We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room 124 annexe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“room 124 annexe”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We like many others checked TripAdvisor before booking this hotel .As reported elsewhere the annexe does have a damp musty smell in the building. No signs or damp so assume an old damp cellar somewhere. We were in room 124 at rear of building , good sized room nice en suite with good though slightly temperamental shower over bath. Basin plug also not working properly. Room and hotel very clean food not bad good breakfast , mainly foreign staff as expected these days usually very polite and efficent. Hotel 10minutes walk from shops and seafront via gentle sloping hill . Driving easy from this hotel mainly avoiding St Helier one way systems. Yes we would certainly consider staying at the Norfolk Lodge again. We were a little concerned about rear external door to annexe which would not shut properly .

Room Tip: Choose 124 in Annexe in single ground floor extension almost detached from main annexe building, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsue1069784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    200
    73
    18
    5
See reviews for
140
204
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A medium sized hotel within easy walking distance of the town centre with secured parking. The room was a good size and clean with a decent bathroom & shower. However the room and bathroom could really do with being updated as they are looking very tired .Also if you are looking for peace and quiet this probably wouldn't suit as it is situated on the edge of a roundabout on a main road with the emergency services just round the corner! It looked as though the staff do a good job of setting up the breakfast room to cater for the many different sized parties but they may benefit from having a member of staff deal with a defined area of the room. Breakfast was good with lots of choice from the buffet. there was entertainment at the hotel which was mainly geared toward older clientèle but as the town centre is so near this was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleMLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel overall was really nice, I read the reviews before I left so I new what to expect on arrival. To start the staff are great and very friendly and helped there best where ever they could, the food was ok and there was lots of choice for breakfast but I must admit it would of been nice to be able to get my own tea, coffee or juice instead of waiting to be served by a member of staff as they sometimes took there time due to the amount of people and sometimes we had to ask or serve ourselves, dinner was also very nice and there was a good selection for the children as well. Most of the rooms for families were in the main part of the hotel which was situated in the front of the hotel which was right by the main road, so we heard a lot of noise from cars, people and of course seagulls, plus the sounds of sirens from the emergency services and goods being delivered to the hotel often woke us up. Evening entertainment was ok and varied but was more catered to the older generation which we were total ok with. To sum up, good points, staff were friendly and very helpful, food was great and varied. Slight negative points, being positioned right by the front of the hotel is noisy at night but bearable, is this suitable for families, in my opinion not really this hotel is more catered for the older generation but we made the most of what we had and appreciated what they had to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThePaynes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely first impression of the hotel upon arrival. Staff were welcoming and really friendly. The hotel lobby, bar and dining room were really quite modern but was a bit disappointed with the annex - where we were placed. The room was of an alright size and really clean but is in desperate need of updating as the carpets, furniture, curtains are a bit tired and there is quite a musty smell in the annex overall! There is no air conditioning and at the height of summer when you like to be cool in bed at night you have no choice but to sleep with the windows open... Which is great, unless you are situated on a really busy road AND have ALL of the emergency services (fire, police, ambulance) within 2 minutes walking distance, as is the case of this hotel!! Breakfasts were lovely however and the hotel is not far from the town centre which is quite handy!

Room Tip: Ask for the main hotel if you can - it might have A/C and a room at the back - it may be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not a small hotel and a ten minute walk from the centre.
On the plus side there is a fairly large parking lot which is a bonus. The hotel could do with some renevation as it looked a little dated but it was clean and pleasant. We had bed and breakfast which was substantial. A lot if choice. A little more organisation in the breakfast room would be welcome. It would have been a lot easier for the staff if they had their own area of the room to deal with. The swimming pool is a huge bonus for the children.

Room Tip: The sun shone all day into the bedroom, which made it a very warm room. I found this uncomfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our 10 day stay at the Norfolk Hotel in Jersey was quite pleasant. This 3 star hotel is a short walking distance to the downtown area for shopping, tour buses etc. The rooms are clean and the staff is quite pleasant. There is no air conditioning. Our only complaint was that the breakfast staff was often overwhelmed, with food running out constantly (eggs, fruit, etc) and interminable waits to be served coffee, milk etc.

A particular compliment to front desk employee Vanda who was most helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fulvio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great service, with excellent food and staff. A great week in Jersey made comfortable by a great hotel. Good sized pool which we used regularly, looked unclean but was the granite floor used as signed in pool house. Very old fashioned interior, needs to be updated.

Room Tip: Avoid the Annix as this is the family area and may be children and babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliver531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Property: Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#15 Family Hotel in St Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing