious.
We would highly recommend the "westhill" & most certainly return.
We would like to say "Thankyou" to Mathew,Jon & all the staff for making our week at the "westhill" special

Mr & mrs March, Hertfordshire

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I have returned from yet another wonderful holiday at the Westhill Hotel. The food was of a high quality and a good choice offered. The newly refurbished room extremely comfortable. The staff, as they always are at the Westhill, were courteous and friendly and efficient. Matt and Jon are excellent hosts and offer a personal touch that it would be difficult to find anywhere else in the island. The grounds of the hotel also would be difficult to beat and are always well maintained. A beautiful spot to relax by the pool or with a pre-dinner drink. It is a longish walk into the town centre but that is what makes it what is is - a "country" hotel. If you wish to be in the bustle of the town then don't stay at the Westhill. If you do however, you will be offered a courtesy bus to take you into the town and back. I have recommended this hotel to many friends, and none have been disappointed. Looking forward already to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonardolawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have been staying at the Westhill for about 12 years now and I can honestly say that standards have improved dramatically over that period. I have just returned from my annual golf trip where I met up with 15 other "regulars". After a problematic trip from Birmingham airport, I was welcomed to the hotel by the owners Matt and John Smale,both of whom are golf nuts! Since last year a lot of money has been spent refurbishing some of the 90 bedrooms which are very comfortable. During my 5 night stay the hotel catered for a wedding of 97 which went as smooth as clockwork. Guests were heard to remark it was probably the best wedding they had ever been to.The hotel is situated in beautiful gardens with swimming pool. The Westhill is approx a 15 minute walk into the centre of St Helier.The golf courses on Jersey are well worth playing and of course the island is steeped in history.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawley
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this hotel on a dropping off from another trip. It looked so nice. There were a lot of good things, but there were a few disappointing things. The food was excellent no complaints there unfortunately we found the reception staff although helpful a little lacking in personality. there was a wedding reception on our last night ,there was no information and the music really was so loud in our room. We don't mind people enjoying themselves, but as paying guests we felt we could have been forwarned. They knew we complained as I gave room number and did ask what time the music would be going on 'till [was told 11 but it was still going at 11.20]. the next morning nobody said anything to us ie sorry you were disturbed absolutely nothing. Felt a bit let down by that. Rooms are adequate and clean. There is not a lot going on unless you just want to drink. Also if you have no car you are isolated a bit.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding reception and you don't like loud music do not have room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrawleyNandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just shared 4 great days at this Hotel. The owner being a motor enthusiast himself ensured that our every need was met, even advising on a good local mechanic when a breakdown was encountered by two of our party. Rooms were clean and tidy food was good and plentiful. If you are thinking of a classic car trip to Jersey then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room, it will cost about £5.. extra but well worth it for the views over the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RElli0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. It is very much appreciated by all the staff especially after an extremely busy year. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again in the future. Happy motoring!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is rated as 2 best in st helier on trip advisor and that is the reason I booked it ,however when we arrived we were shocked how old fashioned it was ,the decor and furniture was so dated and tired we felt we had stepped back into the 80s. The restaurant manager was very domineering and patronising and we were told where to sit like little children The food was repeated exactly the same for our second week although it was well cooked it was boring in presentation and recipes . I would not recommend this hotel for anyone under 60 ,I had a look at other hotels in st Helier and they were far superior and elegant it has totally put me off ever using trip advisor again .y

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Krystyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
You say you were shocked how old fashioned the decor way. I'm just as surprised you didn't mention this to me during one of our many chats. The staff and I were certainly under the impression you both were enjoying yourselves and having a nice holiday. I must agree that the room you occupied is as you put it "dated and felt like stepping back into the 80's". Unfortunately, times are rather 'tough' at the moment and we have to priorities what funds we have to spend within the whole hotel. However I am glad to announce that this winter one complete wing comprising of 17 bedrooms (which includes room occupied by you) is to under go a total refurbishment. I am sorry to hear you found the food to be boring even though we offer a variety of choices for each course. The entire team has worked extremely hard this season and it shows the fact that the hotel has managed to achieved 2nd best hotel in St Helier on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.9 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Property: Westhill Country Hotel
Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St Helier JE2 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing