We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2011

What a wonderful joyful Hotel, the accomadation basic, but the staff very warm and hospitable. Fiona on reception was Brilliant. The breakfast was yummy and plentiful, we didnt have to eat at lunch time, was that HUGE mmmmm. Swimming pool not big but ample for the wifes morn / eveing dip.
Just one let down, like a number of Hotels, they dont use tomato sauce in a bottle, its the plastic satches.
We went last week and had a good time, Jersey is beautiful, you must visit the convesation Zoo. I didnt Like ST Hellier full of shops ha, visited west and all the south coast, which are beautiful.
The bus service in Jersey excellant, we found it cheaper paying each journey, rather than a day rover, the bus drivers are friendly, Knowlagble and happy to help.

Room Tip: Room 42 at the back was brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

We have just returned from 5 days at the Norfolk lodge,and on the whole had a very pleasant stay. The staff stand out for the high quality of service they give, although it must be said that there were simply not enough of them in the Dining room, where the service of drinks with Breakfast & Dinner was particularly slow.
We were on half board, the breakfast was always hot with plenty of choice. Dinner was also generally good, except for the sunday night carvery - the meat was excellent, but the rest of the meal tasted like it had been kept warm for hours - not good.
We had to change our room after the first two nights (Room 2), as it was right next to the outside entrance to the kitchen, and was noisy from 6:00am. Our request for a change was dealt with swiftly and politely, and the new room (51) was excellent. Both rooms were spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel.
We did not use the pool, but it appeared to be clean and well managed.
With a little attention to the fine detail, this would be an excellent hotel for a break in Jersey.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms could be noisy from Car Park & Kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We just got back from a week in the Norfolk lodge hotel and i have to say it would be hard to beat.The accomadation is all that i had read up on through trip advisor and the location fairly central being a ten minute stroll from the main shopping areas.The real asset for this hotel is its staff,they are ever ready to serve you or book trips or taxis whenever you need always with a smile or a welcoming comment.If I had to single out one member of staff,it would have to be the Manager Fernando.For the whole time we were there he always found time to get around all the guests and chat with them or make sure that they were being looked after but most of all he had them in stitches with his endless yarns and jokes while at the same time ensuring that the premises and services were maintained to the highest standard.The food in the restraunt was very good and the menue changed daily.I will put in one tip though and suggest that before you go to bed close the windows to block out the noise of the early morning traffic heading for the city centre.Apart from that it is a super hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ciscoDublin_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel is a convenient 10-15 minute walk down to the town centre, resturants, ferries, harbour etc, etc. Clearly they have spent a lot of money refurbishing the hotel in general. Nice bar and terrace, albeit near a road, but that doesn't detract.Good sized rooms and excellent beds. Drink prices are sensible. Lovely little swimming pool , but big enough to have a real swim if you want to exercise. Staff are endlessly courteous. Food is good, but an 8.00am hot breakfast start is rather late if you need to catch an early flight or ferry. The most significant issue was the level of cleanliness. We are well travelled, but have never stayed in such a pristine establishment. The whole place is spotless. One drawback for people with limited mobility is that the hotel does have rather a lot of internal stairs, even allowing for the lift. With normal mobility, there is no problem. It represents really good value for money..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel is conveniently situated for town, being about 10 minues walk away. Leave you car at the hotel as the parking in town is complicated and difficult. The management and staff are very friendly and helpful. The English breakfast is well cooked and filling. We stayed in the annexe next to the hotel. The bathrooms are 'spotless'. The bedrooms very clean with all the usual hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. My only complaint was the mattress which was hard, as were the pillows. (But at home I have a memory foam mattress and nice German pillows so I could be spoilt :) ) Overall, a good hotel and I would recommend it. (Change your mattress and I would make it excellent)

Room Tip: Go for the annexe to avoid the sound of 'entertainment' in season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Extraveltrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife myself and 14 month old daugher have recently stayed here as first time visitors to Jersey.
The hotel is no frills and is located about a ten minute walk to the promenade and town centre. Although we werent blessed with great weather during our 4 night break we were happy enough with our choice of accommodation.
During our break the hotel seemed to primarily cater for retired folk and much older visitors than ourselves. This was not an issue for us as with a young child it was very much early to be and early risers. In fact i would imagine that alot of hotels on the island would have a similar trend at this time of year.

The main plus points with Norfolk Lodge would be the staff who were more than helpful throughout our visit, be it early morning or late at night.
We had breakfast included and found there to be an adequate range of food on offer in a good spacious dining room. We did not have dinner so cannot comment but the room was pretty full on a couple of evenings we were in the bar, so i guess this is a good sign.
The hotel is dated in parts but was cleaned and maintained to a high standard.

Consisting of two separate buildings, we were positioned on the top floor of the smaller 3 story building adjacent to the main building, where the reception area, bar and dining room were. This in itself again was not an issue, but with a young child and associated paraphenalia the continuous climbing of stairs did eventually take its toll on our arms.
Any visitors with young children should seek a room in the main building which benefits from a lift.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Jersey and would definitely hope to come back again. Norfolk Lodge would certainly be an option due to the standard of service on offer.

Almost forgot to mention, the car park onsite is invaluable for any visitors who have hired a car.

Room Tip: Visitors with children try and seek a room within main building or ground floor in the smaller build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

A hotel where the guests come first.Nothing was too much trouble.The food,the service,the hotel were all good,but the most important aspect of our stay,was the staff.So friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.It,s a good walk away from the harbour,but going back to the hotel is a pleasure. A special mention to Beatrice,a sweet and friendly lady with a winning smile.On reception,greeting guests at table,or in the bar,she always had a cheerful outlook and a kind word for everyone. We felt like we were treated as people and not numbers.Highly recommended,we.ll be back next year.

Room Tip: we got a ground floor double,totally adequate,comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 30 in St Helier
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St Helier
816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 30 in St Helier
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 30 in St Helier
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St Helier
1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#13 of 30 in St Helier
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#9 Family Hotel in St Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range: £80 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing