We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Not really sure where to start on this one but I'll try with the positive! Most of the staff were helpful, friendly and polite. Rooms are terrible. Dated decor, furniture and carpets. Soft furnishings were dreadful. Ensuite was quite modern and spacious and most importantly clean. Bedding was old and had an unusual aroma!! We had to go out to local M&S to buy fresh bedding and pillows etc. Dining room experience was one that I would not like to repeat ever again. It was what I imagine a Butlins/Pontins holiday camp dining room to be like. All the tables were in rows and you were forced to sit where you were told to sit. Food was diabolical. Overall I would never stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    360
    157
    54
    24
See reviews for
173
376
62
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Having just returned from a few days break at this hotel, here is my honest review, the welcome was warm enough and always a plus point with me, given very clear directions to my room up on the second floor, the room itself was fine for a 3 star hotel only gripes would be the state of the carpet in the room very stained in places, the bedding could have been fresher smelling and the mattress a bit less saggy...these really are just minor gripes, the room standard was acceptable for the class of hotel and the price paid. Breakfast was a bit like musical chairs, every day you would be put in a different place by the waiters and then sometimes ask to move yet again, having said that once you had reached your final table, breakfast was very nice, sure they would be more on the ball in high season with larger numbers of quests staying. Over all my stay was not perfect but it was very good over all and I would me more then happy to stay again even with musical chairs at breakfast time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omega65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHIPPINGHAM
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We could not find a problem with the hotel, we were unlucky too have had snow while we were
there but with the pool and gym there was plenty to keep you entertained and the staff could
not be any more helpfull. Will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

booked 4 nights for price of 3 deal through modern hotels.after finding our way through st helier's busy traffic filled streets we arrived at the mayfair.first thing we found was the car park which is ground level is used by not just guests but also the public , whom use the leisure facilities.on top of that we noticed people parking for the day then heading into the town.avoiding paying for town parking.meant car park is full most of the time.also it is very tight to park in with awkward spaces,pillars everywere,vans & inconsiderate people double parking.nightmare !
Check in staff were friendly & helpful as were all the hotel's staff.our 2nd floor double room was basic but clean.with the usual tea/coffee,hair dryer,small tv.large bathroom.terrible view looking into dingy flats.decided to eat in hotel on our first night...big mistake.£16 set menu for 3 course plus coffee,best bit...the coffee ,the rest was awful.eat out the remaining 3 nights.however breakfast was much better.good choice & well cooked.sat in the hotel's bar each night.reasonable prices.The actual hotel is nice inside,big lounges ,smart lobby.great staff...
NOW for what really annoyed myself & many other guests.staying the same week were 150 english school kids.turns out the schools arrive same week every year(1st wk in march)each night was the same...kids running up & down corridors ,teachers spent each night in the bar.could not move in the hotel .i admit the kids were just being kids but the hotel owners should have notified the other guests prior to there holiday.pre-warning us ? recommend you ask when booking.would i go back ? probably but again only on b&b basis(and no kids).

Room Tip: higher up floors away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We decide to take our grandchildren on there first flight and holiday in a different country( well almost)
Jersey and the Mayfair hotel was always going to be our 1st choice and is accessable from London Southend airport.
The whole trip was booked via modern hotel group,
On arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff , the hotel looks clean well kept, Car park a bit small and is also used by fitness club members,
We stayed half board which with the grandchildren was a great idea the staff bent over backwards to help,
Room was clean and tidy , Spa and indoor pool not used this time.
Will stay there again with or without grandchildren,
This was not our first vist / can remember back in the days when hotel had only an outdoor pool some 25 years ago and prob some 10 or so visits back .

Room Tip: Sounds daft but most of the time rooms over the carpark are not noisy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indalomansx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed there for my nephews wedding, had a problem with the drains in our room I told reception and was immediately upgraded to a suite well away from the problem. My nephew's wedding reception was at the same hotel the food was very good and the service was excellent. I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMM47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

went for weekend with my husband, Staff friendly and helpful, room clean, good location, not in the thick of things but close enough to walk, good as a base, breakfast was ok, would stay there again, did not try the spa or swimming pool

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,771 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: St Saviour's Street, Brooklyn Street, St Helier JE1 4HE
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing