We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mayfair hotel, St. Helier, Jersey”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a really good 3 nights at this Hotel late October. Could not fault the dining experience; the swimming pool and health facilities; coffee shop presented fresh food; and really good entertainment.. ( well done Kirsty!). For all this ( the bedroom was fine and we had coffee/tea making facilities; hair dryer; tv.) BUT... on opening the window ... oh dear. I attach a photo. Please management, give room 207 a good spring clean... just wash the window frames and clean the outside of the windows; and paintwork; replace the trim on the shower panel... we had our bathmat replaced... just simple things to freshen it up.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room overlooking the street... eg room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rita a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I returned from the Mayfair Hotel yesterday after a 5 day Shearings half board break. The hotel is clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. The food was exceptionally good - with a 4 course meal every night - good choice and a menu that changed every evening -and a superb breakfast that included everything anyone could possibly want! There was also an excellent coffee shop - very reasonably priced - that served lovely food suitable for lunches.All the staff were polite, friendly and extremely efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them and not once did we have to wait for a meal. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and my husband and I both slept well. There was entertainment every evening in the bar which we both enjoyed very much and the swimming pool and leisure facilities were also very good. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre and the bus station so it was very easy to get anywhere - we took 2 of the coach trips available which were absolutely superb - the drivers were so knowledgeable and very interesting to listen to - a great way of seeing the island. We will definitely return to the hotel - didn't really want to come home!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed a week at the Mayfair having booked a package holiday through a travel agent.

I would recommend this hotel, excellent and very friendly service with plenty of facilities. If you wish you can book various tours at the hotel. The room we had was adjacent to the main room which was a bit noisy but got quite at about 11pm, so no problem. The restaurant is very good with excellent service. The menu is limited, with 3 choices of a main dish, but you get 4 courses and will not go hungry and at only £16 per head is excellent value. The menu was changed every day that we stopped. Also as we booked early we got the meal free.

The hotel is located on the edge of the shopping area and if you walk one way the area is a bit run down so you need to head towards the shopping area to get to main centre (and seafront) of St Helier. It takes about 10-15 minutes and is a nice walk.

Recommended.

Room Tip: My wife and I recently stayed a week at the Mayfair having booked a package holiday through a travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just back from a week in this hotel. This 3 star hotel is is well positioned for easy access to the town.The staff are great & the entertainment is satifactory. The only problem is that it is so hot that you have to keep going outside every few minutes to cool down. And that's at the end of October, so goodness know what it's like in the summer months. Having read other reports on this hotel it would appear that the management don't realise that there is a problem with the heating. It will stop my wife & I going there again.

Room Tip: There is no A/C so every room is to hot to sleep in, even with the window wide open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We are just back from a four day stay at the Mayfair Hotel,
St Helier in Jersey.Cant fault it.The rooms were spacious,
spotless,and the food was first class.There was a gym,
indoor pool,jaccuzi,the works.I would stay there again,no
bother at all.
Dave Williams

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daishop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel is ideally located if you are on a short break as you are within easy distance of the bus station, restaurants and shops. Our room was very clean but as has been mentioned by other reviewers, the room was very warm for this time of year. (According to the temperature reading on my alarm clock it was round about 26 degrees most days, with no radiators being on and the window open). All the rooms have wall mounted televisions and unfortunately the guests in the room next to ours always turned the set on at 7.00 a.m and we could hear every word! We noticed the set was turned down on subsequent days but it still remained an unwelcomed disturbance first thing in the morning. The food was very good and the £16 per head dinner excellent value. The coffee shop also served up a nice selection of lunch time food. The friends we went with made use of the hotel pool, jacuzzi and sauna facilities and were very impressed. During our 4 night stay there was evening entertainment, not to everyone's taste, but the lady who appeared last Thursday evening was excellent. Not only did she have a very good voice, she could play the Irish flute brilliantly. If we were returning to Jersey, we'd certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Franpryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is an excellent hotel convenient for the shopping precinct and bus station and other amenities. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable. Personally the only dislike I had was that the huge screen came down for viewing sport in the lounge area but the TV was in reception where it could not be watched a smaller TV could have been put in the coffee shop. The rooms oin the 4th floor were spacious but lacking a comfortable chair 2 dining type chairs were in the room and even in October it was very warm up there.

Watch for Victor an excellent waiter.

Room Tip: I am sure they are all very good and quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 236Kay236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St Helier
2,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in St Helier
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: 50 St Saviours Rd, St Helier JE2 4LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range: £49 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing