We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 2 April 2009

I stayed at this hotel mid March with my mum and my sister.

We hired a car from the airport, and travelled round the Island, which we thought was very beautiful.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and the guests were of all different ages.

Breakfast was excellent, again, the staff were efficient and friendly.

Rooms clean, plenty of tea/coffee.

P.S. Would recommend Hectors on Dumaresq Street for a bite to eat!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeenyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    375
    163
    56
    26
See reviews for
182
389
62
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

This is a decent hotel and good value for money. I was amused by an earlier reviewer who was upset by the mature age of guests, and felt he/she was in "a nursing home". I didn't realise we seniors were so threatening! But this is a fact of life; there is a large section of the population which is over 60, the over-60's probably have the time to travel, but many can't afford the expensive ritzy hotels. So there.
To my great pleasure there was a jazz festival on at the hotel during my stay. Not only that, there was a good blues concert on at the Art Centre, about 4 minutes away from the hotel. Location is quiet yet central, rooms are well appointed, and there is good gym facility too.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayjayLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

What a nice experience this hotel was, stayed here with my young family in October 2008 and was very pleased with everything it had to offer. I suffer with coeliacs but the catering and service staff were excellent, they catered for all my needs and more. The hotel was clean, modern and friendly, as for all the old people who were there, well what a nice change from rowdy groups of younger people you ysually come across. Could not fault the location, only wish it was on anicer island!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank johnnyroadmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Friendly helpful staff, Good food. Good sized rooms. Very clean

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cycling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

feb 19th - 22nd.
went to the mayfair as part of a large group on a soul weekender. on arrival check in at reception even though extremely busy was very efficient. rooms clean lots of cupboard space, loads of hot water for relaxing baths. breakfast loads of choice also evening meal more than enough choices to satisfy the choosiest of people!! staff throughout the hotel are all very friendly,helpful and polite, so many thanks to all of you. would def come back to the beautiful island of jersey and the warm friendly mayfair staff.
patricia hopkins and friends

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia38Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed at the Mayfair from 20-23 Feb 09, room 305, for the hotel's Soul Weekender which was great. Soul music in the afternoons and evenings, a lovely clean, warm and welcoming hotel. Very nice food and excellent service. Hotel is beautifully clean and modern. Nice pool and steam room. An exercise suite as well. Two computers in reception where guests can access the internet for free. Couldn't fault the place at all. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the main shopping area of St Helier.

St Helier is a decent sized town with lots of nice shops and marinas. However, it is totally dead on a Sunday. Nothing open, no shops, virtually no bars. The streets are deserted and feel a little bit scary at night. We went looking for a pub for a quiet drink on the Sunday evening at the Soul Weekend entertainment finished on the Saturday and came across some dodgy characters while we were looking for a bar. So if you're in St Helier on a Sunday, you might be as well staying in a hotel with a bar or entertainment.
so that you've no need to venture out. It's probably different in the summer season but walking around at night is not something I'd recommend in winter.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We went to Jersey for two days to see the island and tried to find a cheap hotel as we didn't want to spend much time in the room and just needed a place to stay overnight. However, next time we will definitely spend more money.
The majority of the guests are aged over 55 whereas the hotel was advertised as a place for families. All the facilities including the pool, sauna as well as the gym and the rooms look old-fashioned and absolutely need a refurbishment.
We booked the room with Jersey.com on a B&B basis. Arriving in the breakfast hall anybody seemed to take notice of us so that we seated ourselves anywhere after a couple of minutes. An uninterested waiter took our order after we had asked him to do it. When we finally got our cooked breakfast, the very unfriendly as well as unsympathetic supervisor informed us that we would have to pay for our breakfast. We told him that we had booked on a B&B basis and that we were not informed before. But referring to his guest list where we were registered with continental breakfast he sent us to reception. When we stated our problem at the check-out the receptionist told us that we don't have to pay.
Confused about the contrarily information, displeased by the staff's attitude and still hungry after the unfinished breakfast, we left the hotel and knew that we'd never come back!

  • Liked — our room was ready at 10am
  • Disliked — the interior, breakfast service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wanderlust_fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,901 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: St Saviour's Street, Brooklyn Street, St Helier JE2 4LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing