We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
323
118
36
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
118
36
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtesy bus hot tub red squirrels our waiter west hill poolside bar minibus service garden furniture no lift evening entertainment hotel owners nothing is too much trouble lovely week fellow guests family holiday great holiday first class
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned from a fortnight's holiday at this excellent hotel. The third star was actually awarded by the AA when we were there. The hotel really is quite outstanding. It's immaculately maintained throughout. It's set in it's own extensive grounds with beautifully maintained gardens. The location is very peaceful, and yet you're only a 5 minute drive away from St Helier. The atmosphere is very friendly, and the staff really are absolutely excellent. You really get the personal touch, which we find so lacking in most hotels these days. The rooms are a good size and are spotlessly clean. The food is excellent, with a varied choice catering for all tastes. There's also ample car parking. We had a great time (we've already booked to go back). Top marks all round.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John01484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Fabulous hotel. Gorgeous gardens, swimming pool and hot tub. Entertainment 4 days out of 5. Generally older clientele, but some families. Stayed half board, but with a couple of nights eating out. Breakfast quick and enough choice. Evening meal 3-4 choices. Staff excellent, friendly and attentive. Cleaner in early. Rooms ok, clean with ensuite. Location close to st helier and all main sites. Taxi or bus into centre, we hire car. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Well were do I start,
The hotel is excellent in every way.
I stayed at the westHill as my daughter had her wedding reception there.
The staff are great, the management superb.they are all very helpful.
The rooms are spotless,gardens are beautiful.grounds are fabulous .
The food is excellent.the service is fantastic.the hotel was flawless in everything we requested.
I would recommend it to anybody.
Will be back to stay again.many many thanks for your fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking wonderful gardens.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I really do not understand why this hotel is only 2 star. The building itself is set in beautiful grounds and has a swimming pool, hot tub and childrens play area. From the moment I arrived with my friend the staff were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was perfect. Buffet style cereal, breads, meats and cheeses, then a full English served at the table. Rooms were spotless - beds were really comfortable and tea and coffee was provided.
Regarding there being elderly clientele, yes this was the case on our first night but it didn't really matter, we still enjoyed ourselves. As we got into Friday and Saturday more families arrived so there was a mix of all ages. I would like to mention the following staff and say a big extra thank you to them. Sophia, Marek, Mara and the Maitre d. Well done all, you are a credit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 5 faces the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goesawayalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to right such a nice review. We will certainly pass on your comments to all the staff involved. We’re delighted to announce that the hotel has just been awarded a 3 star grading by the AA. This is due to the extensive refurbishment work that has been carried out over the last 3 years. The public areas now have a modern fresh look with free WiFi throughout. Last winter another 19 bedrooms under went a complete makeover which included bigger flat screen televisions, new furnishings & fittings to give a warm relaxed homely feeling. Dave the Head Chef has also been very busy putting together a completely new menu for this season. This is going down a storm with our regular guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Matthew & Jonathan Smale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The welcome was wonderful. We were made to feel very important. The rooms are lovely, roomy and spotlessly clean. The rest of the hotel is inviting. The food is really good. I don't eat meat but the fish and vegetarian selection was delicious. We hire a car and the hotel is perfectly placed for getting to all the attractions and beauty spots of which there are many. When the weather is good the pool, jacuzzi and gardens are brilliant with towels on hand and plenty of seating.
I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallychandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews