We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our first time at the Norfolk Lodge, and we were impressed. Not a pile of pretty match boxes hotel, but one that has developed by addition and upgrading over some years. We didn't mind the stairs. We liked the food, with a very good selection on the Half Board package. Breakfasts were great, sausages delicious. Twice weekly carvery was good for those of us that used it. Everywhere was clean, car park was unusually large, indoor pool most enjoyable. Room was average size, well furnished, well cleaned, and complimentary items were of a good quality. Friendly staff. 10 mins walk to the seafront and the same to the first shops in the centre. Conveniently situated on the ring road, so in, out, around and through town was easy in a car.

Room Tip: If you need a lift and not stairs best to specify. Hotel has character which means attractive stairc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank east-anglia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    194
    69
    18
    5
See reviews for
133
193
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We`re just back from a three night stay at the norfolk lodge and i have to say we enjoyed every minute of it,we stayed in room 125 which was a family room so we had loads of room and it was spotlessly clean.At breakfast there was an excellent selection e.g.:- full english and continental breakfasts as standard but you can also request other items from the kitchen.We chose to have our evening meal off the bar menu which was quite extensive and reasonably priced and cooked to perfection,the hotel restaurant also offered a 2 or 3 course evening meal so there was plenty of choice for everyone.i take my hat off to all the staff at the norfolk lodge as they work tirelessly to make your stay an enjoyable one,and if you are visiting jersey for the first time we can recommend you take the full day bus tour around the island as you get to see all the sights of the island which are stunning and at £20 per person it`s great value and if you ask at reception they will book it for you and the coach will pick you up from the hotel.All in all we had a very enjoyable first stay in jersey at the norfolk lodge and we will be back to the hotel and jersey for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdelevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Norfolk Lodge Hotel for the first time last week and really liked it. The decor in the rooms could do with a bit of updating and due to it being situated on a roundabout it could be quite noisy at night but they are the only negatives we could find for the Hotel. The room was large and comfortable, the Hotel was in a good location and all the staff were so friendly and helpful - you couldn't ask for more pleasant reception, cleaning or waiting staff to look after you. We were half board and enjoyed all of the food - would definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and family, thank you Norfolk Lodge Hotel for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and we've been delighted on both occasions. A major bonus is the fact that it has a spacious car park, as parking in and around St Helier is a nightmare. A couple of years ago we stayed at another hotel just up the road from the Norfolk Lodge and it had a postage stamp car park. Sometimes we'd get back at night and it was full up, and it was hopeless trying to park in a nearby side-road because they're all double yellow lines. This made things very fraught - but no such problems at the Norfolk Lodge :)
When I phoned up to make a late booking this year, I asked if it was possible to have the same room as last year. They said there weren't many rooms left but they'd do their best. I thought they'd immediately forget about it as soon as they put the phone down, but when we turned up to check in, we were greeted by a very pleasant and friendly young lady at reception who told us they'd indeed given us the room we requested.
The hotel has a spacious dining room and a large bar area where you can also get meals and snacks while watching the evening's entertainer (who was very good in our case!) The food was excellent and the rooms spotless and well-equipped and I'd say the Norfolk Lodge is worthy of higher than its 3-star rating. A very pleasant stay, and if we return to Jersey we'll stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The hotel is located near a fairly busy roundabout, so we try to get a room away from the road if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyandJulie541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we had 2 rooms one for us and one for disabled mum. we had to use staff rear entrance to get mum into hotel. there was a lift down to dinning room, but she had to open a fire door, walk past stair well with no hand rail, open another fire door, go up a step and then up 3 steps to get to lift. good job we didnt have to use her wheelchair. if we were on our own hotel would be great. had to get blanket changed for a quilt, we had dinner every night. menu is very poor. we could of had prawn cocktail, chicken jalfrazie and chocolate brownie every night.
pool is great, and was out side our room. i could see when it was quiet and went for a swim.
staff are lovely, but are over worked. same staff that served breakfast also worked in bar till 12pm.
room was very clean, shower was great, bed was comfy (apart from blanket).
entertainment is poor. monday was very very good. rest was rubbish

Room Tip: 45 and 49 are on floor with lift to dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trinka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The pictures you have posted are very much appreciated.

The entrance mentioned is not a staff entrance but rather is an entrance often used by guests to facilitate easy entry into ground floor corridor guest bedrooms. Within this corridor we have a number of bedrooms with new walk in showers to facilitate use for those with more limited mobility.

We are sorry that you found limited steps to be a problem. We are not a purpose built hotel in every respect and where mobility is confined exclusively to a wheelchair then we wish to be clear that a purpose built hotel may be more suitable. However, we do accommodate many guests with more limited mobility successfully.

Hand rails to stairs are present where required – and in fact rails are present on both sides of the main stairwell where you specifically mention, incorrectly, that there is ‘no hand rail’. We respectfully feel that this correction is important.

We offer a table d’hote menu each night (changes daily) along with a more extensive bar menu which operates all day. We believe that there is considerable choice for guests.

Quilts are available should these be a specific request.

Thank you for your kind comments in respect of our indoor swimming facilities. This is a major bonus for the hotel as our pool is set in an attractive pool hall.

We are pleased you felt that our team of staff are lovely. This comment is appreciated. We hold a Silver Investor in People award, a National accreditation, and our team is very much valued at the hotel.

We are pleased that you liked your accommodation and found the hotel clean. This is important.

Finally, we believe that we have a great team of evening bar entertainers but to some extent this is personal taste. We are pleased that you felt that the Norfolk Lodge Hotel was very good overall and thank you for your feedback and custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Norfolk lodge for a week for the first time and would definitely go back. All of the staff were very polite pleasant & helpful rooms were spotles & food was exellent. Hats off to management job well done.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here overnight on a work related visit and was very impressed with the hotel for the price I paid.

The hotel is around a 15min walk from the centre of St. Helier or the seafront, on a very gentle incline.

The staff were fantastically attentive - I didn't eat in the hotel but even the waiters greeted you in the corridors.

I had a single room which was fresh, clean and comfortable - in line with the rest of the hotel.

If I had one (very minor!) criticism it was that the stairs carpet and doors surrounding the stairs were very old fashioned and didn't really compliment the rest of the hotel's refurbishment.

Would definitely stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welmaf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#15 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Property: Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#15 Family Hotel in St Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing