We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is this only 2*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I really do not understand why this hotel is only 2 star. The building itself is set in beautiful grounds and has a swimming pool, hot tub and childrens play area. From the moment I arrived with my friend the staff were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was perfect. Buffet style cereal, breads, meats and cheeses, then a full English served at the table. Rooms were spotless - beds were really comfortable and tea and coffee was provided.
Regarding there being elderly clientele, yes this was the case on our first night but it didn't really matter, we still enjoyed ourselves. As we got into Friday and Saturday more families arrived so there was a mix of all ages. I would like to mention the following staff and say a big extra thank you to them. Sophia, Marek, Mara and the Maitre d. Well done all, you are a credit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 5 faces the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goesawayalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to right such a nice review. We will certainly pass on your comments to all the staff involved. We’re delighted to announce that the hotel has just been awarded a 3 star grading by the AA. This is due to the extensive refurbishment work that has been carried out over the last 3 years. The public areas now have a modern fresh look with free WiFi throughout. Last winter another 19 bedrooms under went a complete makeover which included bigger flat screen televisions, new furnishings & fittings to give a warm relaxed homely feeling. Dave the Head Chef has also been very busy putting together a completely new menu for this season. This is going down a storm with our regular guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Matthew & Jonathan Smale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

The welcome was wonderful. We were made to feel very important. The rooms are lovely, roomy and spotlessly clean. The rest of the hotel is inviting. The food is really good. I don't eat meat but the fish and vegetarian selection was delicious. We hire a car and the hotel is perfectly placed for getting to all the attractions and beauty spots of which there are many. When the weather is good the pool, jacuzzi and gardens are brilliant with towels on hand and plenty of seating.
I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallychandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We had a very enjoyable and pleasant time. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds but is a little way out of town. It is very peaceful and relaxing. We found all the staff to be most helpful and attentive. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. We only had bed and breakfast but found the breakfasts to be enjoyable and tasty. The restaurant staff were all very friendly and happy and served us quickly and efficiently. The hotel does have a swimming pool but we didn't use this as it was a bit too chilly!!! All in all we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from another great golf and sightseeing trip. Good food, comfortable, clean newly modernised room to stay in. Staff always helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.
Beautiful gardens and outside area make your stay very relaxing. Thank you to Mathew, John, family and staff for a very successful trip.

Room Tip: Rooms are all good but the pool and garden view is very special
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Russ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A fantastic stay at the Westhill Hotel for our wedding Anniversary - Hotel & staff superb!
We have been coming to this family run hotel for the past 19 years there has been constant updating and improvement both to the rooms and the public areas. The menu has also been updated resulting the best food to date.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

As we had never visited Jersey before a friend recommended the "Westhill country Hotel" what an "excellent" choice we made.
We have just celebrated a special wedding anniversary & couldn't of stayed anywhere more suitable, the beautiful well kept gardens was an ideal setting.
As we arrived we were warmly greeted & throughout our stay everyone was very friendly & made you feel very welcome. The food was excellent with a varied menu & our room was very comfortable,clean & spacious.
We would highly recommend the "westhill" & most certainly return.
We would like to say "Thankyou" to Mathew,Jon & all the staff for making our week at the "westhill" special

Mr & mrs March, Hertfordshire

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I have returned from yet another wonderful holiday at the Westhill Hotel. The food was of a high quality and a good choice offered. The newly refurbished room extremely comfortable. The staff, as they always are at the Westhill, were courteous and friendly and efficient. Matt and Jon are excellent hosts and offer a personal touch that it would be difficult to find anywhere else in the island. The grounds of the hotel also would be difficult to beat and are always well maintained. A beautiful spot to relax by the pool or with a pre-dinner drink. It is a longish walk into the town centre but that is what makes it what is is - a "country" hotel. If you wish to be in the bustle of the town then don't stay at the Westhill. If you do however, you will be offered a courtesy bus to take you into the town and back. I have recommended this hotel to many friends, and none have been disappointed. Looking forward already to my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonardolawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
781 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#14 of 31 in St Helier
554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 31 in St Helier
914 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St Helier
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St Helier JE2 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £77 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing