We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Base to see the island”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Family Base to see the island”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We decide to take our grandchildren on there first flight and holiday in a different country( well almost)
Jersey and the Mayfair hotel was always going to be our 1st choice and is accessable from London Southend airport.
The whole trip was booked via modern hotel group,
On arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff , the hotel looks clean well kept, Car park a bit small and is also used by fitness club members,
We stayed half board which with the grandchildren was a great idea the staff bent over backwards to help,
Room was clean and tidy , Spa and indoor pool not used this time.
Will stay there again with or without grandchildren,
This was not our first vist / can remember back in the days when hotel had only an outdoor pool some 25 years ago and prob some 10 or so visits back .

Room Tip: Sounds daft but most of the time rooms over the carpark are not noisy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indalomansx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    379
    164
    57
    27
See reviews for
184
391
62
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed there for my nephews wedding, had a problem with the drains in our room I told reception and was immediately upgraded to a suite well away from the problem. My nephew's wedding reception was at the same hotel the food was very good and the service was excellent. I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMM47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

went for weekend with my husband, Staff friendly and helpful, room clean, good location, not in the thick of things but close enough to walk, good as a base, breakfast was ok, would stay there again, did not try the spa or swimming pool

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

As a base to visit jersey you could do far worse that The Mayfair. In general we were very satisfied with the hotel as a whole.
We had a well equip room which was clean and in good condition. The staff were helpful and efficient although on occasions it was difficult to find someone fluent in English as there was a high proportion of Eastern Block workers.
Don't expect 5 Star luxury but for the price the Mayfair provide good value.
If we had one criticism it was the rushed feel we had at breakfast. the staff seemed very keen to get you fed and out the door, so set your own pace.
Would visit again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I have given some careful thought as to how to help others reading this review. Firstly I would like to say the staff and food are excellent, all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were also lucky in that we were up graded to a suite which was lovely. However there were some downsides, but not the fault of the Hotel. Our stay was in Feb and they had a Northern Soul theme weekend and hundreds of people converged from all over the place (mainly Manchester) and it was fine, but the music was loud and the Hotel was throbbing until the early hours. None of this bothered me as I like music and found it easy to drop off to sleep to, but can imagine some people would not like this. I think it also worth pointing out that this Hotel is very child friendly, and family orientated which is fine but not really my thing. The gym room and pool were lovely the latter being nice and warm, the guy running it was very helpful. Would I go there mid to high season NO again not the fault of the Hotel, just prefer different things. So there it is, I would like to say big thank you to the Hotel management and staff who were superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebbcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is a lovely clean and well run hotel , for a reasonable budget.
The rooms are very clean and all facilities more than adequate.
It is well furnished not top quality but again for a 3 star hotel it meets the requirements.
Towels were regularly changed and room serviced promptly. We had half board and food on the whole very good. Service excellent.
Breakfasts were hot and freshly cooked.
The gym and health club were a welcome facility, lovely steam room and jacuzzi. Pool... adequate for a quick dip.
the bar area was comfortable.
A big plus for this hotel is its very central location and within easy walking distance of the twon centre .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylviarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

went to jersey for the fitzsoul weekend excellent hotel and food thank you to victor the waiter who looked after us for the 3days we were there the music dancing everything was spot on would highly recomend visiting this beautiful island and hotel a great time was had by all will be back again next year well done to the people who organised it

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warriorsWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 50 St Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing