We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag at the MayFair”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Glasgow
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mixed bag at the MayFair”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First impressions were good modern public areas and staff eager to engage and help. They printed some boarding passes for us with a minimum of fuss and no charge. We had a three bed 'family' room which was hot and cramped, but a fan was quickly supplied upon request. Food is perfectly acceptable for a 3 star hotel, but service was a little brisk for our liking - you are not encouraged to linger. It has an excellent sun terrace for reading and relaxing - not boozing! The pool is a bit small but fine for the kids. Finally this is not just a hotel for those of older years as others suggest. Many families use it and from what we could fathom, they are returning customers. So in conclusion, not the best in St Helier, but you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    367
    159
    56
    24
See reviews for
179
381
62
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was very good and accomodating as the first room we had was on the second floor but we upgraded to a suite at a negotiated rate .

The breakfast staff were a little short as we turned up two minutes early and was told to wait.

The guy at the desk Danny was really helpful and we even got a bowl of fruit on the second day .

Generally pleased but would say to book a suite as some of the rooms are dark and the staff very helpful.

Enjoyed our stay for my friends retirement party.

Room Tip: try to book siute 2 as this was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Rooms too hot, needs air conditioning fitted. Overall a nice hotel that does try hard to please. Parking excellent and rooms comfortable. Bathroom clean and looked after. Entrance welcoming and inviting

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

this was our first trip to jersey and we were very pleased with our Hotel, not too far from the shops eyc bit furher to the beaches but some well organisedf trips around the island helped us old pensioners. there is a lot to see and take in, very emoitional when you consider that island was occupied for five years in the 1940s and this has made its mark on the island. we were able to visit Sark by boat that again was an experience. our hotel were very helpfull and kind and fed us well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingron9232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights, after booking with BA. It is about ten minutes walk from Liberation Square. The hotel staff are really excellent and very welcoming. The room was not huge but then we didn't expect it to be. All of the rooms are very clean. The pool is very good as is the 'sun deck". We didn't use the extensive gym facilities. The food and restaurant service were very good. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Although no in room wi fi it is available free on the ground floor public rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have stayed here a few times with family, and never had any problems.
The only downside is the inhouse entertainment at night, apart from that it is a good place to stay.
The food is very good, waiters and service excellent, never had any problems regarding rooms.
It is quite central to the town which makes it very easy to get around.
Would go there again with no hesitation.
Although i have entered September 2013 as being there it is not correct as it was earlier than that.

Room Tip: Book early if possible and ask for a quiet part of the hotel. Upgrades are available to larger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unimpressed61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from a stay at the Mayfair Hotel Jersey.
We enjoyed our stay but would make the following comments. We were in a junior suite that was spacious and as we called prior to arriving and asked for a quiet room the suite was on the inside of the hotel so we did not get any road noise, we were however over the kitchen and heard the noise from there mornings and evenings.
The suite was very hot and although we had all the windows open throughout the day it remained hot. At night we had to leave the windows open in the sitting room and shut the others to keep it quiet and did not need any bedcovers so asked for a plain sheet that was brought up immediately.
The breakfast was good and the dining room not crowded but the hotel was certainly not busy.
We were disappointed that the hot chocolate sachet supplied on the first day was not replaced and there were no tissues supplied in the room.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the situation of the hotel was good just a short walk from the town.
We would stay again but would ask for a cooler room away from the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: St Saviour's Street, Brooklyn Street, St Helier JE1 4HE
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing