We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy, bedroom above concert room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very noisy, bedroom above concert room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a room above the Dining room which doubled as concert room in the evenings. Although most nights the music was over before 11.30 p.m.it was exceeding loud and if you wanted an early night - no chance. We went with the "Modern Group" own package holiday. The tours round the island were expensive. Getting a week bus ticket is a better alternative. ( The rep will try to put you off doing this - I wonder why? ). Alright you have to go in and out of St.Helier bus station but this is not a big problem.
There were non of the little extras I expect like buscuits, shoe polish pad, tissues in the rooms.
The waiter we had, had less personality than a robot.
Thw reception staff and bar staff were very good

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    361
    159
    54
    24
See reviews for
175
376
62
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

stayed at this hotel for a turkey and tinsel midweek break with dad (81) husband (54) and myself (52) meet as getting out minibus from airport by Elaine and the porters who after checking in took suitcases to your room for you . Then Elaine took the welcome meeting very informative and leaflets and island maps giving out , rooms large and very comfortable ensuite bathrooms large too . we had a room on the front which was very noisy at night due to being a main road below . wifi was in hotel lobby . dining room large food excellent plenty of it entertainment was good varied things on each day . staff very polite and nothing was too much trouble .

Room Tip: ear plugs needed if you get a street side room as very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziwong579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My mum, sister & I went on a four night stay the Mayfair Hotel Jersey with Fillers and they couldn't do enough for us. My room was spacious and clean and bed comfortable. The staff were wonderful especially Callum, the entertainment manager. He was a sweetie. Entertainment each night wasn't bad considering this particular week only had 23 residents but they still made a huge effort to make our stay enjoyable. The next week it has a lot more guests but to be honest it was lovely in restaurant as we had lots of waiters to attend to us. The food was excellent with lots of choice. Four course each night with coffee and breakfast was a big English with all the works. The hotel cafe was very good for a quick snack at lunchtime. My sister & I split a panini and we had a place of chips for the three of us. Very well cooked. Would def recommend this hotel and Elaine the Fillers rep was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms can get a bit warm so turn off central heating. We were on 2nd floor and no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonmontycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Bures, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed for three nights on a very reasonable B and B basis. My room was of a good size with a lovely bathroom . Breakfast was very good and the evening meal (5 courses - £16.50)represented very good value. Meals were £50 for 4 if you ate in on any 4 nights of a stay. Staff were very polite and helpful. Hotel suited me well as it was only a short walk to the shopping centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldershot
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

we stayed at the mayfair for three nights and found it to be a large hotel which was very clean and also very warm had to have window open all night. the food was fine but service a little slow.
also a bit slapdash no teaspoons each meal and no menus until we asked, this trip was a free bar holiday but none of the staff seemed to know about it, a bit confusing but worked out fine in the end ,as people before have said, car park very tight and our car was scraped while parked. we did not use the pool and gym facilities but they looked good. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. our friend had a birthday whilst there and staff provided balloons etc on the table (thank you mayfair hotel) and yes we would go again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Clean, tidy hotel.
This hotel is a good basic hotel. Couldn't complain about anything. Mind you, couldn't rave about anything either. Food was ok, just ok tho. The meals are a set menu with a few choices for each course, so you can find something that you like.
Room was tidy and not too tired. Car park is a bit tight if you have a big vehicle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The good bits: The Mayfair is a good, clean hotel with very good facilities. The rooms are furnished to a good standard and are quiet. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Reception, lounge and bar areas are very well kitted out and the coffee shop is a welcome feature. There was entertainment most nights and a good range of children's activities. This coupled with free entry to the Arena at Fort Regent (an indoor play facility for children) puts the Mayfair a cut above most of the Jersey hotels for families. Nice indoor pool, Jucuzi and sauna, but a little small and therefore very busy in the afternoons.
Not so good: Our room was a little on the small side for a family room and warm - I think this is due to the 'always on' towel rail in the bathroom. Car park is small and tight and is undeneath the main section of the hotel. It is but a short, level walk from the centre of Helier - but is not in the best area: poor quality housing blocks, building sites, car parks and a loud, drunken pub (Toddy's) set the tone for the immediate locality. Some rooms get the noise from the hotel bar and entertainments (113 and area around) so if you want a quiet room best to call ahead and let them know. Some of the non resident regulars to the bar are a little 'care in the community'. One made a loud fuss about not getting served - staff handled this well, but it was a low point. There is no real outside area, just the few seats round the front door and the Sun deck area on the roof - but smokers take over here and it feels as if these areas are there for the smokers.

Food: Breakfast buffet was fresh melon, pinapple, ham, croisants, rolls, juice and cereals. Tea and coffee and toast were brought to your table, as was choice of cooked breakfast (choose from bacon, sausage, tomato (grilled fresh), egg, hash brown, black pudding, beans) or kipper or porridge. Breakfast ingredients were a little budgetty, particularly sausage and bacon and eggs usually had the tell-tale heat lamp scabs on the top, but overall not bad at all.
Catering in the evening was in a different league, truly excellent food on both the menus, well prepared and delivered. Veg was fresh and hot and very well prepared and main meals truly outstanding. We had Steaks (both Entrecote and T-bone) Roast pork, and plaice. All were of the very highest quality in ingredients, preparation and service. Four courses plus coffee for £16.50 - I challenge you to do better in Helier at the quality this hotel delivers. Very impressive indeed!

If I have painted a bad picture I have not meant to do so, I have written this review with the aim of giving as acurate a picture as I can. I enjoyed my stay, and will stay again. I believe that this hotel (along with the Metropole, its sister hotel) offers the best service to families wanting to stay in Jersey. And I agree with simon f: Robert the waiter is brilliant.

Room Tip: Rooms above bar get noise of entertainers, noise from Toddy's bar is noticeable in the western a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBigBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: St Saviour's Street, Brooklyn Street, St Helier JE1 4HE
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing