We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I assume that, as with other town hotels, this hotel suffers from traffic noise, being located on a busy roundabout. This is a pity as in all other respects this hotel is very good. The staff of the hotel - especially the Hotel Manager and his Deputy - go all out to meet their guests' needs. The evening entertainment is a tad old-fashioned, but seems to cater to its audience. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of the town centre, where you will find a very helpful and friendly staff, the Norfolk Lodge will not be found wanting.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiemac957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    196
    71
    18
    5
See reviews for
137
193
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2010

this hotel was really good, very friendly staff , always ready to help, the rooms were very spacious and extremely clean, i think the bathrooms had just been completely refurbed,
the food was good, though the menu was somewhat limited, however the availability of the meals in the bar area, more than made up.
the only drawback was the 10 min walk to town, however, saying that, it was a pleasant enough walk, but if any of the party were older and unable to walk to far there were buses, available and the taxis in plenty , all in all we were very pleased and would recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We took a lovely week's holiday in Jersey - greatly enjoying the tourist attractions and leisurely pace of life. The Norfolk Hotel was very pleasant. I've split

Positive points
* An ample sized bedroom, comfortable bed
* Lovely little swimming pool. It was empty every time we went to it. Good changing facilities and fresh towels provided every time
* A nice walk into town – less than 10 minutes to Marks and Sparks, where we got most of our food
* Breakfast.
* Friendly staff
* Problems were dealt with very rapidly
* The bar food was really quite fantastic. Very well priced and served till late. We headed out one night hoping to buy Fish and Chips in St. Hellier, only to find that everywhere was shut. Only then did we realise it was a Sunday. So we headed back to the hotel bar and enjoyed a very nice… well, I can’t remember exactly what it was we had, but it was great.

Negative points
* No one told us how to perform the breakfast ritual. We were shouted at by the manager one morning for not following the rules correctly!
* They couldn’t provide a fridge for medication (I mention this as other hotels we’ve stayed in have managed to do this)
* Shower control thingy broke one morning (but was fixed by the time we returned from our day out)

"Depends who you are" points
* The room was extremely dark at night. This is probably desirable for most people, but I had nightmares (bizarrely) every night!
* The evening entertainment was, as we had expected, cheerful and somewhat cheesey. We left after the first hour or so of cabaret, much to the disapproval of the manager!

Summary
It was a good stay. I wouldn’t necessarily go there again – but only because St. Hellier is packed with hotels and we’d want to try somewhere new.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobotBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Just completed our 5th stay in this hotel. We have always been 100% happy. The staff are very attentive towards individuals needs, and the manager is always in the foreground and approachable. My partner is visually impaired, and would recommend this hotel as the staff are really helpful, but ask for a ground floor room. The food is excellent value, and the bar area is pleasant. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarloAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Do not stay in rooms 3 or 4. Asked to be changed. The floor boards on the room above creak,crack and bang with alarming frequency. You can hear every move from upstairs.
To be fair, the manager did try to change us, but could not move our Daughter until the end of our stay, which would mean splitting us up, so we tried to tolerate the rooms above, the unloading of delivery vans at six in the morning, people having a chat, in,I think Polish, out side of our window at all hours, the sound of Chavs racing each other on the nearby roundabout at all hours, and the regular sound of sirens from the nearby police/ambulance/fire stations.
When we arrived, our rooms were not yet ready, fair enough, we were early, so I asked a waiter for three coffees. The answer was ' no, this is not possible' !!!! I could have sworn we had booked into a Hotel in 2010, not a 1950's B&B!
The evening entertainment was O.K. if you like working mens clubs, pub singers etc. We dont, so we went out as much as possible, walking into town, via the Park were the drunks seem to hang out.
St. Hellier? Never again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrevorStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This is the fourth year we have stayed at this hotel with our two teenage daughters.
One of the nicest things about going back each year is that most of the staff are the same people we have got to know previously. The manager Fernando deCastro and his assistant Beatrice are two of the most helpful people you could ever meet and no request is a problem for them. Our request for a duvet in our room was acted upon within a day - it gave the room a totally different appearance..
The food in the hotel is of a very high standard and the breakfast and evening menus offer a good selection . I would of preferred the evening menu to change fortnightly rather than weekly .
The evening entertainment did not cater for children / teenagers very much , but if you do visit the hotel and its bingo with Mr deCastro it is an evening not to be missed !!!

We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Norfolk lodge hotel in St Helier Jersey. It is roughly 10 minutes walk from the centre that has a good variety of shops, lots jewelery shops.
The food was good and varied,all the staff were very helpful at all times, the manager was exceptional and humourous with all ages. There was entertainment on weekday nights consisting of discos and singers, but the magician needed a few lessons.
We would come again. : )

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St Helier
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St Helier
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
727 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 32 in St Helier
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Property: Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St Helier JE2 3ZB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#15 Family Hotel in St Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing