We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel spotless, food very good, pool a bonus and the staff were wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel spotless, food very good, pool a bonus and the staff were wonderful”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

When we arrived we had a bit of a mix up with rooms, however, this was rectified quickly and with no fuss. A definite sign of how well the staff operate. The hotel is a little dated in places but it is absolutely spotless.
The staff make this hotel.
The Managers are efficient and are totally in tune with what guests require. A well oiled cog.

The Head of Waiting on staff and the Head Chef were wonderful. Bit of banter re my husband’s often unsuccessful fishing trips, full of fun. ( 10 species off the boat, Anna 2, inc 35lb conger and many black bream over 3lb also grey mullet and bass from a short afternoon shore trip, actually ! Hubby)

The rooms at the front of the Hotel were a little noisy on the weekend as the Police rank was down the road but we did have the window open as we are from the Isle of Man and are not used to the warm weather!

One half of the hotel has a lift the other doesn’t and the stairs may be a problem for some, although there is a porter on hand to help with your luggage if required.

The Hotel has entertainment on most nights and, although this is not ‘our thing’, the quality was very good. The Magician was very entertaining and we even had a few unexpected gasps at his show which was a bonus. Not sure about ‘Sue Sue’ though. Sorry.

Overall.
Hotel spotless, food very good, entertainment good, pool a bonus and the staff were wonderful. Keep it up guys, really enjoyed our stay.

PS, from our daughter, the little bear, now called Lodgey, has settled in very nicely with his two rabbit friends. X

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou-IOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    196
    72
    18
    5
See reviews for
137
196
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just returned from my first trip to Jersey, staying at the Norfolk Lodge Hotel. I cannot find anything vaguely negative to say about our trip; the hotel was very clean, the room had everything we needed and the bed was particularly comfortable. The food was of a very good quality and choice but the staff were all exceptional. I think you would be hard pushed to receive such professional and helpful service from a higher rated establishment. If we return to Jersey, we would definitely book either this hotel or another in the group.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room at the back (sacrifice a view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Another fantastic holiday at the Norfolk Lodge Hotel!! (5th time) . Having been upgraded to 3 stars since our last visit the changes that had been made were great. The bar menu is great value for money especially with 2 teenage girls who prefer this to a 3 course dinner.

As always Fernando , Beatrice , Shaun and their staff went that extra mile to make sure we were looked after. We have met people at this hotel when staying before who have became good friends and its great to come back and meet with them and enjoy our holiday with them - we also made a few new friends this time who say they will be back next year. We thoroughly enjoy our holidays at this hotel and recommend it to many people.

I have already contacted Paul in reservations to make arrangements for next year and look forward to visiting "our Jersey friends"

Fernando , Beatrice and co. see you next year !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have now stayed at this hotel 6 times. Each time I am extremely happy with the service and overall standards of the hotel. In line with all other reviews, the staff are great, the food excellent and the cleanliness brilliant. More importantly however, this is a hotel which is improving, and taking note of what the customers are saying. With reference to an earlier review regarding CCTV in the pool area, I can confirm that this has now been installed, as promised by the manager. The restaurant and bar area have undergone a refurbishment with new furniture. Regarding staff, It is possible to train skills, but instilling a can do / caring attitude is altogether more difficult. The attitude and helpfulness shown by Fernandez and his team exceeded that of the 5 star hotel which I stayed in last week.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarloAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Having just spent four nights at this hotel we thououghly enjoyed our stay.The hotel is neatly kept.We were on a dinner bed and breakfast package the food was of a high quality and the staff very friendly would return..

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buster017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel and would recommend the staff are very polite and helpful and food is excellent Room was comfortable and evening entertainment was good plenty of car parking spaces was another good point when hiring a car
Thank everyone for a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiesta1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have just returned from The Norfolk Lodge, we stayed for 3 nights as a special treat for my husband's Birthday. After mentioning that it was a birthday celebration we were delighted to receive a bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate the occasion. Rooms are spacious and towels replaced every day. The food is very good with a different selection to choose from each evening. Breakfast is buffet style with full english breakfast or continental style with fruit, cereal, toast, and croissants. We hired a car and toured the island, which at a push you could do in a day. Memorable stay and will not hesitate to return very soon. Thanks to staff and management.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which was really nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynns64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
729 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#15 of 32 in St Helier
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Property: Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#15 Family Hotel in St Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing