We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a nursing home”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We went to Jersey for two days to see the island and tried to find a cheap hotel as we didn't want to spend much time in the room and just needed a place to stay overnight. However, next time we will definitely spend more money.
The majority of the guests are aged over 55 whereas the hotel was advertised as a place for families. All the facilities including the pool, sauna as well as the gym and the rooms look old-fashioned and absolutely need a refurbishment.
We booked the room with Jersey.com on a B&B basis. Arriving in the breakfast hall anybody seemed to take notice of us so that we seated ourselves anywhere after a couple of minutes. An uninterested waiter took our order after we had asked him to do it. When we finally got our cooked breakfast, the very unfriendly as well as unsympathetic supervisor informed us that we would have to pay for our breakfast. We told him that we had booked on a B&B basis and that we were not informed before. But referring to his guest list where we were registered with continental breakfast he sent us to reception. When we stated our problem at the check-out the receptionist told us that we don't have to pay.
Confused about the contrarily information, displeased by the staff's attitude and still hungry after the unfinished breakfast, we left the hotel and knew that we'd never come back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wanderlust_fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2008

We booked this hotel with our local newspaper & didn't know what to expect because it sounded too good to be true for the price we paid.

The welcome we got on arrival at the hotel made us feel special & we were given mulled wine, sausage rolls & mince pies. It was "Turkey & Tinsle" week but we didn't know when we booked & so we had a lovely suprise.

Because it was "Turkey & Tinsle" our 1st night was Christmas eve & we had a lovely meal & great entertainment afterwards, the staff went to so much trouble for everyone it was lovely.

The day after was Christmas day & Father Christmas showed up after the evening meal along with pixies & elfs. We had party hats, ballons etc & again some great entertainment.

Night after was New Years eve & again great food & a real party atmosphere. Bagpipes played in the New year at 11pm which was sureal :-) When it is Christmas & New year i think we will be a bit dissapointed after the earlier ones we have celebrated in Jersey.

All in all the hotel & all the staff were top notch & if the price had been 3 times what we paid it would have been worth it. The prices at the bar & the little coffee shop were very good.

This hotel has a jacuzzi, swiming pool & steam room & free internet acess in reception & was refurbished earlier this year. Every room is absolutely spotless.

We will be going again early next year & can't wait to enjoy the lovely food on the menu & some more great laughs.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone, Jersey is a beautiful island & if you have never been then you don't know what you are missing..!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Catherine-Sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We recently returned from a trip in Europe. A group of us had booked a house in Dinan (Brittany) for a week. The plan was for my partner & I to be married on Jersey with our friends there to witness and be part of the celebration. Originally we only intended on spending 1 day on Jersey to hold the civil ceremony. But due to stormy weather, my partner & I ended up staying on the Island for 3 nights and needed to book a Hotel at very short notice. We caught the 5pm ferry from St Marlo & arrived on Jersey as the light was fading, with no accomodation booked! After walking from the ferry terminal into St Helier and not seeing one Hotel on our way we started to worry. Then out of the darkness beamed a Hotel sign for the Mayfair...thank goodness.
We went in and were greeted warmly. As the Hotel was nearly fully booked we needed to move rooms the following day. When I explained why we were on Jersey, ie. to be married we were offered the Honeymoon suite. The extra cost was quite minimal. When we returned from a walk around town the staff had provided us with a huge fruit basket, bottle of champagne & lovely card. Breakfast at the Mairfair is fantastic, range of fruit, yogurt, cereals and you can then order from a cooked breakfast menu. The cost of all is included in the room price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lizzie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

The Mayfair is a very nice 3 star hotel, i wasn't expecting much to be honest as i didn't pay that much but i was very surprised with what i got.
Very nice clean rooms and quite big too with televison even with skysports 1 which i was very surprised about, nice bathroom and quite a nice view from my room 331, the room was very hot though but that wasn't a worry as we just opened the window.
The only downside to the room was i booked a double room but it wasn't a double bed it was 2 twins pushed together but that wasn't a big drama either.
The cooked breakfast was very nice and the waiter was a very nice chap and couldn't do enough for you, not that much choice on the cereal front though but again for the price you pay for this hotel its good.(8-9.30 breakfast times)
Would say though that the hotel guests are mainly O.A.P's which didn't bother me at all, but being me and my wife are in our 30's it would of been nice to see more around that age, but again no big drama.
The reception staff could off been a bit more happier but it was coming up to Halloween so they might have just been trying to get into character lol.

Carpark is a bit tight but not a problem as if full just double park and then leave your keys on reception and they will move it for you if you are blocking someone in.

All in all if your looking for a nice hotel which is cheap and comfortable but nothing special then this is a good hotel to stay at, im thinking of going back next year with the kids and i would stay here no problem.

A good hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merritt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Very comfortable hotel with good facilities. friendly helpful staff, cleanliness and attention to detail exceptional. excellent value for money. We had a suite which was very comfy, and spacious, though the view was of a brick wall! there were a couple of extractor vents outside our window which were noisy when the window was open - not a problem for us as it was october, but could be for summer visitors. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This hotel was very friendly and situated ideally a short walk from the centre. We stayed in a suite and It was very clean and newly refurbished. We were not happy with our first room at the back of the hotel as a dog in the flats adjacent barked continually and I sleep very lightly! The staff were fantastic and moved us to another room which was very quiet and larger! Our 4year old slept in the living/2nd sleep area which was almost seperate from the double room as it was along a short corridor. The breakfast was average - not a very wide range to choose from (fruit/cereal etc) but the kitchen would do almost anything you wanted. they have a couple of PCs at reception that you can use for internet access (free but only one working!)
A good hotel worth a stay close to the ferry and town centre.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KAZ_BROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Spent a long and sunny weekend in Jersey and stayed at the Mayfair on a B & B basis. The hotel was clean, very warm, spacious, well furnished and the rooms were comfortable and well serviced. Lots of facilities- indoor pool etc. Only downside was the quality of the breakfast- tinned mushrooms, overcooked eggs and not very warm. Not withstanding this comment I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JayRCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
797 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 31 in St Helier
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: 50 St. Saviours Road, St Helier JE2 4LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range: £43 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing