We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I recommand this hotel, very clean, good food, good factilitates, swiming pool/gynnasium etc.
Rooms very good, and quite large. t.V. in room good size..
Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tredcouncil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
There are newer reviews for Mayfair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel as it didn't look up to much from the outside. The reception area was very spacious, nice lounge area coffe shop looked good and dining room one of the biggest I have seen. Lots of people for breakfast but all ran smoothly, breakfast consisted of a buffet ,fruit,cereal ,pastries etc. followed by a full english served to you (which I like).
I shared a twin room with my sister, we were both pleased with the room beds were very comfortable, largish bathroom downside the shower couldn't be directed where you wanted so was a bit of a struggle to take a shower also the room had a vaguely musty smell to it. Lots of corridors in this hotel took us a while to find the pool which was freezing but didn't let that put us off. The trip from the changingroom to the pool was abit off putting however as the changing room doesn't lead straight to the pool.Minor irritation.
Hotels location was very good just a short walk into town and abit further to beach and harbour. I'd stay at this hotel again the price was good staff efficient room clean just the job for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We booked this holiday through Condor Ferries, a double room for us and a single for our son (aged 31) who was running the Jersey Marathon, and we went to support him. We were highly delighted when after a long & difficult journey from Weymouth, rough seas & slow crossing, we found we had been allocated a suite - large lounge area, bedroom & bathroom - all in excellent condition, 2 T.V's & plenty of cupboard space. When our son arrived the following day by air - he thought he was in heavent - separate lounge, large bedroom plus bathroom, said it was bigger than his old flat! Because of bad weather conditions we decided to eat in & took advantage of their "tennerfest deal", £10 for a 4 course meal with tea/coffee afer. The food was excellent, quick & friendly service, the only downside the tables were packed in. Breakfast was also good, and we found all the staff from cleaners to waiters and reception all pleasant and helpful. We all made use of the indoor pool. I did find there was some noise at night, a sort of buzzing/humming noise, not sure what it was but could have been to do with the heating, but it certainly didn't cause too much of a problem. All in all a super 5 day break, despite the weather, & we shall certainly return next year as our son wants to run the marathon again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan_williams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Three star hotel stopped for four nights entertainment on six nights a week quite good and varied,. only had breakfast which was nothing special but alright. Hotel very clean and a good 3 star the down side was rooms 101 to 126 thought you was stopping over the M25 even with double glazing you needed ear plugs road sweeper went by at 7-35 and came back at 7-55 so if you book this hotel make sure you don't stop in the above rooms. 5 min's to the town centre

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royboy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed for a week in September with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed it. It caters for the older generation and the entertainment reflects this. Very handy for the shops and bus station. The food was excellent with a cooked breakfast and 5 course evening meal. The rooms were tired but the hotel is due to close for refurbishment soon. Would go again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Good value hotel with good breakfast where the staff were really good,good entertainment,but the reception staff were terrible.If you use this hotel try not to get rooms 101-126,it was like trying to sleep on the M25.Could someone please tell me why one of the main entrance double doors was permanlty locked,reception staff didnt want to know.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwarneresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

A previous review, I read about this hotel whilst checking it out before going, mentioned poor reception staff and I concur, they need training! For example upon first arriving at the front desk I was able to learn from their open conversation that thier manager had agreed that one resident was not to have her room changed as she was too much trouble! They never smiled and were generally only doing a job, very indifferently.
In the swimming pool I was concerned to see that whilst there are notices stating that outdoor shoes should not be used on the pool side, there is only one entry to the general gym/pool desk area where everyone signs in. Thereafter, anyone crossing from the changing rooms to the pool has to cross the same floor again which is clearly not hygenic!
Whilst a la carte meals have to be ordered in advance and a time provided ' to avoid any wait' when you go to the restuarant you still have to a wait for the mal to be cooked!
This hotel is closing for refurbishment in October (this month) and I hope that more than the fabric is improved.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank algysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
745 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in St Helier
838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St Helier
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: 50 St Saviours Rd, St Helier JE2 4LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range: £48 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing