We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Chadderton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel is very large, but is well run. Our room was on the first floor and had 3 single beds in it, plenty of storage space for clothes and a well equipped and sparkling clean bathroom.
The four course evening meals always had things we would like and there were usually a couple of vegetarian options. A choice of two starters, then soup, a choice of four mains and four desserts plus tea or coffee - I think some people didn't realise that you could have a starter AND a soup. Evening meal is waiter service, breakfast is help yourself to cereals, fruit, fruit juices etc. The waiter brings your choice of tea or coffee and toast, then when you are ready he takes your order for hot breakfast. There is fresh fruit, ham, cheese, croissants and bread rolls if you want a continental breakfast.
The coffee shop is fine for snacks and quite reasonably priced too. Bar prices are not too bad - a pint of local Mary Ann best bitter was £2.60.
We set up a credit account to pay our bar bills and the snacks etc. this made things easier, but do check the bill as someone had ordered some newspapers on our room number.
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that it is in the town, rather than on the seafront.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker7Chadderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    376
    163
    56
    26
See reviews for
182
389
62
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tottington, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed for 5 nights half board and cannot praise this hotel enough. Very clean and well presented, lovely room 412 with very comfy bed and large bathroom. The food was excellent with a very good choice both at breakfast and evening meal. The entertainment was very good with a variety of acts. We did use the indoor pool once but found the area too hot for our liking but others may find this okay. The walk into town we found only 5 mins so no problem, it all depends on your fitness as to how long it takes. We thought the island of Jersey was beautiful, extremely clean and well kept and very easy to drive around. Will definitely visit again and would certainly stay at the Mayfair again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Smooth check in and off to room. Not bad décor plenty of room to store clothes in wardrobe, 10 coat hangers, three large drawers under the t.v. another 3 beside window next to the hair dryer. Then the bathroom, biggest we have ever seen in a hotel room and looked quite recently refurbished. We had a key card as well not a key so I wonder if we were in a recently refurbished room. We were in room 306 and the 8 rooms along same corridor had cards for entry rather than a key.
Breakfast ran smoothly, we had a table which was ours for the 4 days of our trip. Plenty of both cold and hot food. Did not have evening meals in hotel but there is plenty to choose from in town which is only 3 minutes away if you turn right out of hotel.
Now to the heat in the room. It was quite mild outside but the room was boiling with no heating on, we did have a large opening window which did help greatly. As previous reviewers have said don't know where the heat comes from as radiators were not on.

Room Tip: Room 306 excellent choice with large opening window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlscrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just returned from a week with friends,I chose the Mayfair as my husband and I had been there before.On arrival we were greeted by a pleasant young lady who presented us with two rooms in completely different parts of the hotel,most unusual,has never happened before. They were to be in 220 we were tucked away in 45!!!!!!!!!!!! We proceeded to lug our luggage(excuse pun) up stairs and down stairs and along numerous corridors,eventually we found the room after about 15 mins. Only to find the door open and the light on and the smell of wet plaster and workmans' tools.My husband went back to reception to be met by a queue of two coach loads of travellers but still only the one young women on the desk! Eventually he managed to get a room with an apology (after all was not her fault ) we still wanted to know why it happened,so back my friend and I went to the desk and asked,a young man now on duty too,he said it was maintenance fault( lack of communication) He did offer us a free upgrade to a suite each but the menfolk had had enough.The rest of the holiday was ok but we still are very puzzled as to why a booked party were put into different parts of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms 1-69,very tucked away and difficult to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lympstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our group, mainly retired people, belonging to the Devonshire Association geology section were booked into the hotel as part of a package organised by the firm Destination Specialists based in Jersey.

This is a very large hotel and it is surprising how the service particularly in the restaurant was both efficient and very friendly. The four course menu (we had evening meal table d'hote included as part of the deal) included a starter, soup, and four varied options for the main course including meat, sometimes fish, a veggie option and a varied omelette option. The quality was usually reasonably good though a veggie curry was not so good. After 9 p.m. bingo and sometimes loud live music was available although we were normally tired and retired to our rooms then. Breakfasts were good and when I was too full from the previous evening there was a good continental selection.

The room was well appointed . The room temperature was a bit over-warm for October though the weather was warm at the time. It was not too easy to open the window under the blinds.

It was a long trek to our rooms and we were not offered help with our luggage on arrival although I now see from the web site that porterage is available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 701Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Mayfair for one week as part of an Angus holiday. We had a good weeks stay, The room was clean and well furnished. The bath room was also very clean and it was lovely to have the option of a soak in the bath after a full days walking.. The housekeeping and the restaurant staff were very friendly. The reception was fairly good but could do a little better. The breakfast was excellent and the evening meal was also very good. For me being a vegetarian it was nice to have two choices on a fixed menu. It was very warm while we were staying and I think the bedrooms could do with air conditioning. I believe fans were available. The Mayfair is a fair walk from the town and the harbour but doable. I cannot coment on the pool as we did not use it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEATHER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had an enjoyable week at this hotel having stayed a couple of times before a few years before. It was nice to see that most public areas and the rooms have been remodelled. We stayed B&B but enjoyed a couple of reasonably priced meals in the bar where the evenings restaurant menu is bolstered by regular pub type choices like scampi and chips. You can opt to eat in the dining room some nights should you wish and there was a deal on offer on arrival. The coffee shop was good too.

All the staff were friendly professional and obliging, and even made up our room in the evening after we forgot to take the do not disturb sign off the door earlier.

Breakfast was fine though I prefer a full buffet (cereals, fruit and continental breakfast are self serve but hot food is waiter service). It would doubtless be manic though particularly given the older crowd and walking stick users the hotel is popular with. Several waiters had limited English but no real issues and the head waiter runs a tight ship.

We used the pool and health club a few times and its a great facility, if a little tired.

Our only real complaint was how hot and stuffy the bedroom was, as some others have mentioned. The heating was off and we weren't above the kitchens so it might be the electric towel rails causing all the heat and humidity? We could hardly sleep the first night but luckily found a fan to use which made it just about bearable with the window open (meaning traffic noise from a main road). I guess fans are available on request.

Wifi was available in the bar and near reception, but was unusable at busy times, so don't bank on it for anything important. There were a couple of web browser PCs to use, though one had a faulty screen making it hard to view.

A good, well appointed, solid hotel with professional staff that offers good value for money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank g0akc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
726 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 50 St Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing