We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean & Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here at the Norfolk Lodge for a week in August . This is a nice central hotel with only a 10-15 min walk to town centre the only thing is there are stairs everywhere so if stairs are a problem this hotel definitely isn't for you there is a lift but it stops mid floor so you still have to go up/down to your respective floor .On first impressions the entrance, foyer & lounge all look great, modern with relaxed atmosphere so we were rather dissappointed with our room.Although the room was a good size,clean with all you need tea/coffee facility's & hairdryer the room is really in need of an update .The curtains are dated as is the bed surround and I know that it serves its purpose but the colour of the blanket was awful . The shower is okay but the shower curtain has been fitted so its in too far over the bath so when you shower you can't move without the curtain sticking to you the only way we could over come this was to put towel along floor at side of the bath then to push the shower curtain on to side of bath & lay the bath mat on top to keep it in place .The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. We could have done with an alarm clock in the room as we had to use our mobile phone which was a bit akward when trying to charge it at same time the electric socket is at the bottom of the bed so it means that you have to get out of bed to turn it off plus we were worried about waking other residents up with it ringing for so long . Full continental breakfast was excellent as were the staff but as some other reviews say they should really have an allocated section of the restaurant room each to look after as you find you either wait a while for tea /coffee or you get asked the same questions by several waiting staff. We tried the evening meal in the restaurant on our first night which we enjoyed ,set three course menu for £21 each which we thought was a reasonable price They also do meals from the bar Pasta.Steak Burgers etc which are reasonably priced for what you get . The bar is well stocked & prices as same as you would pay anywhere else The hotel entertainment was ok but aimed more at the older generation . the staff are brilliant & will do all they can to help so overall we would use this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DENPER0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    196
    71
    18
    5
See reviews for
137
193
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We like many others checked TripAdvisor before booking this hotel .As reported elsewhere the annexe does have a damp musty smell in the building. No signs or damp so assume an old damp cellar somewhere. We were in room 124 at rear of building , good sized room nice en suite with good though slightly temperamental shower over bath. Basin plug also not working properly. Room and hotel very clean food not bad good breakfast , mainly foreign staff as expected these days usually very polite and efficent. Hotel 10minutes walk from shops and seafront via gentle sloping hill . Driving easy from this hotel mainly avoiding St Helier one way systems. Yes we would certainly consider staying at the Norfolk Lodge again. We were a little concerned about rear external door to annexe which would not shut properly .

Room Tip: Choose 124 in Annexe in single ground floor extension almost detached from main annexe building, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsue1069784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A medium sized hotel within easy walking distance of the town centre with secured parking. The room was a good size and clean with a decent bathroom & shower. However the room and bathroom could really do with being updated as they are looking very tired .Also if you are looking for peace and quiet this probably wouldn't suit as it is situated on the edge of a roundabout on a main road with the emergency services just round the corner! It looked as though the staff do a good job of setting up the breakfast room to cater for the many different sized parties but they may benefit from having a member of staff deal with a defined area of the room. Breakfast was good with lots of choice from the buffet. there was entertainment at the hotel which was mainly geared toward older clientèle but as the town centre is so near this was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleMLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel overall was really nice, I read the reviews before I left so I new what to expect on arrival. To start the staff are great and very friendly and helped there best where ever they could, the food was ok and there was lots of choice for breakfast but I must admit it would of been nice to be able to get my own tea, coffee or juice instead of waiting to be served by a member of staff as they sometimes took there time due to the amount of people and sometimes we had to ask or serve ourselves, dinner was also very nice and there was a good selection for the children as well. Most of the rooms for families were in the main part of the hotel which was situated in the front of the hotel which was right by the main road, so we heard a lot of noise from cars, people and of course seagulls, plus the sounds of sirens from the emergency services and goods being delivered to the hotel often woke us up. Evening entertainment was ok and varied but was more catered to the older generation which we were total ok with. To sum up, good points, staff were friendly and very helpful, food was great and varied. Slight negative points, being positioned right by the front of the hotel is noisy at night but bearable, is this suitable for families, in my opinion not really this hotel is more catered for the older generation but we made the most of what we had and appreciated what they had to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThePaynes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely first impression of the hotel upon arrival. Staff were welcoming and really friendly. The hotel lobby, bar and dining room were really quite modern but was a bit disappointed with the annex - where we were placed. The room was of an alright size and really clean but is in desperate need of updating as the carpets, furniture, curtains are a bit tired and there is quite a musty smell in the annex overall! There is no air conditioning and at the height of summer when you like to be cool in bed at night you have no choice but to sleep with the windows open... Which is great, unless you are situated on a really busy road AND have ALL of the emergency services (fire, police, ambulance) within 2 minutes walking distance, as is the case of this hotel!! Breakfasts were lovely however and the hotel is not far from the town centre which is quite handy!

Room Tip: Ask for the main hotel if you can - it might have A/C and a room at the back - it may be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not a small hotel and a ten minute walk from the centre.
On the plus side there is a fairly large parking lot which is a bonus. The hotel could do with some renevation as it looked a little dated but it was clean and pleasant. We had bed and breakfast which was substantial. A lot if choice. A little more organisation in the breakfast room would be welcome. It would have been a lot easier for the staff if they had their own area of the room to deal with. The swimming pool is a huge bonus for the children.

Room Tip: The sun shone all day into the bedroom, which made it a very warm room. I found this uncomfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our 10 day stay at the Norfolk Hotel in Jersey was quite pleasant. This 3 star hotel is a short walking distance to the downtown area for shopping, tour buses etc. The rooms are clean and the staff is quite pleasant. There is no air conditioning. Our only complaint was that the breakfast staff was often overwhelmed, with food running out constantly (eggs, fruit, etc) and interminable waits to be served coffee, milk etc.

A particular compliment to front desk employee Vanda who was most helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fulvio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
724 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 32 in St Helier
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Property: Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#15 Family Hotel in St Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing